Lloydminster, Alberta / Saskatchewan

Lloydminster is one city with one council and one assessment roll sitting on two land registries: the Charter that governs it defines an owner as whoever is registered under the Land Titles Act (Alberta) or The Land Titles Act, 2000 (Saskatchewan), so finding out who owns a building here costs $10.00 on the west side of 50 Avenue and $15.00 on the east side — and the city's hospital, its upgrader and its post office are on the Saskatchewan half while its college, its refinery, its mall and its Costco are on the Alberta half.

8 buildings · 4 with an owner established · 14 sources · 7 tier A · 1 tier C · prepared 2026-10-03

Can you find out who owns it?

Everywhere else in this section a city has one register. Lloydminster has two, and its own governing statute says so. The Lloydminster Charter — Alberta Regulation 212/2012, made under the City of Lloydminster Act and current as of 1 January 2023 — defines "owner" at section 1(jj) as, "in respect of other land, a person who is registered pursuant to the Land Titles Act (Alberta) or The Land Titles Act, 2000 (Saskatchewan) as the owner of the land", and defines a "parcel of land" by reference to a plan "registered in a Land Titles Office of Alberta or in the Saskatchewan Land Titles Registry". So the price of an owner depends on which side of 50 Avenue the parcel is: $10.00 for a certified copy of an Alberta certificate of title under the Tariff of Fees Regulation, or $15.00 for a Title Detail from Saskatchewan's registry as at 15 April 2026. The municipal half of the question is seamless and the registry half is not. Section 7(1) of the Charter declares that the Municipal Government Act (Alberta), The Cities Act (Saskatchewan) and The Municipalities Act (Saskatchewan) all "cease to operate in any part of the City", and then re-imports Parts 9, 10, 11 and 12 of the Alberta Act — assessment, taxation, assessment review boards and appeals — as "approved enactments" applying to the whole City. The City therefore assesses both provinces' halves itself, to one Alberta-style valuation date, 1 July 2025 for the 2026 roll. But section 7(2) carves out "subdivision and replotting in respect of land situated in the part of the City located in Saskatchewan", and nothing in the Charter touches either province's land titles system. One tax notice, two title registries, and the border runs through the middle of the city hall's address: 4420 50 Avenue, Lloydminster, AB/SK.

Is ownership public?Public, but one paid search at a time
Cost of one title search$10.00 in Alberta and $15.00 in Saskatchewan, for the same question about adjacent parcels. Alberta: the Tariff of Fees Regulation (AR 120/2000, current as of 1 October 2026) prices "an electronically-generated certified copy of (a) a certificate of title" at $10, and a name search under s.17 of the Land Titles Act at $10 for a nil result or $15 for "a summary list showing title or instrument particulars in respect of names found". Saskatchewan: ISC's Land Titles fee table effective 15 April 2026 prices a Title Detail at $15.00 and an Abstract Detail at $15.00, with the Standard Result List, Parcel Detail and Interest Register Detail free.
Bulk ownership dataNothing in Alberta. In Saskatchewan there is a channel but no tariff: ISC's fee table effective 15 April 2026 prices, under Miscellaneous, "At the discretion of ISC, for any legacy ancillary service where there is no fee provided (for example, custom parcel picture on demand for townsites, bulk data query development)" at "$125.00; or $125.00 per hour, whichever is greater", and the registry also publishes a Land Search API. So a bulk Saskatchewan request is a quotation, not a price.
Sale pricesNo transaction data published
1

The marquee buildings

The towers that set the tone of the core, and who holds them. A price is the price a document states, on the date it states — not an estimate of what the building is worth now.

BuildingUseOwner Owner typeLast price paid
Lloydminster Upgrader
Lloydminster, Saskatchewan
Industrial Cenovus Energy Inc.
Cenovus's 2025 Annual Information Form, dated 18 February 2026, calls its Canadian Refining segment "the owned and operated Lloydminster upgrading and asphalt refining complex", then puts the two halves in two provinces: "The Lloydminster Upgrader, located in Lloydminster, Saskatchewan, processes blended heavy crude oil feedstock (including bitumen)" into synthetic crude, ultra-low sulphur diesel and other products. Feedstock arrives on the Saskatchewan and Cold Lake Gathering Systems, both owned by Husky Midstream Limited Partnership, and on the Border Pipeline System, which Cenovus owns. Upgrader and refinery together ran at 103% crude unit utilisation in 2025 on 108.0 Mbbls/d of capacity.
Public company —A
Lloydminster Refinery
Lloydminster, Alberta
Industrial Cenovus Energy Inc.
The other half of the same complex, in the other province. Cenovus's 2025 AIF: "The Lloydminster Refinery, located in Lloydminster, Alberta, processes blended heavy crude oil into asphalt products used in road construction and maintenance, bulk distillates and industrial products." Products move by railcar and truck to Western Canada, the US Upper Midwest, the Rocky Mountain region and the West Coast; distillates are either sold as industrial products or transferred to the Upgrader across the border for further refining. The 2025 production split across the complex was 52.0 Mbbls/d of synthetic crude, 17.9 of asphalt, 15.2 of diesel, 37.2 of other and 5.0 of ethanol.
Public company —A
Lloyd Mall
5211 44 Street, Lloydminster, Alberta T9V 0A7
201,516 sq ft
Retail Leyad
The only enclosed mall in the region changed hands in March 2026: Montreal-based Leyad bought it off-market from the TTC Pension Plan, operated for Toronto Transit Commission employees. RENX reports 37 stores in more than 200,000 sq ft of GLA; the previous owner's own leasing brochure gives 201,516 sq ft and 40 stores, a full 2021 renovation, and anchors Safeway, Shoppers Drug Mart, Urban Planet and Dollarama. The brochure also explains why the retail is on this side of the line: "Many Saskatchewan residents will travel to Alberta in order to avoid paying any provincial sales taxes (PST), which significantly increases the draw of Lloyd Mall."
Private company CAD not disclosed
2026-03
Off-market purchase from the TTC Pension Plan, announced 10 March 2026; the parties did not disclose the price.
A
Lloydminster Hospital
3820 43rd Avenue, Lloydminster, Saskatchewan S9V 1Y5
Institutional Not established
a paid title search would answer it
The hospital serving a city two thirds of whose residents live in Alberta is in Saskatchewan, and is run by the Saskatchewan Health Authority, which lists it among its facilities with a 24/7 emergency department at 3820 43rd Avenue, S9V 1Y5. The same authority's facility directory also lists the Lloydminster Continuing Care Centre at 7402 29th Street, Lloydminster, AB T9V 3N1 — and names Alberta Health Services as the operator, in its own directory. Two provincial health systems, one town. Which entity holds the title to either site is a $15.00 Saskatchewan Title Detail and a $10.00 Alberta title away, and neither was purchased.
Not established —A
Lakeland College, Lloydminster campus
2602 59 Avenue, Lloydminster, Alberta T9V 3N7
Institutional Not established
a paid title search would answer it
The city's post-secondary campus sits on the Alberta side, at an address west of 50 Avenue in the T9V postal zone, while the hospital sits on the Saskatchewan side — the two biggest public institutions in town answer to different provinces. The campus location is taken from OpenStreetMap's address record for the building, which places it in Alberta; no register was bought, so the registered owner is not stated here.
Not established —C
Costco Lloydminster
75 Avenue and 19 Street, Lloydminster, Alberta
approximately 155,350 sq ft
Retail Not established
a paid title search would answer it
Alberta's own Major Projects register lists this under Big-Box Store, Under Construction, with Costco Wholesale Canada Ltd. as Developer and no estimated cost published: "Costco Lloydminster is located at 75 Avenue and 19 Street, on Lloydminsters west side, on a 19.4 acre parcel of land. The warehouse features approximately 155,350 square feet of space, with ~880 parking stalls, liquor pod & gas bar... A building permit was issued by the City of Lloydminster in late 2025. The facility is expected to open in November 2026." Developer is not the same claim as registered owner, so the owner is left blank.
Not established —A
Lloydminster Post Office
4618 49 Avenue, Lloydminster, Saskatchewan S9V 0T2
1,248.5 sq m
Civic Canada Post
The only Crown-owned federal property in Lloydminster, and it is on the Saskatchewan side. The Directory of Federal Real Property records it as Crown Owned with no restriction on interest, 0.2784 ha of land and 1,248.5 square metres of building, and files it under the metro area "Lloydminster (Saskatchewan part)". Every other federal holding in the city is a lease.
Government —A
RCMP Lloydminster Detachment
5106 44 Street, Lloydminster, Alberta T9V 3M1
5,931 sq m
Office Not established
a paid title search would answer it
The largest federal floor area in the city is rented. The Directory of Federal Real Property records the detachment as "Lease or Licence", 5,931 square metres, with a further 374-square-metre RCMP office site at the same address and a 0.0096 ha leased parking site at 5105 44 Street — all three filed under the metro area "Lloydminster (Alberta part)". The register proves the inverse of ownership: Canada occupies the building and someone else owns it, and the landlord is behind an Alberta title.
Not established —A
2

The core land

The most valuable ground in the city, and what the public record says about it.

Lloydminster is the one city in this batch where the published numbers do not add up to a city, because the statistical system files it twice. Statistics Canada's population and dwelling counts table carries two census subdivisions both named Lloydminster (Part): 4810039 in Alberta and 4717029 in Saskatchewan. The Charter itself anticipates this, defining the City's population at section 1(mm) as the Alberta part plus the Saskatchewan part "as determined in accordance with the latest census". Alberta Municipal Affairs' equalized assessment file carries only the Alberta code — and Lloydminster is the only municipality in this batch whose residential assessment is lower than it was a decade ago.

Population, 2021 census31,582 — 19,739 in Alberta plus 11,843 in Saskatchewan
Statistics Canada table 98-10-0002, CSDs 4810039 (Alberta: 19,739 people, 8,530 total private dwellings, 23.98 km2) and 4717029 (Saskatchewan: 11,843 people, 5,002 dwellings, 18.06 km2). The city is 42.04 km2 and 13,532 dwellings across both. Alberta grew 0.5% and Saskatchewan 0.7% from 2016 — the slowest growth of the five cities in this batch by a wide margin.
2026 equalized assessment, Alberta part only$3,761,582,855
Alberta Municipal Affairs, CSD 4810039: residential $2,316,780,400, non-residential (non-regulated) $1,150,152,765, machinery and equipment $229,888,780, linear property $63,790,500, farmland $970,410. Open Government Licence - Alberta. Non-residential is 30.6% of the base, three times Airdrie's share.
Residential assessment, 2016 to 2026$2,415,772,120 down to $2,316,780,400 (-4.1%)
Over the same decade Cochrane's grand total went up 112% and Okotoks' 72%. Lloydminster's machinery and equipment assessment did the opposite, more than doubling from $111,728,030 to $229,888,780. Alberta Municipal Affairs equalized assessment, CSD 4810039.
Parcels by ownership class14,204 parcels: 10,174 individual, 1,908 corporate, 559 municipal, 21 provincial, 1 federal, 1,541 unassigned
The City of Lloydminster's public parcel layer (Parcel - View - External, 14,204 features) carries an Ownership field holding a class rather than a name. It is a rare thing: a published ownership census of a whole city. The City itself is the fourth-largest class by count with 559 parcels; the Province of Saskatchewan and the Province of Alberta between them hold 21; Canada holds one. The layer does not record which province a parcel is in.
Industrial land, asking pricefrom $170,000 per acre
The City's own Land Division advertises Hill Industrial with "Competitive lot pricing starting at $170,000 per acre with negotiable terms" on fully serviced lots with offsite levies paid. This is an asking price from the municipal landowner, not a recorded sale.
Building permits, 2025177 permits, $73,073,000 — commercial double residential
Commercial 38 permits / $44,200 thousand; residential 124 / $22,048 thousand; industrial 6 / $4,049 thousand; institutional 9 / $2,776 thousand. Alberta Regional Dashboard. Lloydminster is the only city in this batch where commercial permit value exceeded residential, and the Costco warehouse is in that number.
Housing starts, 202539 — 38 single-detached, 1 apartment
Alberta Regional Dashboard, CMHC series for Lloydminster (Part). 40 in 2024. Okotoks started 325 in 2025 on a similar population.
3

Who owns the town

At this scale the significant owner is rarely a trust or a fund: it is one or two local holding companies, a family in its second or third generation, and often the land around the town rather than the buildings in it.

The published answer to who owns Lloydminster is a class, not a name: the City's own parcel layer sorts all 14,204 parcels into individual, corporate, municipal, provincial and federal, and that is as far as any free source goes. Behind it, the two big documented holdings are a listed oil company with a plant in each province and a municipality acting as its own land developer.

NameTypeHolding
City of Lloydminster
The City is both the planning authority and the subdivider. Its Land Division sells serviced industrial land from $170,000 an acre, markets residential lots in Aurora and Parkview Estates under its own architectural controls, pays builders an incentive to buy them, leases out farmland and leases "land and property that is not currently required for municipal purposes". Its parcel count comes from its own public GIS layer.
Government 559 parcels; 2 residential communities, Hill Industrial, the Entertainment DistrictA
Cenovus Energy Inc.
Cenovus's own 2025 AIF names and locates both plants and calls them owned and operated. The Alberta side's machinery and equipment assessment of $229.9 million in 2026, up from $111.7 million in 2016, is the tax-roll shadow of this industry; the Saskatchewan side's plant is not in that file at all.
Public company the Upgrader (Saskatchewan) and the Refinery (Alberta)A
1,908 corporate parcels and 10,174 individual parcels
Published as a negative finding: the City records an ownership class on every parcel and no name, and neither province sells a bulk owner file. To name the corporate holders of those 1,908 parcels would cost $10.00 or $15.00 a title depending on which side of 50 Avenue each one sits.
Private company 85.1% of all titled parcels in the cityA
5

Who builds the houses

New-home building in this market: the volume, and the firms behind it. Ownership of a builder matters as much as its volume — a private-equity platform and a family firm behave differently.

In Lloydminster the largest residential land developer is the municipality. The City runs a Land Division that "offers residential, commercial, and industrial land available for sale", markets two named residential communities — Aurora in the southeast and Parkview Estates — plus Hill Industrial and a six-parcel Entertainment District next to the Gold Horse Casino and the Cenovus Energy Hub, and runs a Residential Builder Incentive Program "offering competitive benefits to builders purchasing city-owned residential lots". Its own page states that the Division operates "with transparency and equity by adhering to the same procedures and regulations that govern private sector land developers in the city" — an unusual sentence for a municipality to need. Which private builders buy those lots is not published: Alberta's Builder Registry would answer it, since it records properties built since 1 February 2014 by location, but its search endpoint returns no rows to a script. So no builder is named here.

NameTypeHolding
City of Lloydminster (Land Division)
Aurora and Parkview Estates are City-developed residential neighbourhoods with City-published lot inventories and architectural controls; Hill Industrial sells serviced lots from $170,000 per acre; the Entertainment District offers six commercial parcels of 1.01 to 1.17 acres plus a dedicated hotel site. The City's own parcel layer records 559 parcels in municipal ownership. The City also publishes a Farmland Lease Opportunities heading under Leasing, so it is a farmland landlord as well, though that page returned 404.
Government 2 residential communities, 1 industrial park, 1 commercial district; 559 municipal parcelsA
Not established — the private builders
Alberta's public Builder Registry is the right instrument and it is unreadable by script (see automationBlocked). The Alberta Regional Dashboard gives the volume — 39 housing starts in 2025, 38 of them single-detached, and 124 residential building permits worth $22.0 million — but no names. Rather than guess at the builders working the City's own subdivisions, this record leaves them blank.
Private company 39 starts in 2025A
6

Commercial landlords

The commercial side, counted separately from housing: who holds the office, retail and industrial floor area.

Lloydminster's non-residential assessment is $1.15 billion on the Alberta side alone, 30.6% of that half's base, and its retail catchment is far larger than its population: the Lloyd Mall leasing brochure describes "a regional trade area of over 195,000 people" reaching Cold Lake, Alberta and North Battleford, Saskatchewan, and "over 2.6 M sf of retail space, including virtually every major large format retailer in Canada". That retail is concentrated on the Alberta side for a reason the brochure states outright — Saskatchewan shoppers cross the avenue to avoid PST.

NameTypeLloydminster holding
Cenovus Energy Inc.
The only owner in this record with major property on both sides of the border, and its own filing says so: the Upgrader in Lloydminster, Saskatchewan and the Refinery in Lloydminster, Alberta, described together as "the owned and operated Lloydminster upgrading and asphalt refining complex". Cenovus also owns the Border Pipeline System feeding it, holds the Lloydminster thermal and Lloydminster conventional heavy oil assets upstream (102.6 and 25.1 Mbbls/d in 2025), and lends its name to the Cenovus Energy Hub, which the City uses as the anchor of its Entertainment District land offering.
Public company 108.0 Mbbls/d operable capacity across two provincesA
Leyad
Acquired Lloyd Mall off-market from the TTC Pension Plan in March 2026 for an undisclosed price. Leyad's release, quoted by the Meridian Source, states that grocery and pharmacy-anchored centres are its highest-grossing tenant category, and the same report notes the firm's $160.5-million purchase of St. Vital Centre in Winnipeg and a multi-province grocery portfolio — that $160.5 million is a different property and is not a Lloyd Mall price.
Private company 201,516 sq ft, 40 storesB
TTC Pension Plan
Included because it is the answer to the question a reader would have asked a year ago, and because it shows what small-city Canadian retail is held by: a transit workers' pension fund in Toronto, with BentallGreenOak marketing the space. The pension plan sold in March 2026.
Pension fund former owner of Lloyd MallB
Government of Canada (all custodians)
Canada Post owns 0.2784 ha and 1,248.5 sq m at 4618 49 Avenue on the Saskatchewan side. Everything else is rented: the RCMP detachment at 5106 44 Street (5,931 sq m) and an office at the same address (374 sq m), an RCMP parking site at 5105 44 Street, a Public Services and Procurement Canada office at 4114 70 Avenue (335 sq m), and a Farm Credit Canada office at 4111 44th Street (467 sq m) which the register files on the Saskatchewan side. Open Government Licence - Canada.
Government 6 properties; 1 Crown-owned, 5 leasedA
?

Looked for and not found

Claims this page would have made if a source could be opened. They are left out rather than guessed.

  • Any assessment figure covering the whole city. Alberta Municipal Affairs publishes equalized assessment for CSD 4810039, the Alberta part; the $3.76 billion total works out to $177,000 per head against the Alberta part's 21,295 people but only $119,000 against the whole city's 31,582, which is how we judge the file to be Alberta-only. The Saskatchewan part's assessment was not located, and the dashboard's 14,044 dwelling units for 2023 is close to the city-wide parcel count, suggesting some indicators in the same file may be city-wide. Neither reading is stated by the publisher.
  • The Alberta/Saskatchewan split of the city's 14,204 parcels. The City's layer carries no province field, and spatial queries either side of the 110th meridian return 17,398 features against the layer's own count of 14,204.
  • Which private builders build Lloydminster's houses. Alberta's Builder Registry records properties built by location since 1 February 2014 and its search endpoint returns zero rows to a script.
  • The price Leyad paid for Lloyd Mall, and the price the TTC Pension Plan paid before it. Neither was disclosed.
  • The registered owners of the Lloydminster Hospital site, the Lakeland College campus and the new Costco parcel — all three are a paid title search away, in two different registries.
  • The cost of the Costco warehouse. Alberta's Major Projects register publishes the acreage, the floor area and the permit but records Estimated Cost as N/A.
  • ARLO's fee schedule, and therefore the price of an Alberta title after SPIN2 retires in December 2026.
§

Sources

  1. The Lloydminster Charter, Alberta Regulation 212/2012 under the City of Lloydminster Act, with amendments to AR 252/2022, current as of January 1, 2023 (office consolidation) — Alberta King's Printer, published by the City of Lloydminster · openA
  2. Tariff of Fees Regulation, AR 120/2000 (Land Titles Act), current as of October 1, 2026, s.14 — Alberta King's Printer · openA
  3. Land Titles Fees table, effective April 15, 2026 (Searches: Title Detail $15.00; Miscellaneous: bulk data query development) — Saskatchewan Registry Services, operated by ISC · openA
  4. Cenovus Energy Inc. 2025 Annual Information Form, dated February 18, 2026 (Canadian Refining; Lloydminster Upgrader; Lloydminster Refinery) — Cenovus Energy Inc., filed on SEC EDGAR as an exhibit to Form 40-F · openA
  5. Parcel - View - External, layer 44 (14,204 parcels with Ownership, PropertyClass, Zoning, Neighbourhood, YearBuilt) — City of Lloydminster · openA
  6. Property assessments by municipality (Total Equalized Assessment) 2026, Building Permits, Housing Starts, Population and Dwelling Units for Lloydminster (Part), CSD 4810039 — Alberta Municipal Affairs / Alberta Regional Dashboard · openA
  7. Directory of Federal Real Property, full dataset (Lloydminster (Alberta part) and Lloydminster (Saskatchewan part) metro areas) — Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat · openA
  8. Leyad buys Alberta's Lloyd Mall regional shopping centre (10 March 2026) and LloydMall under new ownership (6 April 2026) — Real Estate News Exchange (RENX) and the Meridian Source · openA
  9. Lloyd Mall, Lloydminster, AB leasing brochure (GLA 201,516 sq ft; 40 stores; regional trade area; PST) — BGO (BentallGreenOak) · openA
  10. Costco Lloydminster, project detail page (Developer, Stage, Type, 19.4 acres, 155,350 sq ft, permit issued late 2025) — Alberta Major Projects, Government of Alberta · openA
  11. Lloydminster Hospital and Lloydminster Continuing Care Centre (Alberta Health Services) facility pages — Saskatchewan Health Authority · openA
  12. Land Division; Hill Industrial; Entertainment District; Parkview Estates; Aurora; Leasing and Licences of Occupation; The Lloydminster Charter; Assessments — City of Lloydminster · openA
  13. Address records for 2602 59 Avenue and 3820 43 Avenue, Lloydminster (province and postal code by parcel) — OpenStreetMap via Nominatim · openC
  14. Table 98-10-0002: Population and dwelling counts, census subdivisions, 2021 (CSDs 4810039 and 4717029) — Statistics Canada · openA