Operating business14% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresStructure decidesentry cost + regulatory drag

Indigenous Government Administration

SoftwareTypically runs on Band administration, membership and housing management. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Indigenous public administration

Base industry report for 9141 →
Establishments · CanadaA
835
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
13%
most common size: 50–99

Of 835 Canadian establishments with employees, 13% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDentry cost + regulatory drag — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA13% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Concentrated — a new entrant competes against establishments with real scale.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 914, inherited by every industry beneath it.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 3

The binding constraint — entry cost + regulatory drag

First Nations, Métis and Inuit governments: 835 establishments, only 13% with fewer than ten employees and 281 employing a hundred or more [A]. These are full governments delivering housing, education, health, lands and economic development, often as the largest employer in their community. This is a buyer, not a market to enter: the activity is a function of government, carried out under statute by public servants, and no licence, acquisition or amount of capital lets a private entrant perform it. Work with Indigenous governments is done by partnership and on their terms — through community-owned development corporations, joint ventures and procurement policies that favour Indigenous-owned business. For a non-Indigenous entrant the honest path is as a partner or supplier to such an entity, and the relationship comes before any transaction. The cut factor is recorded as entry cost and regulatory drag because that is the nearest the screening model comes to 'not available to private parties' — the barrier is not high, it is absolute, and everything interesting is in what gets sold across it. The scale of what crosses that line is now measurable, and it is shrinking: Ottawa's mandatory 5% floor moved $1.04 billion of federal contracts to Indigenous businesses in 2024-25, 5.1% of eligible contract value, against $1.24 billion and 6.1% the year before [A], competed for by the roughly 2,700 firms in the Indigenous Business Directory. The other number that matters is $4 billion raised by the First Nations Finance Authority for 193 borrowing First Nations [A] — a nation that can issue debt against its own revenues is a counterparty, not a grant recipient, and it chooses its partners accordingly.

Market scalelocalunit: one nation's government and its development corporation

The relevant geography is that of the buyer: one nation's government and its development corporation. A supplier competes for that buyer's contracts under that buyer's rules, and a win in one jurisdiction does not carry to the next without a fresh qualification.

Handle — The 5% federal procurement floor. It is the only published number that prices the doorway an outsider can actually reach: Ottawa reports both the dollars awarded to Indigenous businesses and the eligible base they are measured against, organisation by organisation, so the opportunity can be sized and its direction read. It measures federal buying from Indigenous firms, not what Indigenous governments themselves buy — no series publishes that.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 835 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 13% have fewer than ten employees; 281 employ 100 or more
What the count measuresUNVERIFIED Government offices, detachments and agencies reporting as employers — not firms, and not a population an entrant could join
How it buysUNVERIFIED Indigenous governments set their own procurement policies and are not bound by the federal or provincial regimes; no such policy was read for this record
Federal contracts awarded to Indigenous businesses, FY2024-25A $1.04B — 5.1% of eligible contract value, against $1.24B and 6.1% in FY2023-24 (Indigenous Services Canada)
First Nations Finance Authority financing since foundingA $4B to 193 borrowing First Nations, rated AA- (Government of Canada, 3 December 2025)
Indigenous Services Canada actual spending, FY2024-25A $26,482,739,882 including internal services (Departmental Results Report)
Federal contract value per listed Indigenous supplier~$385,000 a yearB

$1.04B of FY2024-25 federal contracts divided by the ≈2,700 firms in the Indigenous Business Directory. Derived from two of Indigenous Services Canada's own figures. The real distribution is heavily concentrated in a few large construction and services awards, so the median listed firm sees far less than the average.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
The community-owned development corporation — the commercial arm a nation transacts through, and the partner an outsider goes through rather than around
Scale
835 Indigenous government establishments, 281 of them employing 100 or more [A]; 193 First Nations are borrowing members of the First Nations Finance Authority, which has issued $4B of financing since its founding and is rated AA- [A]
Concentration
Not published — no share series exists for this field, and none of the large development corporations files publicly
Others in the field
The ~2,700 firms registered in Indigenous Services Canada's Indigenous Business Directory, the Aboriginal Financial Institution network, and the national contractors that already sit inside an Indigenous joint venture
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Federal Indigenous procurement fell from $1.24B (6.1% of eligible value) in FY2023-24 to $1.04B (5.1%) in FY2024-25
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — These buyers are not bought or sold — the count moves with self-government agreements, not with transactions. What changes is the money behind them: Indigenous Services Canada's actual spending was $26.48B in FY2024-25, nearly all of it transfers, and the FNFA now lets a nation raise capital against its own revenue instead of waiting on a programme.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Federal contracts awarded to Indigenous businesses, FY2024-25A $1.04B — 5.1% of eligible contract value, down from $1.24B and 6.1% in FY2023-24
Federal organisations meeting the 5% minimum, FY2024-25A 82 of 95 reporting organisations met it; 13 did not
Suppliers registered in the Indigenous Business DirectoryA ≈2,700 (Indigenous Services Canada, January 2026)
First Nations Finance Authority financing since foundingA $4B to 193 borrowing First Nations, rated AA- (Government of Canada, 3 December 2025)
Indigenous Services Canada actual spending, FY2024-25A $26,482,739,882 including internal services
V

The field

Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.

Competitor set · 5 named · 0 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
First Nations Finance AuthorityA not disclosed — $4B of financing issued to 193 borrowing First Nations, rated AA-. Not a rival for contracts — the institution that decides what a nation can fund without asking Ottawa, and therefore what it needs a partner for
Indigenous Business Directory suppliersA not disclosed — ≈2,700 registered Indigenous-owned firms competing for the federal 5% floor; $1.04B was awarded across them in FY2024-25
Community-owned development corporationsUNVERIFIED not disclosed — The nation's own commercial arm, which holds the relationship, the land and usually the first refusal. None files publicly and none was opened for this record
Aboriginal Financial InstitutionsUNVERIFIED not disclosed — The regional Indigenous lending network that funds community business and advises on structuring; no association report was opened for this record
National contractors holding Indigenous joint venturesUNVERIFIED not disclosed — Aecon, PCL and Bird among others run Indigenous partnership programmes; an entrant with no relationship meets them already inside one. No joint-venture agreement was opened for this record

Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.

Evidence

Evidence. Three sources were opened directly for this record. Indigenous Services Canada's own procurement page gives $1.04B and 5.1% for FY2024-25 against $1.24B and 6.1% for FY2023-24, and ≈2,700 firms in the Indigenous Business Directory [A]; its open-data results table for FY2024-25 reconciles to the same figure — $1.036B across 95 organisations against a $20.2B eligible base after $37.0B of deputy-head-approved exceptions, with 82 organisations meeting the floor and 13 not [A]. ISC's 2024-25 Departmental Results Report gives total actual spending of $26,482,739,882 [A]. The Government of Canada release of 3 December 2025 gives the First Nations Finance Authority $4B of financing to 193 borrowing First Nations at an AA- rating [A]. The establishment count and size bands are Statistics Canada, December 2023 [A]. What was NOT sourced: no individual nation's procurement policy, no development corporation's accounts and no joint-venture agreement — every competitor marked UNVERIFIED is named from structure rather than from a document, and the cut factor remains analyst judgment. The federal procurement figures size what Ottawa buys from Indigenous firms; they do not size what Indigenous governments buy, for which no series was found. No US figure is attached because County Business Patterns excludes public administration. No software record covers this branch.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaC
AFOA Canada
afoa.ca

Professional body for Indigenous finance, management and governance staff; blocked automated access, search confirms its 24th National Conference, Montreal, February 2026, with over 1,200 attendees.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Assembly of First Nations
afn.ca

National advocacy body of First Nations chiefs; its assemblies and resolutions set the intergovernmental agenda.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Cando (Council for the Advancement of Native Development Officers)
edo.ca

Body for Indigenous economic development officers; runs the TAED/PAED certification and an annual conference.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Council for Indigenous Business
ccib.ca

Business-side counterpart: certification, the PAIR program and Supply Change procurement marketplace linking nations and corporate buyers.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
First Nations Finance Authority
fnfa.ca

Pooled-borrowing body First Nations join to finance projects; publishes the Let's Bond podcast and member materials.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Windspeaker
windspeaker.com

AMMSA's national Indigenous news publication, with a job board widely used by band administrations.

Checked 2026-09-22

This is a government, not a trade, so the communities are the professional bodies and national organisations its administrators and finance staff belong to rather than an industry association.