Provincial Labour & Employment Services
The industry — Provincial labour and employment services
Base industry report for 9122 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 44
- Under 10 employeesA
- 57%
Of 44 Canadian establishments with employees, 57% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 2
The binding constraint — entry cost + regulatory drag
Provincial labour ministries, employment-standards branches and workers' compensation administration: 44 establishments [A], a few per province. This is a buyer, not a market to enter: the activity is a function of government, carried out under statute by public servants, and no licence, acquisition or amount of capital lets a private entrant perform it. What is enterable sits around it. Provinces contract out employment services to private and non-profit providers on outcome-based agreements (5613, and 6243 for vocational rehabilitation, where the record argues that contract rates are not set at a level that funds the service). Occupational health and safety consulting, training and compliance software are sold to the employers these ministries regulate rather than to the ministries. The cut factor is recorded as entry cost and regulatory drag because that is the nearest the screening model comes to 'not available to private parties' — the barrier is not high, it is absolute, and everything interesting is in what gets sold across it.
The relevant geography is that of the buyer: one province's ministry and its contracted-services budget. A supplier competes for that buyer's contracts under that buyer's rules, and a win in one jurisdiction does not carry to the next without a fresh qualification.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.
Competitor set · 4 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| MaximusNYSE: MMSA | not disclosed | — | FY2025 revenue $5.43B, Outside the U.S. segment $599.9M and falling 8.7%. Revenue is not scored as this market's floor: the segment is company-wide non-US across several countries and Canada is not broken out inside it. |
| Service-system managers and outcome-based employment contractorsUNVERIFIED | not disclosed | — | The organisations holding provincial employment-services catchments under outcome-based agreements. Named as a category: no contract award document was opened for this record and no contractor in Canada publishes revenue for this line of work, so naming individual firms would carry more confidence than the research supports. |
| Non-profit employment agenciesUNVERIFIED | not disclosed | — | The pre-existing delivery network, still holding the local relationships and the referral paths. They bid as subcontractors where they no longer hold the catchment, which is what an entrant would also be doing. |
| Occupational health and safety consultancies and training providersC | not disclosed | — | The other business around this ministry, and the one that does not depend on winning a government contract at all — it sells to the employers the ministry regulates. Not researched for this record. |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Evidence
Evidence. The establishment count and its size bands are Statistics Canada, December 2023 [A]. This pass corrects an error in the previous version of this note, which said the trade-agreement thresholds do not reach this level of government. They do: the Canadian Free Trade Agreement's Article 504.3(a) thresholds — $34,700 for goods, $139,000 for services or construction — apply to the departments, ministries and agencies of any Party, and the provinces and territories are Parties. The figures are read from the Internal Trade Secretariat's own threshold document for the period 1 January 2026 to 31 December 2027 [A], the same document that sets $694,700 for Crown corporations and $139,000 for the municipal and school-board sector. Maximus's fiscal 2025 total and its three segment revenues are read from its own fourth-quarter results release [A]; the Outside the U.S. segment is company-wide non-US and Canada is not broken out within it, so it sizes the outsourced-programme business generally and not this province's spending. No revenue is treated as this market's floor, and the contractors holding provincial catchments are named as a category rather than as firms because no award document was opened and none of them publishes revenue — that is a limit of this pass, stated rather than papered over. What remains analyst judgment is the characterisation of what the establishment count measures and of how a vendor-of-record list gates a bidder in practice: UNVERIFIED. No US figure is attached because County Business Patterns excludes public administration. The cross-references to the 912110 and 913910 software records are where the rest of the sourced material on selling to government sits.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Association of federal, provincial and territorial labour departments and OHS agency heads, founded 1938; the buyers themselves.
Provincial and territorial workers' compensation boards, per its homepage; founded 1919.
147 member organizations listed on its Members page (counted, not a stated total). Organizations listed on its Members page (employment service providers by region); runs Futures and Amplify conferenc
Association of community-based employability and career-training providers in BC since 1990; annual conference. No member count stated.
National member association for supported-employment providers; annual CASE Conference. No member count stated.
CERIC's national career development conference in Ottawa (Cannexus27 next); the main gathering for employment service practitioners.
Workers' compensation jurisdictional agencies and service firms; hosts a convention and online communities. No member count stated.
US state workforce and unemployment insurance agencies; the US counterpart to provincial ministries.
Also live: VRA Canada (vracanada.com) for vocational rehabilitation professionals and NAWDP (nawdp.org) for US workforce development staff.