Field Vegetable & Potato Growing
The industry — Vegetable and melon farming
Base industry report for 1112 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 1,764
- Under 10 employeesA
- 56%
Of 1,764 Canadian establishments with employees, 56% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Get to the buyer. The product is reachable and the need is real; the channel is owned by someone else, and a route to it — a partner, a reseller, a trade relationship, a book of clients bought outright — is what has to be built.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 5
The binding constraint — distribution
The pre-screen guessed that the reachable version is protected culture sold direct. Both of those already have records — Greenhouse & Controlled-Environment Production and Small-Scale Crop Production — so this screen is the field operation that the code mostly counts, and the counts say what it is. Only a third of the 1,764 establishments have one to four employees; 22% have twenty or more [A]. Beside grain, where 84% sit in the smallest band, that is a different animal: a field-vegetable farm is a labour-heavy employer with a packing line, not a family with a seeder. The attraction is real. Canadian vegetable farm-gate value reached $1.8B in 2025, up 7.1% [A]. But read how: production rose 8.0% on an unchanged average price [A]. Growers grew more and were paid the same per kilogram, which is what a price taker looks like in a good year. The reason is the buyer. A perishable crop has days, not months, to find a home, and the homes are a handful of retail produce desks and, for potatoes, the fry and chip processors who contract acreage before planting. Potato growers seeded 397,122 acres in 2025, the most since 2007, and harvested 125.9 million hundredweight [A] — and FCC reports Prince Edward Island potato land at $6,700 to $8,000 an acre with good parcels 'rarely staying on the market for long' [A]. The scarce asset is the supply programme or processor contract, not the field, and it is held by growers who already fill trucks every week of the season. An entrant can grow the crop in year one. What it cannot do in year one is be the supplier a buyer drops an incumbent for.
Vegetables are perishable and heavy, so a grower competes inside a district — the Holland Marsh, the Montérégie muck soils, the PEI and Manitoba potato belts — for the contracts and shelf programmes of the buyers within trucking distance. Imports set the ceiling on price, but the contest for a buyer's programme is between neighbours.
Sectors joined: Agriculture · Cellular Agriculture
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 6 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lamb Weston HoldingsNYSE: LWA | $6.6B | — | Fiscal 2026 net sales, year to 31 May 2026 |
| McCain Foods LimitedA | not disclosed | — | Florenceville, New Brunswick; privately held. Named as a competitor in Lamb Weston's fiscal 2026 10-K — that naming is sourced; no revenue or contracted acreage is published. |
| Cavendish Farms CorporationA | not disclosed | — | J.D. Irving's potato processor, Prince Edward Island and Manitoba. Named as a competitor in Lamb Weston's fiscal 2026 10-K; privately held, nothing disclosed. |
| J.R. Simplot CompanyA | not disclosed | — | Named as a competitor in Lamb Weston's fiscal 2026 10-K; privately held. |
| Canadian grocery produce desks — Loblaw, Empire/Sobeys, Metro, Walmart Canada, CostcoC | not disclosed | — | The fresh-side buyers whose programmes decide which grower fills a truck each week. Their share of Canadian grocery was not sourced for this record. |
| The 22% of establishments with twenty or more employeesA | not disclosed | — | The incumbent field vegetable farm is a labour-heavy employer with a packing line already inside a buyer's programme — 383 of the 1,764 establishments employ twenty or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023). |
Evidence
Evidence. Establishment counts and size bands are Statistics Canada's business counts (December 2023). Farm-gate value, the volume-up-price-flat split and Ontario's figure are read from Statistics Canada's Daily release on 2025 fruit and vegetable production; potato figures are the current values in Statistics Canada table 32-10-0358-01, which revised Quebec, Prince Edward Island and Canada on 12 March 2026 — the first release of 5 December 2025 gave 395,857 acres, 125.8 million cwt and a 321.2 cwt yield, and those superseded numbers are not used; PEI land values from the 2025 FCC Farmland Values Report. What they do not establish: the argument turns on buyer concentration — retail produce desks and potato processors — and no figure for that concentration, for contracted acreage, or for a grower's margin was sourced. That part is UNVERIFIED analyst reasoning, and the cut factor is judgment. The 'volume up, price flat' reading is one year of data; a full study would check it over a decade and open a processor's grower-contract terms.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National grower body since 1922 (Canadian Horticultural Council until 2022); member associations cover field vegetables and potatoes. No grower count stated.
Provincial grower association since 1859; members are commodity boards and grower groups; publishes The Grower. No grower count stated.
Annual trade show and sessions at Niagara Falls Convention Centre; next February 17-18 2027; site says last year's trade show sold out.
Marketing board for growers of nine processing vegetables; negotiates contracts with processors, grower education. No grower count stated.
Provincial potato grower organisation; seed grower directory, annual Alberta Potato Conference & Tradeshow. No grower count stated.
Canadian potato industry magazine and site; market updates and agronomy, posting as of September 2026.
OFVGA's monthly horticulture newspaper; news posted as of September 2026.
US potato growers' federal advocacy body; runs Potato Expo (January 5-7 2027, Denver), the industry's main trade show. No grower count stated.
The PEI and Ontario potato boards are live but their sites state little; Fruit & Vegetable Magazine (fruitandveggie.com) timed out and was not listed.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.
No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.