Public College Operation
The industry — Community colleges and C.E.G.E.P.s
Base industry report for 6112 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 506
- Under 10 employeesA
- 23%
Of 506 Canadian establishments with employees, 23% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 4
The binding constraint — entry cost + regulatory drag
Colleges are a large and, until recently, fast-growing system: Statistics Canada reports total college revenues of $18.5 billion in 2023/2024, up 11.5% — the largest increase in more than two decades [A]. But a community college or CEGEP is created by provincial statute, governed by a provincially appointed board and funded by grant: public funding was $8.5 billion, 46.0% of revenue [A]. There is no application to become one. This is a buyer, not a market to enter, and the size bands say so — 89 of the 506 establishments employ 500 or more. The instructive part is what happened to the revenue an outsider might have reached. Fees rose from 32.9% of college revenue in 2020/2021 to 42.1% in 2023/2024, and to 64.5% in Ontario, on a record intake of nearly 100,000 new students, with most of that fee growth coming from international students in Ontario, who pay up to four times the domestic fee [A]. Private operators shared in that by teaching public-college credentials under partnership contracts — and both the volume and the partnerships depended on federal study-permit policy, which was tightened from 2024. The growth was a permit regime, not a market, and the public college held the credential throughout. The private side of this field — a career college under provincial approval — is screened as Private Trade School Operation at 611510, and corporate training at 6114. What is sold to colleges (student systems, contracted services) is screened separately at 611310.
Colleges are established and funded province by province, each with an assigned region or mandate, and credentials, tuition rules and grants are set by the provincial ministry. A college in one province does not compete with those in another for its grant, and domestic students largely attend within their province.
Sectors joined: EdTech · Gaming/EdTech · Training/AI · EdTech AI · Arts Education · VR/AR Training
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.
Competitor set · 4 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario's 24 public collegesB | not disclosed | — | Collectively the largest block in the code; individual institutions publish audited statements but no consolidated operator revenue was opened for this record |
| Quebec's 48 public CEGEPsB | not disclosed | — | Funded and fee-capped by the province — Quebec fees are 7.5% of college revenue against Ontario's 64.5% |
| Registered private career collegesC | not disclosed | — | The only privately owned operator in adjacent training; screened separately at 611510 |
| Public-private partnership programme partnersC | not disclosed | — | Delivered public-college credentials on contract until the study-permit and post-graduation work permit rules changed from 2024; none discloses what it earned |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Evidence
Evidence. All financial figures were read from Statistics Canada's Daily release of 10 December 2025 on college finances for 2023/2024 [A]; the establishment count is Statistics Canada, December 2023 [A]. All of its dollar figures are in 2024 constant dollars. They establish the size and funding mix of the public system up to March 2024. They do not cover what came after: the effect of the federal study-permit cap and the end of post-graduation work permit eligibility for public-private partnership programmes on 2024/2025 and later revenues was not sourced, and the revenue private partners earned under those contracts is not disclosed anywhere that was found — that part of the reason is B-level general reporting, stated without a figure. The institution counts (24 Ontario colleges, 48 Quebec CEGEPs) were read from Colleges Ontario's and the Fédération des cégeps' own sites [B] and are the associations' own statements of membership, not an agency table. No US figures joined for this code. The cut factor is analyst judgment, though here it rests on statute rather than on economics.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National association of public colleges, institutes, CEGEPs and polytechnics; events listed at /events/.
Advocacy body for Ontario's public colleges, the largest provincial system in the record.
Its own page describes it as the voluntary grouping of Quebec's 48 public CEGEPs.
Colleges Ontario's annual conference; collegesontario.org redirects to this registration site, which names the 2026 edition.
The US counterpart body; useful mainly for comparison and enrolment policy.
AACC's daily news service for community college administrators.
Academica Group's Top Ten (https://academica.ca/top-ten/) is a live daily Canadian post-secondary briefing and is the best single Canadian news source here if a seventh entry is wanted.