Federal Policing, Courts & Corrections
The industry — Federal protective services
Base industry report for 9112 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 868
- Under 10 employeesA
- 15%
Of 868 Canadian establishments with employees, 15% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 8
The binding constraint — entry cost + regulatory drag
The RCMP, the federal courts and the Correctional Service of Canada. 868 establishments, only 15% with fewer than ten employees and 73 with a hundred or more [A] — detachments, courthouses and institutions, not firms. This is a buyer, not a market to enter: the activity is a function of government, carried out under statute by public servants, and no licence, acquisition or amount of capital lets a private entrant perform it. What is sold to it is substantial and specialised: records and case management, digital evidence, body-worn cameras, inmate-management and court-scheduling systems, plus fleet, uniforms and facilities. The justice side is screened from the software angle at 912110, which found multi-year procurement and incumbents protected by their integration into police and corrections records. Security clearance of staff and of facilities is a further gate; the 9111 record screens the compliance software built around it, though on the US certification regime rather than the Canadian one. The cut factor is recorded as entry cost and regulatory drag because that is the nearest the screening model comes to 'not available to private parties' — the barrier is not high, it is absolute, and everything interesting is in what gets sold across it.
The relevant geography is that of the buyer: one federal department's national procurement. A supplier competes for that buyer's contracts under that buyer's rules, and a win in one jurisdiction does not carry to the next without a fresh qualification.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.
Competitor set · 6 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Axon EnterpriseNASDAQ: AXONA | not disclosed | — | FY2025 revenue $2.8B, +33%; ARR past $1.3B; bookings $7.4B. Revenue is not scored as this market's floor: Axon's total is global and overwhelmingly US municipal, and none of it is a measure of Canadian federal spending. |
| VersatermC | not disclosed | — | Ottawa. More than 47 years in public-safety software, and now the clearest example of the supply-side roll-up: CAD and RMS plus IAPro, CallTriage, DroneSense and Visual Labs body cameras. Privately held; no revenue published and no customer count on its own site. |
| Niche TechnologyC | not disclosed | — | NicheRMS365. Vendor claims 180+ agencies and 174,000+ sworn officers, and states that more large police agencies use it than its top eight competitors combined — a vendor claim, untested here. No revenue published. |
| Motorola SolutionsC | not disclosed | — | Radio, dispatch and the software attached to it. Listed and discloses, but was not researched for this record. |
| CGITSX: GIB.AA | not disclosed | — | FY2025 revenue $15,912.7M with a Canada operating segment of $2,090.7M — the scale of the integrator bench an entrant meets on anything procured as a programme. Not a police-technology firm; named for what it is. |
| IBM Canada / Deloitte / AccentureC | not disclosed | — | The rest of that bench. Not researched for this record; named because prior federal delivery history is the qualification an entrant does not have. |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Evidence
Evidence. The establishment count and its size bands are Statistics Canada, December 2023 [A]. The trade-agreement thresholds are read from Treasury Board Contracting Policy Notice 2025-8 [A], which covers federal entities only. The competitive field was researched for this pass: Axon's fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 results release supplies the revenue, growth, ARR, bookings and the four-way revenue split, all read from the release itself rather than a summary [A], and CGI's fiscal 2025 results release and MD&A supply the $15,912.7M total and the $2,090.7M Canada segment [A]. Versaterm's product range and its 47-year claim come from its own site, and Niche Technology's 180 agencies and 174,000 officers are the vendor's own numbers on its own site [C] — neither is audited and neither should be repeated as fact. None of these companies' revenue is treated as this market's floor, because none of it measures Canadian federal spending; no such series was found, and the absence is recorded here rather than as a figure. Nothing was sourced for the activity itself, because it is not sold: the characterisation of what the count measures, and of how incumbency works inside those rules, is analyst judgment — UNVERIFIED. No US figure is attached because County Business Patterns excludes public administration. The cross-references to the 9111 and 912110 software records are where the rest of the sourced material on selling to government sits, and the 9111 record is built on the US certification regime rather than the Canadian one.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
The body through which Canadian police leadership, including the RCMP, sets common positions and runs committees.
About page says it is the sole certified bargaining agent for RCMP Members and the largest police labour organization in Canada.
Bilingual network of judges, court administrators and justice practitioners; the courts side of this code, founded 1974.
Main international police leadership association; runs the largest annual policing conference and exhibition.
Corrections professional association and accrediting body; site says more than 155 years old.
News, training and product coverage for law enforcement; the trade press this buyer reads on equipment and evidence systems.
Federal policing, courts and corrections is a government function, not a trade, so these are the professional bodies and trade press those public servants belong to and read rather than operator communities. Blue Line, the Canadian policing magazine, is published by Annex Business Media, whose sites refused connections from here.