Operating business8% entry signalMarket screen7 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Pet Food Manufacturing Plant

Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Animal food manufacturing

Base industry report for 3111 →
Establishments · CanadaA
434
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
37%
most common size: 20–49
Establishments · USA
1,869
Employment · USA
60,435
32 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$3.9B
$64k per employee

Of 434 Canadian establishments with employees, 37% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA37% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Mixed — neither a field of micro-operators nor one dominated by large establishments.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 311, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 7

The binding constraint — capital intensity

The pre-screen dismissed this as feed milling and plant capital. The better half of the code deserves a harder look. Freshpet, the listed pure play in refrigerated pet food, reported 2025 net sales of $1,102.0M, up 13.0%, at a 40.8% gross margin [A]. That is the attraction. The cut is what the growth cost. Freshpet's capital expenditure was $239.1M in 2023, $187.1M in 2024 and $148.2M in 2025 — $574M in three years — and 2025 was its first year of positive free cash flow, $12.4M [A]; it guides to roughly $150M of capital again in 2026 [A]. Over those three years it generated $390.8M from operations [A] and put half as much again into plant. A company with a billion dollars of sales and a differentiated product was still spending more on kitchens than the business threw off. Pet food is made on extrusion, retort or chilled lines in facilities inspected to a standard retailers and export markets will accept, and the product has to be on the shelf, in volume, every week. The Canadian shape says the same thing from the other side: the largest single size band among the 434 establishments is 20–49 employees (31%) [A] — these are plants, not workshops. The way around the plant is a co-packed treat or kibble brand, which is no longer manufacturing; it is the Consumer Packaged Goods Brand Operation already screened at 311, with that record's shelf-access problem intact. Livestock feed, the other half of the code, was not researched.

Market scalenational

Pet food ships nationally through grocery, pet-specialty chains and e-commerce, and listings are decided at head office. Livestock feed, the other industry in this group, is the opposite — a bulk product sold within a mill's haul radius of the farms it serves — and is not what this record sizes.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 434 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 135 in the 20–49 band, the largest; 159 with fewer than ten
US establishments, employment and payrollA 1,869 establishments, 60,435 employees, $3.88B payroll (US County Business Patterns, 2022)
Freshpet net sales, FY2025A $1,102.0M, up 13.0%; gross margin 40.8%; adjusted EBITDA $195.7M
Freshpet capital expenditure, 2023–2025A $239.1M, $187.1M and $148.2M — $574.4M over three years
Freshpet free cash flowA $12.4M in 2025, against –$32.8M in 2024 and –$163.2M in 2023
Freshpet net cash from operating activities, 2023–2025A $75.9M, $154.3M and $160.6M — $390.8M over three years
Freshpet 2026 guidanceA Net sales growth of 7% to 10%; capital expenditures of about $150M
Angel-backed companies8
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixON 4, BC 2, AB 2

Sectors joined: Food/Beverage · Food Safety · Food · Healthy Food · Food Tech · CPG Food

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Mars Petcare and Nestle Purina own the category and disclose nothing. The largest comparable that does disclose is Colgate-Palmolive's Hill's Pet Nutrition.
Scale
Hill's Pet Nutrition net sales US$4,613M in 2025, from US$4,483M, with segment operating profit of US$1,064M against US$965M — 23% of Colgate's company sales and a segment operating margin of about 23%.
Concentration
Not published. Neither Mars nor Nestle breaks pet food out to a figure, and no Canadian share series was found.
Others in the field
General Mills (Blue Buffalo), Post Holdings and J.M. Smucker in the mainstream; Freshpet at the fresh end, with US$1,102.0M of 2025 net sales bought with US$574M of plant in three years; the private-label and co-packing plants that will make a brand's kibble without it owning a kitchen; and in Canada, Champion Petfoods of Alberta — Orijen and Acana — which scaled a premium brand to more than 90 countries from a small town and is privately held.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Hill's grew net sales 4.9% in the fourth quarter of 2025 on organic growth of 1.5%, of which 3.0 points was pricing and 0.3 points volume — the volume including 1.8 points from an acquisition. Growth in this category is being bought, not won.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Colgate bought the Australian fresh pet food maker Prime100 during 2025; the deal added 1.8 points to Hill's reported fourth-quarter volume. That is the realistic outcome for a differentiated small pet food brand that works — a multinational buys it rather than competing with it — and it is an exit for a brand, not for a plant.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Hill's Pet Nutrition net sales, FY2025A US$4,613M, from US$4,483M in 2024 — 23% of Colgate-Palmolive's US$20,382M of company sales
Hill's Pet Nutrition segment operating profit, FY2025A US$1,064M, from US$965M in 2024
Hill's segment operating margin, FY2025B About 23% — derived from the two segment figures above, not quoted from the release
Prime100 acquisition effect on Hill's volumeA 1.8 percentage points of reported fourth-quarter 2025 volume (0.5 points for Colgate as a whole)
Freshpet net sales, FY2025A US$1,102.0M, up 13.0%, at a 40.8% gross margin
Freshpet capital expenditure, 2023-2025A US$574.4M over three years, against US$390.8M generated from operations
Canadian size bandsA 434 establishments; the largest band is 20-49 employees with 135, and 159 have fewer than ten (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$5.7B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 6 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Colgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition)NYSE: CLA $4.6B — Pet Nutrition segment net sales, FY2025, from the segment table in the company's fourth-quarter release
FreshpetNASDAQ: FRPTA $1.1B — FY2025 net sales, up 13.0%
Mars Petcare / Nestle PurinaC not disclosed — The two largest pet food businesses in the world. Mars is private; Nestle does not break Petcare out to a figure in its full-year release. Neither was researched further for this record.
General Mills (Blue Buffalo) / Post Holdings / J.M. SmuckerC not disclosed — The listed mainstream competition. Their pet segments were not opened for this record.
Champion Petfoods (Orijen, Acana)C not disclosed — Founded in a small Alberta town, now selling in more than 90 countries, per the company's own site. Privately held; no revenue published. The proof that a Canadian premium brand can scale, and that doing so is a branding outcome rather than a plant one.
Private-label and contract kibble plantsC not disclosed — The co-packers that will make a brand's product without the brand owning extrusion. Choosing them converts this proposition into the Consumer Packaged Goods Brand Operation screened at 311. Not researched for this record.

Evidence

Evidence. All Freshpet figures are read from its Q4/FY2025 results release as filed with the SEC (exhibit 99.1, 23 February 2026), including the free-cash-flow reconciliation table that gives capital expenditure for each of three years [A]. The business counts are Statistics Canada and US Census figures supplied with the work list [A]. What this does not establish: Freshpet is one company in the most capital-hungry format in the category (fresh, refrigerated, with its own fridges in stores); dry kibble and treats need less plant per dollar of sales, and no comparable filing was found for a small Canadian pet food maker — the Canadian makers are private. Livestock feed (311119), which is most of the Canadian establishment count, was not researched at all; treat it as unscreened. The cut factor is analyst judgment. Food-safety and product-content software sold to this industry is screened separately at 311. Added in the completion pass: Hill's Pet Nutrition net sales of US$4,613M (2024: US$4,483M), segment operating profit of US$1,064M (2024: US$965M), company net sales of US$20,382M, the fourth-quarter growth decomposition and the 1.8-point Prime100 volume effect were read in the segment tables of Colgate-Palmolive's fourth-quarter 2025 press release as filed on EDGAR (8-K of 30 January 2026, exhibit tables), not in the headline bullets [A]. The roughly 23% segment operating margin is derived from the two segment figures and is labelled as derived. Champion Petfoods' description is from its own website [A for the claim that the site says it; its ownership and revenue were not established]. Mars and Nestle publish no comparable figure — Nestle's full-year 2025 release does not break Petcare out — and that absence is recorded here rather than in the figures.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Pet Food Association of Canada
pfac.com

National voice of the Canadian pet food industry; its home page states 26 manufacturing members and 43 supplier members.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Pet Food Institute
petfoodinstitute.org

US pet food makers' association, active on labelling and the PURR Act; runs a member market tracker.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Animal Nutrition Association of Canada
anacan.org

Canadian feed manufacturers; runs the FeedAssure certification and the Animal Nutrition Conference of Canada.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
American Feed Industry Association
afia.org

US animal food industry association with a pet food manufacturer membership category and the Safe Feed/Safe Food certification.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventInternationalA
Petfood Forum
petfoodforumevents.com

Conference and exhibition dedicated to pet food; next 26-28 April 2027 in Kansas City, with Europe, Asia and Brasil editions.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationInternationalC
Petfood Industry
petfoodindustry.com

WATT Global Media trade title for pet food manufacturing. Blocked automated access (Cloudflare); its Petfood Forum site confirms the publisher's activity.

Checked 2026-09-22
↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

Vertical softwareScreenedfiled at 311
Digital Shelf & Product Content SoftwareStructure decides
binding constraint: entry cost
Incumbent Salsify and Syndigo

The product is a retailer integration map, and it takes years and a partner team to build. Salsify raised about $200M at a $2B valuation on the strength of syndicating content to more than 1,000 retailers for brands including P&G, Coca-Cola, Mars and Kraft Heinz; Syndigo holds the other half of the same network. A new entrant must rebuild those connections one retailer at a time while each retailer keeps changing its content requirements — the same moat the EDI record at 419 describes, in a different format.

NAICS 3114 vendors named3 sourced figuresOpen →
Vertical softwareScreenedfiled at 311
Food Safety & Traceability SoftwareExecution decides
binding constraint: distribution
Incumbent Trustwell (FoodLogiQ + Genesis) and TraceGains

FSMA 204 gives the category a dated regulatory trigger, which is the strongest demand signal in this batch — but the buyer is reached through GFSI certifying bodies and third-party auditors, not through search or self-serve. That channel is owned by the auditors and by the incumbents who sponsor them, and an entrant with no audit relationship has no route in. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor named on this record is private, or sits inside a parent that does not break the line out, so no revenue floor can be built and the market size is genuinely unknown rather than estimated.

NAICS 3114 vendors namedOpen →

Other records in this industry