Operating business44% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresOne thing must be truewillingness to pay

Group Home & Residential Care Operation

Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Other residential care facilities

Base industry report for 6239 →
Establishments · CanadaA
2,028
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
37%
most common size: 10–19
Establishments · USA
5,828
Employment · USA
123,478
21 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$5.0B
$41k per employee

Of 2,028 Canadian establishments with employees, 37% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Prove the value in money the buyer already counts. The need is real; what is unproven is that this buyer moves budget for it. That is a priced test with real customers, not a product problem.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDwillingness to pay — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA37% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Mixed — neither a field of micro-operators nor one dominated by large establishments.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 623, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Health Care and Social Assistance, US · opened 2020
84%
1 year
65.3%
3 years
52.6%
5 years
36.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — willingness to pay

Group homes, transition houses and residences for people with disabilities are small by design — a house on a residential street, staffed in shifts — and that makes the industry look reachable: 37% of the 2,028 Canadian establishments have fewer than ten employees [A]. The cut is who pays and how. Almost every bed is funded by a provincial ministry or a regional authority under a per-diem or a service agreement, so the operator's revenue is a rate it does not set, revised on the funder's schedule rather than when wages move. The cost side is nearly all labour: the US counterpart runs about 21 employees per establishment on a payroll of roughly $41,000 each [A], which is what round-the-clock direct care costs. An entrant therefore buys a house, carries staffing at a ratio fixed by licence, and is paid a rate negotiated by someone whose incentive is to hold it down. The 6243 record found the same mechanism in vocational rehabilitation: the contracts do not fund the service, and the organisations doing the work cover the gap from revenue earned elsewhere. Here there is no such arm to lean on. Operators that do well are non-profits with fundraising, or multi-site providers who spread overhead across dozens of homes.

Market scaleregionalunit: one funding authority's territory — the ministry region or health authority that licenses and pays for the beds

Residents are placed by a public agency, not recruited by the operator, so the market is whichever authority commissions the beds. An operator grows by winning placements inside that territory, not by marketing.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 2,028 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 37% have fewer than ten employees
US establishments and employmentA 5,828 establishments; 123,478 employees; $5.0B payroll (US County Business Patterns, 2022)
US staffing intensityA about 21 employees per establishment; payroll of roughly $41,000 per employee — arithmetic on the County Business Patterns figures
Price settingUNVERIFIED Per-diem or service-agreement rates set by the funding ministry or authority
Sevita–BrightSpring Community Living transactionA $835 million in cash for a business serving approximately 14,000 clients with 13,500 employees (announced 20 January 2025)
Financials of the business soldA approximately $1.2 billion of 2024 revenue and approximately $128 million of adjusted EBITDA
Price per client served~$59,600B

$835 million divided by the approximately 14,000 clients stated in BrightSpring's 21 January 2025 announcement. The same two-figure arithmetic prices the platform at about 0.70× revenue and 6.5× adjusted EBITDA — a labour-services multiple, not a real-estate one, which is the point: what changes hands is a contract book and a payroll, not a building.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Sevita — privately held, and the only firm in North America assembling this industry at scale
Scale
Sevita agreed on 20 January 2025 to buy BrightSpring's Community Living business for $835 million in cash: approximately 14,000 clients with intellectual and developmental disabilities or behavioural conditions, 13,500 employees, approximately $1.2 billion of 2024 revenue and approximately $128 million of adjusted EBITDA [A].
Concentration
Not published, and there is no Canadian equivalent. 2,028 Canadian establishments, 37% of them with fewer than ten employees.
Others in the field
In Canada, the funded non-profits and small multi-site providers that hold the service agreements; in the United States, BrightSpring (NASDAQ: BTSG) until it exits, and the regional platforms private equity has assembled behind Sevita.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed. The per-diem is set by the funder and no provincial rate schedule was opened for this record.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — In the United States, decisively: an $835 million cash transaction for a single I/DD residential platform, announced January 2025 and still expected to close by the end of the first quarter of 2026. In Canada, no comparable buyer was found — a service agreement with a ministry or health authority does not transfer with a sale, so the asset a Canadian owner has to sell is a house and a payroll, not a contract.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Sevita–BrightSpring Community Living transactionA $835 million in cash consideration, announced 20 January 2025
Clients and staff acquiredA approximately 14,000 clients; 13,500 employees
Revenue and adjusted EBITDA of the business soldA approximately $1.2 billion (2024) and approximately $128 million
Implied marginB about 10.7% adjusted EBITDA on revenue — arithmetic on the two figures above
US staffing intensity in this industryA about 21 employees per establishment at roughly $41,000 of payroll each (County Business Patterns, 2022)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$12.9B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
SevitaA not disclosed — Privately held (Centerbridge and Vistria). Its $835 million purchase of BrightSpring's Community Living business is the only priced comparable found for a residential-care platform in North America.
BrightSpring Health ServicesNASDAQ: BTSGA $12.9B — FY2025 net revenue, continuing operations — restated to exclude the Community Living business it is selling, and in any case overwhelmingly pharmacy
Funded non-profit and small multi-site providersB not disclosed — The Canadian competitive set: 2,028 establishments, 37% with fewer than ten employees, almost all holding a per-diem or service agreement with a ministry or health authority. No revenue is published by any of them.
Provincial ministries and regional health authoritiesB not disclosed — Not rivals but the buyer — they license the beds, place the residents and set the rate. An entrant that cannot be commissioned has no market at all.

Evidence

Evidence. Establishment, employment and payroll figures are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) [A]; the per-establishment and per-employee figures are arithmetic on them. The anchor added in the completion pass is a transaction. BrightSpring Health Services' 8-K press release of 21 January 2025 states the sale of its Community Living business to Sevita for "$835 million in cash consideration, subject to customary adjustments", covering "approximately 14,000 clients" and "13,500 employees", with approximately $1.2 billion of 2024 revenue and approximately $128 million of adjusted EBITDA [A]; BrightSpring's results release of 27 February 2026 confirms the divestiture was still expected to close by the end of the first quarter of 2026 and restates FY2024 revenue to $10,072 million to exclude it [A]. The price, the multiple and the per-client figure are American and describe a market where funding follows the operator; they are the nearest priced comparable found, not evidence about Canadian valuations, and no Canadian transaction in this industry was located. No provincial per-diem schedule was opened, so the central claim — that funded rates lag labour cost — remains analyst judgment and is the first thing to test against an actual service agreement.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationOntarioA
OASIS - Ontario Agencies Supporting Individuals with Special Needs
oasisonline.ca

Provincial association of Ontario developmental services agencies; member updates, webinars and an annual conference (2026 OBRC conference at Toronto Airport Hotel).

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Ontario Care Collective (OCC)
ontariocarecollective.ca

Province-wide association of residential care operators and caregivers for children, youth and adults (reached via former oarty.net domain); annual conference, member forum, regional groups.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationAlbertaA
Alberta Council of Disability Services (ACDS)
acds.ca

Alberta association of community disability service providers; training, accreditation and advocacy.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationBritish-ColumbiaA
BC CEO Network
bcceonetwork.ca

Network of CEOs of BC community social service agencies funded by CLBC; member forum and twice-yearly meetings (next 24-25 September 2026, Victoria).

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
ANCOR - American Network of Community Options and Resources
ancor.org · 2,500 members (2026-09)

US association of community-based I/DD providers; About page states 2,500 members (provider organizations).

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
ANCOR Connect '27
ancor.org

ANCOR's flagship annual provider conference; 5-7 April 2027, New Orleans.

Checked 2026-09-22
PodcastUSA
ANCOR Links
ancor.org

ANCOR's podcast for disability service providers; 22 episodes, latest dated March 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22

No national Canadian provider association was found; the sector organises provincially, so the provincial bodies above are the operating-level communities. The ANCOR members figure is as stated on its About page.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.