Group Home & Supportive Living Operation
The industry — Residential facilities for persons with an intellectual or developmental disability, a mental health or substance use condition
Base industry report for 6232 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 4,091
- Under 10 employeesA
- 33%
Of 4,091 Canadian establishments with employees, 33% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 3
The binding constraint — growth quality
The pre-screen called this a genuine operator business, and the count agrees: 4,091 establishments, 2,511 of them with 10 to 49 staff — which is what a house or a small cluster of houses with round-the-clock shifts looks like. Unlike the retirement and long-term care homes screened at 623110, the ticket is not a purpose-built building; a group home is an ordinary house, often leased. And the funded rate is substantial. Ontario's Financial Accountability Office puts developmental-services supportive living at $2,262 million in 2023-24 for approximately 18,000 people — $123,826 per client [A]. The cut is what that money is growing into. The FAO projects spending rising 4.4% a year to $2,804 million by 2028-29 with no growth in the number of clients served: the whole increase is cost per placement [A]. Meanwhile 28,128 people were waiting for a placement, up from 18,152 in 2017-18 [A]. Demand that large beside volume that flat means the payer has decided not to buy more places, and an entrant's growth can only come from taking an existing placement from an incumbent agency — agencies that hold their funding through long-standing transfer-payment agreements and, being largely non-profit, have no reason to sell. Growth that is pure wage pass-through is not growth an operator keeps. This is not a clean kill. It is an Ontario finding; a full study would test the provinces that contract for-profit providers more freely, and the private-pay addiction and mental-health residences that share this code and were not examined.
Residents are referred and funded through a regional office of the provincial ministry or a Crown agency, and they are placed near family and day programmes. Each home competes, if at all, for placements within that referral region; provincial spending totals describe the payer's budget, not a market an individual operator can address.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SevitaA | not disclosed | — | Privately held (Centerbridge and Vistria). Buyer of BrightSpring's Community Living business for $835 million cash; no revenue published. The North American consolidator of this industry, and it is not buying in Canada. |
| BrightSpring Health ServicesNASDAQ: BTSGA | $12.9B | — | FY2025 net revenue, continuing operations — overwhelmingly pharmacy, and restated to exclude the Community Living business it is selling |
| Community Living associations and other non-profit transfer-payment agenciesB | not disclosed | — | The actual competitive set. Several thousand agencies hold the funding; none publishes comparable revenue, and none has a reason to sell an agreement it cannot transfer. |
| Christian Horizons, Reena, L'Arche Canada and similar faith- and community-based providersC | not disclosed | — | Named from the sector's own membership lists rather than from a financial source; no figures opened for this record. |
Evidence
Evidence. The Ontario figures were read from the Financial Accountability Office of Ontario's 2024 spending plan review of the Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services [A], whose 2023-24 values are interim as of December 2023 — a legislative budget officer's analysis, and a projection where it looks forward. The establishment count is Statistics Canada, December 2023 [A]; no US figures joined. The programme covers group homes, host families, supported independent living and intensive support together, so the per-client figure is an average across settings, not a group-home rate. What was not sourced: the split between non-profit and for-profit agencies, any operator's margin, other provinces' funding (British Columbia and Alberta in particular), and the private-pay addiction-treatment residences in 623221 — no listed or acquired Canadian operator was found to anchor those. The reading that incumbents hold placements and will not sell is analyst judgment, as is the cut factor; the record says plainly that the cut is provisional. The competitive field added in the completion pass is sourced separately. BrightSpring Health Services' 8-K press release of 21 January 2025 states the sale of its Community Living business to Sevita for "$835 million in cash consideration", covering "approximately 14,000 clients" and "13,500 employees", with approximately $1.2 billion of 2024 revenue and approximately $128 million of adjusted EBITDA [A]; its 27 February 2026 results release confirms the deal was still expected to close by the end of the first quarter of 2026 and restates FY2024 revenue to $10,072 million excluding that business [A]. That is an American transaction and is offered as the only priced North American comparable for this kind of operation, not as evidence about Canadian prices — no Canadian transaction was found. The agency names in the competitor list are from the sector's own membership, not from financial sources, and are tiered accordingly.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Local Community Living agencies it works alongside, per its homepage; the largest group of Ontario supportive-living operators.
Member developmental-services agencies ('over 180 organizations'), per its About page; runs an annual conference.
Member community-disability service agencies ('140+'), per its Membership page.
Executive leaders of BC community social service agencies ('over 100'), per its homepage; next meeting Sept 2026.
National federation of provincial/territorial and local associations for people with an intellectual disability; no member count stated.
Community-based I/DD provider members ('2,500 members'), per its About page.
ANCOR's annual conference for community I/DD providers; April 5-7, 2027, New Orleans.
No operator-specific subreddit surfaced; r/socialwork is active but general. Provincial bodies are where group-home operators actually meet; there is no single national operators' association.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.