Operating business41% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresOne thing must be truemarket size

Driving, Music & Skills Instruction

SoftwareTypically runs on Student information and learning management systems; booking and billing for private instruction. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-11

The industry — Other schools and instruction

Base industry report for 6116 →
Establishments · CanadaA
8,995
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
67%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
57,562
Employment · USA
473,657
8.2 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$12.1B
$25k per employee

Of 8,995 Canadian establishments with employees, 67% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Widen the definition, or stack this niche with others. The prize as drawn will not carry a business on its own; it may still be worth owning as one line of several.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDmarket size — Market shape — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA67% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 611, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Educational Services, US · opened 2020
83.5%
1 year
70.3%
3 years
58.2%
5 years
43.1%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 5

The binding constraint — market size

Genuine demand, genuine repeat business, and a ceiling set by hours: revenue is instructor-hours × rate, and neither scales without hiring instructors who can leave with their students. Driving schools add a provincial licensing overlay and vehicle costs. This is a reliable small business and structurally not more than that.

Market scalelocalunit: one instructor-hour

Students travel a short distance to a lesson, and the instructor's day holds a fixed number of them. Sized by instructor-hours, which is the hardest ceiling in this research.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 8,995 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 4,070 with 1–4 employees, 7,652 with fewer than 20, and 14 with 200 or more; Ontario 3,540, British Columbia 1,927
US establishments, NAICS 6116A 57,562 establishments, 473,657 employees, $12.07B annual payroll (US County Business Patterns, 2022)
Ontario ministry-approved driving schoolsA 1,485 approved Beginner Driver Education locations in 219 Ontario cities and towns, trading under 1,167 distinct names, 1,043 of which hold a single location (Ontario Ministry of Transportation, list dated 11 September 2026)
Concentration on the Ontario approved listB The ten largest names hold 9.1% of the 1,485 listings; the largest, Laurentian Driving School, holds 28; Young Drivers of Canada appears 84 times under 76 separate entries
Revenue mechanismB Instructor-hours × rate; no operating leverage without hiring
National addressable figureUNVERIFIED Not applicable — a lesson is sold inside one instructor's travel radius, and the national total is the sum of thousands of unconnected local markets
Payroll per employee, and employees per establishment~$25,500 a year · ~8.2 employeesB

US County Business Patterns 2022: $12.07B of annual payroll divided by 473,657 employees, and 473,657 employees divided by 57,562 establishments. Derived from two reported figures in one agency table. It says what the cost base is — instructor time at roughly a quarter of the average US wage — and how few people a typical school employs.

Angel-backed companies11
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixON 4, AB 2, QC 2, NL 1, BC 1, PE 1

Sectors joined: EdTech · Gaming/EdTech · Training/AI · EdTech AI · Arts Education · VR/AR Training

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
The independent single-instructor majority — there is no leading firm, and the counts say why: **4,070 of 8,995 Canadian establishments employ one to four people, and 14 employ 200 or more** [A]
Scale
There is almost nothing to size, and one regulator's list is the exception. Ontario's Ministry of Transportation publishes every ministry-approved Beginner Driver Education provider in the province: 1,485 approved locations across 219 cities and towns, trading under 1,167 distinct names, 1,043 of which hold a single location [A]. The largest name on that list, Laurentian Driving School, holds 28 locations and the ten largest together hold 9.1% of the listings [B]. No listed operator was found in either half of this code and no franchise disclosure document was opened. The nearest thing to a revenue measure is the US industry table: 57,562 establishments employing 473,657 people on $12.07B of payroll — about 8.2 employees and $25,500 of pay each [A].
Concentration
Measured, and small. On the one list that names every licensed operator in a province, the ten largest driving-school names hold 9.1% of Ontario's 1,485 approved locations and 1,043 of 1,167 names hold exactly one [A/B]. Young Drivers of Canada, the best-known banner in the country, appears 84 times — and as 76 separate per-town entries rather than one chain [A]. Statistics Canada says the same thing from the other side: 45% of Canadian establishments in this code have fewer than five employees and 85% fewer than twenty [A].
Others in the field
Driving instruction is defined by the provincial licensing authority, which approves the course providers whose certificates earn a licence discount and a shorter wait for the road test — Ontario's approved list is the market, and it is 1,485 locations deep [A]. Music instruction is defined by the examination boards, whose graded curriculum is the credential a private teacher sells against. The named banners — Young Drivers of Canada and All Star Driving School in driving, Long & McQuade's lesson centres in music — appear on the Ontario list as 84 and 19 locations respectively, which makes them recognisable brands rather than consolidators [A]. School boards' and municipalities' own programmes are the free alternative.
Lock-in mechanism
None at the level of the business. The relationship is between the student and the individual instructor, which is why hiring is the only growth available and why a hired instructor who leaves takes the caseload with them. The owner's asset is a schedule, and the schedule walks.
Price movement
Not assessed — no lesson-price series was found for either half of this code. The only price-adjacent figure is the cost side: US payroll of $12.07B across 473,657 employees, about $25,500 per employee a year [A]. The lesson rate has to clear an instructor's hour, and there is nothing else in the cost base to squeeze.
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — No consolidator was found, and the Ontario licence list is the evidence rather than the absence of one: if a roll-up were assembling driving schools it would show as one name against dozens of locations, and the largest name in the province holds 28 of 1,485 [A/B]. At instructor-hour scale, with the caseload attached to the instructor, there is no asset worth buying.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Ontario ministry-approved driving schoolsA 1,485 approved Beginner Driver Education locations in 219 cities and towns, under 1,167 distinct names (Ontario Ministry of Transportation list dated 11 September 2026)
Concentration on the Ontario approved listB 1,043 of 1,167 names hold one location; the ten largest hold 9.1% of listings; the largest, Laurentian Driving School, holds 28; Young Drivers of Canada appears 84 times under 76 separate entries
Canadian establishmentsA 8,995; 4,070 with 1–4 employees, 14 with 200 or more
US industry employment and payrollA 57,562 establishments, 473,657 employees, $12.07B payroll (2022)
Average pay per US employee in this industryB ~$25,500 a year, derived from the payroll and employment above
Listed operator revenueUNVERIFIED None — no listed operator was identified in either the driving or the music half of this code
V

The field

Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.

Competitor set · 6 named · 0 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
The independent majorityA not disclosed — 8,995 Canadian establishments, 4,070 of them with one to four employees; this tail IS the competitive structure, not a residual after the large operators
The Ontario Ministry of Transportation's approved-provider listA not disclosed — Not an operator but the gate and the census: a school that is not on it cannot sell the certificate that earns the insurance discount and the shorter road-test wait. 1,485 locations, 1,167 names, list dated 11 September 2026
Young Drivers of Canada / All Star Driving SchoolA not disclosed — Canadian driving-school franchise banners. Ontario's approved-provider list shows Young Drivers of Canada 84 times, under 76 separate per-town entries, and All Star Driving School 19 times across seven name variants — recognisable brands operating as loose networks of single sites, not chains. No franchise disclosure document was opened and neither publishes revenue
Long & McQuade lesson centresC not disclosed — Music-retail lesson network; privately held, nothing disclosed, and not researched for this record
Royal Conservatory of Music and the examination boardsC not disclosed — Not an operator of lessons but the setter of the curriculum and credential a private teacher prepares students for; its own site publishes no candidate or revenue figure that was obtained
School boards and municipal recreation programmesC not disclosed — The subsidised or free alternative in the skills-instruction half; no figures sourced

Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.

Evidence

Evidence. The anchor beyond the business counts is a regulator's list, and it is the only one that exists at this scale. Ontario's Ministry of Transportation publishes every ministry-approved Beginner Driver Education provider as an open dataset; the file dated 11 September 2026 was downloaded from data.ontario.ca and counted directly: 1,485 approved locations in 219 cities and towns under 1,167 distinct school names [A]. The concentration figures — 1,043 names with a single location, 9.1% of listings held by the ten largest names, Laurentian Driving School's 28 and Young Drivers of Canada's 84 across 76 entries — are arithmetic on that file and are tiered B. They matter because they measure, rather than assert, that no banner in this code is large enough for its share to affect an entrant's plan. The two count figures are Statistics Canada's Canadian establishment count and size bands (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns for 2022 (57,562 establishments, 473,657 employees, $12.07B payroll) [A]; the pay-per-employee and employees-per-establishment figures are arithmetic on the latter and are tiered B. What was looked for and not found — the music half remains UNVERIFIED: a listed operator in either half of this code; a franchise disclosure document for any Canadian driving-school network; a lesson-price or instructor-wage series for Canada; and any published candidate, teacher or revenue count from the examination boards, the Royal Conservatory's own annual-report page returning 404. No acquisition of a Canadian school network was identified. Long & McQuade's lesson network is general market knowledge and is tiered C for that reason. The Ontario list covers one province and one of the two halves of this code, so it sizes the driving side's structure and nothing else. The cut factor — that revenue is instructor-hours × rate and does not scale without hiring — is analyst judgment, though both the size bands and the licence list are consistent with it. Verify before acting.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Federation of Music Teachers' Associations (CFMTA)
cfmta.org

Federation of the provincial registered music teacher associations; publishes Canadian Music Teacher magazine and runs Canada Music Week. No member count on pages opened

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Ontario Registered Music Teachers' Association (ORMTA)
ormta.org

Provincial body of private music teachers with branches across Ontario; teacher directory, events calendar and member e-newsletters

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Music Teachers National Association (MTNA)
mtna.org

US body for independent music teachers; certification, insurance and business resources, annual conference. No member count on pages opened

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Association of Professional Driving Instructors of Ontario (APDIO)
apdio.ca

Instructor association working with Ontario's Ministry of Transportation on road safety; small volunteer body, no member count published

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
ADTSEA (American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association)
adtsea.org

Professional body for driver education; credentials instructors, publishes curriculum, annual conference

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaC
Driving School Association of the Americas (DSAA)
thedsaa.org

Blocked automated access (Cloudflare). Trade body for commercial driving schools in the US and Canada; annual convention

Checked 2026-09-22

The Association of Driving Schools and Instructors of Ontario (adsio.ca / adsio.org) did not respond on either domain and is not listed. r/musicteachers could not be reached from this network.