Operating business34% entry signalMarket screen4 sourced figuresStructure decidesentry cost

Small-Scale Crop Production

SoftwareTypically runs on Farm management, agronomy and precision-ag platforms, increasingly bundled by equipment makers and input suppliers. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Crop production

Base industry report for 111 →
Establishments · CanadaA
20,967
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
83%
most common size: 1–4

Of 20,967 Canadian establishments with employees, 83% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDentry cost — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA83% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 111, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing and Hunting, US · opened 2020
88%
1 year
71.7%
3 years
61.8%
5 years
53%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 2

The binding constraint — entry cost

Land price per acre has decoupled from what an acre can yield, which means the entry cost is set by a real-estate market rather than by an agricultural one — in the BC valleys most acutely. The decoupling is measurable in two of Statistics Canada's own tables: the average value of Canadian farm land and buildings went from $2,550 an acre in 2015 to $5,643 in 2025, while realized net farm income for the whole country went from $7.02B to $8.34B [A]. The asset repriced by 121% against an earnings base that grew 19%, and Ontario at $21,073 an acre and British Columbia at $10,577 are where the gap is widest. An entrant buys the acre at a price the crop cannot service, and pays it to a seller whose alternative bidder is a larger farm or an investor rather than a new operator. The versions that clear the hurdle are high-value protected culture and direct marketing, both of which need capital and neither of which is farming in the sense the buyer usually means — Local Bounti, one of the listed controlled-environment growers, sold $48.4M of produce in 2025, lost $94.4M doing it, and carried $483.1M of long-term debt at year end [A]. The farm-management software above this code is screened separately at 1151.

Market scalelocalunit: one parcel, priced by a real-estate market

The entry cost is set by what the land is worth to a non-farming buyer, not by what it can grow — most sharply in the BC valleys. Sized by the parcel, and the parcel is priced by housing demand.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 20,967 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 67% have 1–4 employees, 92% fewer than twenty
Where they areA Quebec 4,477, Saskatchewan 4,239, Ontario 4,004, Alberta 3,080 (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
Value per acre of farm land and buildings, 2025A Canada $5,643; Ontario $21,073; Quebec $11,131; British Columbia $10,577; Saskatchewan $2,943 (Statistics Canada table 32-10-0047)
Farmland value against farm income, 2015–2025A Value per acre $2,550 → $5,643 (+121%) while realized net farm income went $7.02B → $8.34B (+19%); both nominal (Statistics Canada tables 32-10-0047 and 32-10-0052)
Canadian farm cash receipts and realized net income, 2025A Cash receipts $102.16B, operating expenses after rebates $83.03B, realized net income $8.34B — flat against $8.37B in 2024 (Statistics Canada table 32-10-0052)
National addressable figureUNVERIFIED Not stated — this market is a set of unconnected local ones, each priced by its own land market
Angel-backed companies3
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixAB 3

Sectors joined: Agriculture · Cellular Agriculture

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
No single firm — 20,967 employer establishments, 67% of them with one to four employees (Statistics Canada, December 2023). The opponent that matters is whoever else bids for the acre.
Scale
Value per acre of farm land and buildings, 2025: Canada $5,643, Ontario $21,073, Quebec $11,131, British Columbia $10,577, Saskatchewan $2,943 (Statistics Canada table 32-10-0047)
Concentration
Not published, and there is nothing for it to measure: no firm holds a meaningful share of Canadian crop production.
Others in the field
The neighbouring farm expanding its land base; the non-farming buyer setting the price of the parcel; and, in the two niches the screen says survive, the greenhouse cluster (Mastronardi, Nature Fresh, Pure Flavor — privately held, not sourced here) and the listed controlled-environment growers.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Farmland $2,550 an acre in 2015 → $5,643 in 2025 (+121%); realized net farm income $7.02B → $8.34B over the same ten years (+19%), and flat year over year against $8.37B in 2024. Both series are nominal.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — There is no named roll-up buying small crop farms. The consolidation shows up in the land market instead, as a price the operating income does not support — which means the exit for a retiring farmer is a land sale rather than a trade sale, and the entrant is bidding against that. Who the marginal buyer actually is was not sourced; it is inferred from the price series.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Value per acre of farm land and buildings, Canada, 2025A $5,643 (Statistics Canada table 32-10-0047)
Ten-year change in farmland value against farm incomeA Value per acre $2,550 (2015) → $5,643 (2025), +121%; realized net farm income $7.02B → $8.34B, +19%. Nominal dollars, no inflation adjustment.
Canadian farm cash receipts and realized net income, 2025A Total cash receipts $102.16B; operating expenses after rebates $83.03B; realized net income $8.34B against $8.37B in 2024 (Statistics Canada table 32-10-0052)
Local Bounti, FY2025A Revenue $48.4M, net loss $94.4M, long-term debt $483.1M at 31 December 2025 (10-K, XBRL company facts)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$48M

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Local BountiNYSE: LOCLA $48M — FY2025 revenue, 10-K — Controlled-environment grower; net loss $94.4M in 2025 on $483.1M of long-term debt. The clearest sourced price of the capital-intensive route out of the commodity.
Village Farms InternationalNASDAQ: VFFB not disclosed — Greenhouse produce grower. Its 2025 revenue could not be cleanly attributed between continuing and discontinued operations in the XBRL company facts, so no figure is stated here.
Mastronardi Produce / Nature Fresh Farms / Pure FlavorUNVERIFIED not disclosed — The Leamington greenhouse cluster. Named from general knowledge; privately held, and nothing about them was sourced for this record.
The 20,967 employer crop farmsA not disclosed — 67% have one to four employees; Quebec 4,477, Saskatchewan 4,239, Ontario 4,004, Alberta 3,080 (Statistics Canada, December 2023). This is the competitive structure.
Non-farming buyers of farmlandA not disclosed — Not a firm and not sourced as a category. What is sourced is the price they set: see the ten-year series above.

Evidence

Evidence. The counts are Statistics Canada's business counts (December 2023). The land and income figures were read from Statistics Canada's own tables — 32-10-0047, value per acre of farm land and buildings, and 32-10-0052, net farm income — downloaded in full as CSV and read at the Canada and provincial rows, not taken from a summary. Both tables' notes were checked: 32-10-0052 carries definitional notes for 1926–1970 and corrections to 2021 only, so the 2015–2025 span used here does not cross a break. Both series are nominal dollars — no inflation adjustment was applied, so +121% and +19% are current-dollar changes and it is the gap between them, not either number alone, that carries the argument. Local Bounti's revenue, net loss and long-term debt are from its FY2025 10-K as filed (XBRL company facts, read as filed figures rather than reported by anyone else). What was not sourced: any price for a specific parcel; any small-farm operating margin; the split of farmland purchases between farming and non-farming buyers, so the claim that the marginal bidder is not a farmer is inference from the price series and not transaction data; and Village Farms' 2025 revenue, which could not be cleanly attributed between continuing and discontinued operations and is therefore left blank rather than guessed. Mastronardi, Nature Fresh and Pure Flavor are named from general knowledge and are UNVERIFIED. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
National Farmers Union (NFU)
nfu.ca

Direct-membership farm organisation since 1969; all farmers and farmworkers may join as voting members. Holds regional conventions and an annual national convention. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Organic Growers (COG)
cog.ca

National membership body for organic, regenerative and ecological farmers (farmer membership $60/yr) with regional chapters; 50+ years old. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Ecological Farmers Association of Ontario (EFAO)
efao.ca · 1,062 members (2024-12)

'In 2024 we had 1,062 members - mostly farmers', per its About page. Farmer-led since 1979; runs farmer-led research and the annual EFAO Conference (2026 edition has its own page).

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Young Agrarians
youngagrarians.org

Farmer-to-farmer network for new and young ecological farmers; runs the BC and Alberta land-matching programs, apprenticeships and business bootcamps. A charity with a network, not a dues body.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventOntarioA
Guelph Organic Conference
guelphorganicconf.ca

Annual organic and ecological farming conference and trade show in Guelph, run by Ontario Organic; 2026 program posted.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Small Farm Canada
smallfarmcanada.ca

National magazine for small-scale farmers, six issues a year, edited in Guelph and published by Farms.com Canada; sold on newsstands.

Checked 2026-09-22
SubredditInternationalA
r/farming
reddit.com

General farming subreddit; RSS feed showed posts dated 21-22 Sep 2026. Mostly US commodity farming, small-farm threads mixed in.

Checked 2026-09-22

Smaller BC-specific bodies were not checked; Young Agrarians runs the BC Land Matching Program and is the most active entry point for new small-scale growers there.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry

Operating businessScreenedfiled at 1111
Prairie Grain & Oilseed FarmStructure decides
binding constraint: capital intensity

Grain is the largest farm type in Canada — 10,584 employer establishments, 84% of them with one to four employees [A] — and it is a family-scale business in headcount only. The entry ticket is land, and the land market has stopped being priced by newcomers. Farm Credit Canada's 2025 report puts Saskatchewan cultivated land at $2,800 to $4,700 an acre by region, up 9.4% in 2025 after 13.1% and 15.7% in the two years before [A]. The 2021 census counted 34,128 Saskatchewan farms on 60.3 million acres [A] — about 1,770 acres each across all farm types, and a grain operation is larger than that average. Put the two together and the land under one ordinary farm is several million dollars before a combine, a sprayer or a bin is bought. The mechanism that matters is who the buyer of the next quarter-section is: FCC describes producers 'acquiring land previously rented from landlords' and making 'strategic, efficiency-focused' purchases [A]. That buyer is the neighbour, bidding with equity that three years of appreciation created on land he already owns, and spreading a machine line he already has over more acres. An entrant pays the same price with borrowed money and no existing line, then sells wheat and canola at a price set on an exchange. Renting solves the land cheque and not the machinery or the working capital — and rented land is what the FCC report says incumbents are buying out from under tenants. The small-scale and direct-market routes are screened separately in Small-Scale Crop Production; this record is the commodity farm, and it is cut on the capital stacked in front of a price-taker's margin.

NAICS 11115 vendors named11 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 1112
Field Vegetable & Potato GrowingOne thing must be true
binding constraint: distribution

The pre-screen guessed that the reachable version is protected culture sold direct. Both of those already have records — Greenhouse & Controlled-Environment Production and Small-Scale Crop Production — so this screen is the field operation that the code mostly counts, and the counts say what it is. Only a third of the 1,764 establishments have one to four employees; 22% have twenty or more [A]. Beside grain, where 84% sit in the smallest band, that is a different animal: a field-vegetable farm is a labour-heavy employer with a packing line, not a family with a seeder. The attraction is real. Canadian vegetable farm-gate value reached $1.8B in 2025, up 7.1% [A]. But read how: production rose 8.0% on an unchanged average price [A]. Growers grew more and were paid the same per kilogram, which is what a price taker looks like in a good year. The reason is the buyer. A perishable crop has days, not months, to find a home, and the homes are a handful of retail produce desks and, for potatoes, the fry and chip processors who contract acreage before planting. Potato growers seeded 397,122 acres in 2025, the most since 2007, and harvested 125.9 million hundredweight [A] — and FCC reports Prince Edward Island potato land at $6,700 to $8,000 an acre with good parcels 'rarely staying on the market for long' [A]. The scarce asset is the supply programme or processor contract, not the field, and it is held by growers who already fill trucks every week of the season. An entrant can grow the crop in year one. What it cannot do in year one is be the supplier a buyer drops an incumbent for.

NAICS 11126 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 1113
Orchard, Vineyard & Berry EstablishmentStructure decides
binding constraint: capital intensity

Fruit had the best headline in Canadian horticulture last year: farm-gate value up 16.8% to $1.6B in 2025 [A]. Read one line further and the attraction thins — prices rose 18.1% while production rose 0.1% [A]. The money came from scarcity, and scarcity in fruit means somebody's crop failed. British Columbia's sweet cherry harvest more than tripled (+319%) to a record 26 million kilograms in 2025 [A], which is another way of saying that the year before it barely existed; the growers' own packing and marketing co-operative, BC Tree Fruits, closed in 2024 and applied for creditor protection, and the Province redirected an estimated $4M of programme funding as bridge financing so members would be paid for harvests already delivered [B]. That is the cut. A planting is sunk for years before its first commercial crop, on Okanagan land FCC values at $40,500 an acre [A], and the revenue it eventually earns arrives in a sequence the grower does not control — a winter kill takes a whole year's income while the debt on the trees runs on. FCC's own account of the Okanagan in 2025 is that 'producers hesitant to re-plant exited operations amid ongoing challenges related to weather variability, labour shortages and storage constraints' [A]. Those are incumbents, with paid-for trees, declining to put the capital in again. The business counts agree it is not a smallholding: 16% of the 1,786 establishments employ twenty or more [A], because a harvest is a labour event. The loss of the co-operative also removed the shared packing and storage a small grower relied on, so an entrant now finances the pack-house relationship as well as the orchard. Berries and cider-scale plantings shorten the wait but not the mechanism.

NAICS 11135 vendors named10 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 1114
Greenhouse & Controlled-Environment ProductionStructure decides
binding constraint: capital intensity

Controlled-environment growing converts capital and energy into produce, and both inputs are priced against a wholesale price the grower does not set. The vertical-farming cohort that raised heavily on this thesis has largely failed on it — energy per kilogram was the number that mattered and it did not fall fast enough. Greenhouse vegetable production works at scale in specific gas-price geographies, which is a siting decision more than an operating one.

NAICS 11146 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 1119
Maple Syrup Production & Other CropsOne thing must be true
binding constraint: entry cost + regulatory drag

A residual code — hay, tobacco, hops, open-field cannabis, combination farms and maple — and most of it cannot be screened as one thing. The count points at the niche worth a look: Quebec holds 1,662 of the 4,464 establishments [A], and Quebec is maple. This is the most reachable door in crop farming, and the screen says so plainly. Canada produced 18.9 million gallons of syrup in 2025, the second-highest year on record, 90% of it in Quebec [A]; the producers' board, citing high demand and a strategic reserve low on stocks, has responded by issuing quota. At its January 2024 draw, Québec Maple Syrup Producers allocated 7 million new taps against 2,709 eligible applications for 9.4 million, admitting 739 new enterprises out of 814 start-up applications [A]. That is not a closed shop. The drag is in how the door opens. Bulk syrup in Quebec may only be sold through the board's agency, at its negotiated price, against quota — and quota is issued when the board decides to issue it: seven million taps in 2021, again in 2023 — the issue drawn in January 2024, partly by lottery, with 5% reserved for start-ups on public land — and again in June 2025, then no new quota at all for 2026 [A]. An entrant cannot choose its year, its size or its price. And the application presupposes the real asset: a stand of mature sugar maple, which takes decades to grow and which the 1,871 existing enterprises that also won expansion taps [A] are better placed to buy or lease than a newcomer. Outside Quebec there is no quota and no agency, and also a tenth of the industry. This screen does not find a clean kill for maple — it finds an entry gated by a regulator's timing and a forest. A full study would price a tapped bush per tap and test returns at the board's price. Hay, hops, tobacco and the rest were not examined.

NAICS 11195 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →