Operating business2% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Retirement & Long-Term Care Home Acquisition

Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Nursing care facilities

Base industry report for 623110 →
Establishments · CanadaA
2,423
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
18%
most common size: 50–99
Establishments · USA
17,977
Employment · USA
1,384,492
77 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$59.1B
$43k per employee

Of 2,423 Canadian establishments with employees, 18% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA18% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Concentrated — a new entrant competes against establishments with real scale.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 623, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Health Care and Social Assistance, US · opened 2020
84%
1 year
65.3%
3 years
52.6%
5 years
36.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 5

The binding constraint — capital intensity

This is the rare traditional market where demand is proven by the operators' own numbers — Chartwell ended 2025 at 95.2% occupancy with property revenue up 34.9%, and Extendicare's long-term care segment ran at 98.0% occupancy on $892.1M — and it is still a screen, because the margin is regulated and the entry ticket is a building. Extendicare's LTC adjusted NOI margin was 10.9%: a thin, provincially funded return on an asset requiring tens of millions of capital, ongoing capex and licensed staffing a new entrant cannot recruit at scale.

Market scalenationalunit: one home, and its licensed beds

Occupancy is local and funding is provincial, but the operating margin is set by a provincial funding formula that applies across an entire jurisdiction — so the per-home economics of a listed operator are a fair benchmark within that province.

Handle — Extendicare's home and bed counts. Extendicare reports segment revenue alongside how many homes it owns and manages, which turns a regulated, opaque industry into a per-home figure. Its Assist division separately manages 40 homes with capacity for 6,237 residents — a direct read on beds per home.

Extendicare long-term care revenue, FY2025A $892.1M
Extendicare LTC occupancy, Q4 2025A 98.0%
Extendicare LTC adjusted NOI marginA 10.9%, +90 bps
Extendicare networkB 99 long-term care homes — 59 owned, 40 under management contract (June 2025)
Extendicare Assist managed capacityA 40 homes, 6,237 residents at 31 December 2025
Chartwell property revenue, FY2025A +$279.1M (+34.9%), occupancy 95.2% at year-end
Revenue per owned home, and beds per home~$15.1M · ~156 residentsB

$892.1M of LTC segment revenue divided by 59 owned homes; 6,237 residents divided by 40 managed homes. Both derived from reported figures — the managed and owned portfolios differ, so the bed figure is indicative rather than exact.

Angel-backed companies1
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixQC 1

Sectors joined: 3D Imaging

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Chartwell Retirement Residences (TSX: CSH.UN) and Extendicare (TSX: EXE), both Canadian
Scale
Chartwell property revenue +$279.1M (+34.9%) in 2025, occupancy 95.2% at year-end; Extendicare LTC segment revenue $892.1M with Q4 occupancy 98.0%
Concentration
Not published; the sector is a mix of public operators, non-profits and provincial homes
Others in the field
Revera, Sienna Senior Living, Amica, Responsive Group, and the municipal and non-profit homes that hold much of the bed count
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Chartwell same-property occupancy +480 bps to 92.8% for the year; Extendicare LTC adjusted NOI margin 10.9%, +90 bps
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Chartwell property revenue, FY2025A +$279.1M, +34.9%
Chartwell occupancy at 31 Dec 2025A 95.2%, above its 95% target
Chartwell same-property occupancy, FY2025A +480 bps to 92.8%
Extendicare long-term care revenue, FY2025A $892.1M segment revenue
Extendicare LTC occupancy, Q4 2025A 98.0%
Extendicare LTC adjusted NOI margin, Q4 2025A 10.9%, +90 bps YoY
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$892M

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 3 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 3 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Extendicare (long-term care segment)TSX: EXEA $892M — FY2025 LTC segment revenue
Chartwell Retirement ResidencesTSX: CSH.UNA not disclosed — Property revenue growth disclosed as a delta (+$279.1M); the absolute base was not captured for this record
Sienna / Revera / AmicaC not disclosed — Not researched for this record

Evidence

Evidence. Operator financials and industry-structure figures on this record ARE sourced (tier A/B, see the financials block). The cut factor and reasoning remain analyst judgment and were not tested against operators.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Association for Long Term Care (CALTC)
caltc.ca

National LTC body; publishes a national survey on the state of long-term care and a 2024-2027 strategic plan.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Ontario Long Term Care Association (OLTCA)
oltca.com

Represents Ontario's for-profit and charitable LTC homes; publishes sector data, a magazine and a podcast.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
AdvantAge Ontario
advantageontario.ca

The not-for-profit and municipal LTC and seniors housing association; runs the LTC administrator leadership course and funding-and-reporting training.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
AHCA/NCAL (American Health Care Association)
ahcancal.org

Skilled nursing and assisted living providers; state affiliate directory, Provider magazine and reimbursement advocacy.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
LeadingAge
leadingage.org

Not-for-profit ageing services providers; federal policy coverage, member networking groups and an annual meeting.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
NIC (National Investment Center for Seniors Housing & Care)
nic.org

The place buyers, lenders and operators transact; occupancy and cap-rate data plus Spring and Fall conferences.

Checked 2026-09-22

McKnight's Long-Term Care News (mcknights.com) is behind a Cloudflare block from this network and was left out.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.