Operating business19% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresStructure decidesentry cost

Consumer Packaged Goods Brand Operation

Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Food manufacturing

Base industry report for 311 →
Establishments · CanadaA
6,868
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
48%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
30,503
Employment · USA
1,652,378
54 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$89.1B
$54k per employee

Of 6,868 Canadian establishments with employees, 48% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDentry cost — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA48% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Concentrated — a new entrant competes against establishments with real scale.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 311, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 9

The binding constraint — entry cost

Shelf space is bought, not won. A new CPG brand pays slotting fees, funds trade promotions, carries the retailer's payment terms and absorbs returns before it learns whether the product sells, and co-manufacturing minimums put the first production run in the tens of thousands of units. The direct-to-consumer route that was supposed to bypass all of that now costs more in paid acquisition than the margin on a grocery-priced item supports. The product content software this industry buys is screened separately at the same code.

Market scalenationalunit: one SKU on one retailer's planogram

A brand lives or dies on national retail listings, which are decided at head office for the whole chain. That is why the unit is a SKU-listing rather than a region: you are either on the planogram nationally or you are not.

Handle — Salsify's retailer network, from the software record at this code. The digital-shelf record at 311 notes Salsify syndicating content to more than 1,000 retailers for brands including P&G and Coca-Cola. That number is a fair proxy for how many retail relationships a serious CPG brand is expected to maintain — and how much administration sits behind a listing.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 6,868 food manufacturers (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 1,840 have one to four employees, 64 have 500 or more; Ontario 2,412, Quebec 1,684, British Columbia 1,156
US establishments, employment and payrollA 30,503 establishments, 1,652,378 employees, US$89.1B payroll (County Business Patterns, 2022)
How concentrated the buyer isA Five chains — Loblaws, Sobeys, Metro, Costco, Walmart. Loblaws, Sobeys and Metro alone reported more than $100 billion of 2022 sales and run over 1,000 stores each (Competition Bureau retail grocery market study, June 2023)
Slotting fees, confirmed by the regulatorA "Large grocers are paid by suppliers to put their products on shelves" — the Bureau states the practice as fact; it publishes no price for it
Where the margin wentA The three largest grocers' profits rose from $2.4B in 2019 to $3.6B in 2022, a 50% increase, on food gross margins the Bureau found rose modestly but meaningfully over five years
Decision unitB A SKU accepted onto a chain's planogram, decided centrally
Entry costs before revenueUNVERIFIED Slotting fees, trade promotion funding, retailer payment terms and co-manufacturing minimums
Angel-backed companies8
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixON 4, BC 2, AB 2

Sectors joined: Food/Beverage · Food Safety · Food · Healthy Food · Food Tech · CPG Food

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Not a manufacturer — the buyer. Loblaws, Sobeys, Metro, Costco and Walmart decide what a Canadian food brand is allowed to sell.
Scale
"Today, we are down to five large chains that operate in Canada." Loblaws, Sobeys and Metro together reported more than $100 billion of sales in 2022, with over 1,000 stores each including franchised locations; Costco and Walmart add about 500 stores between them (Competition Bureau, Canada Needs More Grocery Competition — Retail Grocery Market Study Report, 27 June 2023).
Concentration
The Bureau states that most Canadians buy their groceries from one of five companies and that most sales happen in stores the five giants own. It publishes no single percentage, and the widely repeated share figures are not in the report — so none is quoted here.
Others in the field
On the shelf beside a new brand: the multinationals that hold the planogram (Nestle, PepsiCo, Kraft Heinz, General Mills, Mondelez), the Canadian scale manufacturers (Maple Leaf Foods, Saputo, Premium Brands Holdings, McCain), and the retailer's own control label — President's Choice, no name, Compliments, Irresistibles — which the Bureau found international grocers rate as high-quality products at good prices.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
The Bureau found the largest grocers' food gross margins rose by a modest but meaningful amount over the five years to 2022, and the three largest grocers' profits rose from $2.4B in 2019 to $3.6B in 2022 — a 50% increase in four years. Margin moved toward the buyer, not the supplier.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — It is the buyer that consolidated, and that is the whole problem: "grocery suppliers have limited options other than to deal with the largest grocery retailers to sell their products" (Competition Bureau, Canada Needs More Grocery Competition — Retail Grocery Market Study Report, 27 June 2023). On the supply side Premium Brands Holdings and Maple Leaf Foods are the Canadian acquirers of small food manufacturers, but neither was researched for this record.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Sales of the three largest Canadian grocers, 2022A More than $100 billion combined (Loblaws, Sobeys, Metro), each with over 1,000 stores including franchises
Number of large grocery chains in CanadaA Five — Loblaws, Sobeys, Metro, Costco, Walmart; Costco and Walmart operate about 500 stores between them
Slotting fees, as stated by the regulatorA "Large grocers are paid by suppliers to put their products on shelves. Independent stores generally aren't, and that can put them at a disadvantage."
Profits of the three largest grocersA $2.4B in 2019 to $3.6B in 2022 — a 50% increase in four years
Supplier bargaining positionA "grocery suppliers have limited options other than to deal with the largest grocery retailers to sell their products"
V

The field

Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.

Competitor set · 5 named · 0 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Loblaws, Sobeys (Empire), Metro, Costco, WalmartA not disclosed — The buyers, not rivals — but they are who a brand negotiates against, and who sells against it with control label. More than $100B of 2022 sales across the first three (Competition Bureau, 2023). Individual company filings were not opened for this record.
Retailer control label (President's Choice, no name, Compliments, Irresistibles)A not disclosed — The Bureau records international grocers describing Canadian private label as high-quality products at good prices. It is the price your SKU is benchmarked against, on a shelf the same retailer controls.
Nestle / PepsiCo / Kraft Heinz / General Mills / MondelezC not disclosed — The multinational brands that already hold the planogram and fund the trade promotion that defends it. Not researched for this record.
Maple Leaf Foods / Saputo / Premium Brands Holdings / McCainC not disclosed — The Canadian scale manufacturers; Premium Brands is also the most active domestic acquirer of small food businesses, which is the realistic exit. Not researched for this record.
The 1,840 Canadian food manufacturers with one to four employeesA not disclosed — Of 6,868 establishments; 64 have 500 or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023). Most of the industry is small, and most of it is not on a national planogram.

Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.

Evidence

Evidence. The buyer-side figures are read from the Competition Bureau's own report, Canada Needs More Grocery Competition (Retail Grocery Market Study, 27 June 2023), downloaded as a PDF and read in the document: the five chains, the three largest grocers' $100B+ of 2022 sales and 1,000-plus stores each, the profit rise from $2.4B (2019) to $3.6B (2022), the finding on gross margins, and the plain statement that "large grocers are paid by suppliers to put their products on shelves" [A]. Business counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) [A]. What this does not establish: the Bureau publishes no single market-share percentage, so the share figures commonly attributed to this study are not quoted here. It also publishes no price for a listing — the size of a slotting fee, the trade-promotion rate, the payment terms and the co-manufacturing minimums that carry this record's cut are UNVERIFIED, taken from general market knowledge and not from a supplier agreement or a filing. No CPG manufacturer's accounts were opened. The reachable small-batch and regional end, where a premium may cover the same costs, was not sized. The cut factor is analyst judgment. The digital-shelf software sold to this industry is screened separately at the same code.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Food and Beverage Canada (FBC-ABC)
fbc-abc.com

National association of Canadian food and beverage manufacturers; site carried a news release dated 15 September 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaC
Food, Health & Consumer Products of Canada (FHCP)
fhcp.ca

Blocked automated access (403/Cloudflare). Search results show it live with a member directory; secondary sources describe it as representing more than 180 CPG businesses.

Checked 2026-09-22
GroupNorth AmericaA
Startup CPG
startupcpg.com

Free Slack community for emerging food, beverage, beauty and pet brands; site describes direct access to 40k brands and experts, plus events and a podcast.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Specialty Food Association
specialtyfood.com

US association of specialty food makers, distributors and retailers, founded 1952; runs the Fancy Food Shows.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
SIAL Canada
sialcanada.com

Main Canadian food and beverage trade show; site shows the next edition at Enercare Centre, Toronto, 27-29 April 2027.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Grocery Business
grocerybusiness.ca

Canadian grocery trade magazine covering retailer and vendor news; site was taking 2027 Hall of Fame nominations when checked.

Checked 2026-09-22

Where a brand's fate is decided is retailer relationships, so the grocery trade press and the retail trade shows matter as much as the manufacturer associations.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

Vertical softwareScreenedsame industry
Digital Shelf & Product Content SoftwareStructure decides
binding constraint: entry cost
Incumbent Salsify and Syndigo

The product is a retailer integration map, and it takes years and a partner team to build. Salsify raised about $200M at a $2B valuation on the strength of syndicating content to more than 1,000 retailers for brands including P&G, Coca-Cola, Mars and Kraft Heinz; Syndigo holds the other half of the same network. A new entrant must rebuild those connections one retailer at a time while each retailer keeps changing its content requirements — the same moat the EDI record at 419 describes, in a different format.

NAICS 3114 vendors named3 sourced figuresOpen →
Vertical softwareScreenedsame industry
Food Safety & Traceability SoftwareExecution decides
binding constraint: distribution
Incumbent Trustwell (FoodLogiQ + Genesis) and TraceGains

FSMA 204 gives the category a dated regulatory trigger, which is the strongest demand signal in this batch — but the buyer is reached through GFSI certifying bodies and third-party auditors, not through search or self-serve. That channel is owned by the auditors and by the incumbents who sponsor them, and an entrant with no audit relationship has no route in. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor named on this record is private, or sits inside a parent that does not break the line out, so no revenue floor can be built and the market size is genuinely unknown rather than estimated.

NAICS 3114 vendors namedOpen →

Other records in this industry

Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3111
Pet Food Manufacturing PlantStructure decides
binding constraint: capital intensity

The pre-screen dismissed this as feed milling and plant capital. The better half of the code deserves a harder look. Freshpet, the listed pure play in refrigerated pet food, reported 2025 net sales of $1,102.0M, up 13.0%, at a 40.8% gross margin [A]. That is the attraction. The cut is what the growth cost. Freshpet's capital expenditure was $239.1M in 2023, $187.1M in 2024 and $148.2M in 2025 — $574M in three years — and 2025 was its first year of positive free cash flow, $12.4M [A]; it guides to roughly $150M of capital again in 2026 [A]. Over those three years it generated $390.8M from operations [A] and put half as much again into plant. A company with a billion dollars of sales and a differentiated product was still spending more on kitchens than the business threw off. Pet food is made on extrusion, retort or chilled lines in facilities inspected to a standard retailers and export markets will accept, and the product has to be on the shelf, in volume, every week. The Canadian shape says the same thing from the other side: the largest single size band among the 434 establishments is 20–49 employees (31%) [A] — these are plants, not workshops. The way around the plant is a co-packed treat or kibble brand, which is no longer manufacturing; it is the Consumer Packaged Goods Brand Operation already screened at 311, with that record's shelf-access problem intact. Livestock feed, the other half of the code, was not researched.

NAICS 31116 vendors named14 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3112
Oilseed Crushing & Flour Milling PlantStructure decides
binding constraint: capital intensity

This is a growing industry, which is not what the pre-screen's "commodity margins" suggests. Statistics Canada reports that Canadian processors crushed a record 11.6 million tonnes of canola in 2025, up 1.6% and the third consecutive annual record, and that domestic crushers took 50.5% of all canola disposition in the 2024/25 crop year against 41.5% exported as seed [A]. More of the crop is now processed where it is grown than leaves the country as seed. The cut is the size of the ticket to take part. When Cargill announced its Regina crush plant it was reported as a $350M facility with one million tonnes of annual capacity [B] — at least $350 of plant for every tonne of yearly throughput, before a tonne of seed is bought. And the plant, once built, sets no price: seed is bought against a futures market, oil and meal are sold against theirs, and the crusher earns the spread the board leaves. That rewards the lowest-cost, best-located, largest plant with its own rail and origination, which is why the builders are global grain houses. Flour milling, wet corn milling and breakfast cereal share the shape: US establishments in this group average 63 employees [A]. The 84 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employees [A] are stone mills and cold-press oil makers. What they sell is a premium bag of flour or bottle of oil, and that is a packaged-goods brand — screened at 311 — that happens to own a mill.

NAICS 31126 vendors named9 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3113
Craft Chocolate & Confectionery MakerOne thing must be true
binding constraint: willingness to pay

The pre-screen saw a craft-scale entry with the shape of the bakery record at 3118, and the counts support that there is one: 169 of the 330 Canadian establishments have fewer than ten employees [A]. The sugar end of the code is simply closed — Rogers Sugar is spending $280–300M to add 100,000 tonnes of refining capacity to a business that sold 781,454 tonnes in fiscal 2025 [A], and nobody enters refining beside that. Chocolate and candy are where an entrant can start, and the test is what making them earns. Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory is a long-established listed brand with its own factory and a captive franchise network to sell through. In fiscal 2026 it reported total revenue of $27.5M, down from $29.6M, and product and retail gross profit of $0.7M — after $0.1M the year before — with a net loss from continuing operations of $4.6M [A]. With the brand, the plant and the channel already in hand, manufacturing confectionery earned it almost nothing. The mechanism differs from bread. Confectionery is bought a few times a year as a gift, against a shelf price set by multinational brands that buy cocoa and sugar at scale, while the small maker buys the same world-priced inputs in pallets. The premium a customer will pay is real but seasonal and capped, and it is paid at the counter — so what works is a shop with a kitchen behind it, which is specialty food retail rather than manufacturing, and is won or lost on the lease.

NAICS 31135 vendors named11 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3114
Frozen & Preserved Food ProcessingStructure decides
binding constraint: growth quality

The pre-screen pointed at small-batch preserving reached through co-packers, and the small end exists: 163 of 376 Canadian establishments have fewer than ten employees [A]. But the group is unusually top-heavy — 60 establishments, 16%, employ a hundred or more [A], and the average US plant has 83 staff [A] — because freezing and canning are harvest-timed, high-throughput operations contracted to growers a season ahead. The question is whether the category rewards anyone for being in it, and the cleanest recent answer is Green Giant. B&G Foods reports a Frozen & Vegetables segment that is primarily that brand. In fiscal 2025 the segment's net sales fell 9.4% to $358.6M and its adjusted EBITDA was –$0.3M, down from +$9.5M [A], on lower volumes, more trade promotion and higher raw-material cost. B&G took $34.8M of impairments on Green Giant in the fourth quarter alone, sold Le Sueur, moved Green Giant Canada to assets held for sale, and closed the sale of the Green Giant US frozen line on 2 March 2026 [A]. One of the best-known names in the freezer aisle earned nothing on a third of a billion dollars of sales, and its owner's response was to leave. When the category is shrinking under private label, a new processor is not competing for growth. It is competing to be the lowest-cost supplier of a retailer's own brand, against plants that are already depreciated. The small-batch jam, pickle or sauce maker sits outside that fight, but it is a brand selling through shelf and market stall, and is screened as Consumer Packaged Goods Brand Operation at 311.

NAICS 31145 vendors named11 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3115
Dairy Processing PlantStructure decides
binding constraint: entry cost + regulatory drag

Dairy processing in Canada is a good business to already be in. Saputo's Canada sector reported fiscal 2026 revenues of $5.423B, up 5.0% on higher volumes, with adjusted EBITDA of $697M — a 12.9% margin [A]. The same company's consolidated margin across all its sectors, most of them outside supply management, was 9.5% [A]: its regulated home market is where it earns the most. That is how the system is built. Under supply management a processor does not negotiate for milk. It buys from a provincial marketing board at an administered price, by end-use class, in a volume the board allocates, and imports that would undercut the result are held out by tariff-rate quotas. Everyone pays the same for the input and no one can be undersold from abroad, so margin goes to whoever has the plant scale, the allocation history and the retail listings. For an entrant that stability is the wall. A new plant needs a licence, an inspected facility and a milk allocation before it sells a litre, and the volume available to a newcomer is what the board's new-entrant or artisan programme releases, not what the business plan calls for. The small end is real — 153 of 434 establishments have fewer than ten employees, and Quebec alone has 150 plants [A], most of them fromageries — but those are farm-linked cheesemakers selling a regional premium, often processing their own quota milk. Reaching that position means entering dairy farming, where the quota is the capital. The pre-screen said supply-managed and plant-heavy; the first half is the one that binds.

NAICS 31156 vendors named9 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3116
Small-Scale Meat ProcessingStructure decides
binding constraint: entry cost + regulatory drag

There is a real and repeatedly documented shortage of provincially inspected slaughter capacity, particularly in British Columbia, and that shortage persists precisely because the barrier is high: inspected facility construction, effluent handling, HACCP plans and inspector availability all precede revenue. The demand signal is strong and the capital and compliance ramp is what keeps clearing the field.

NAICS 31166 vendors named9 sourced figuresOpen →

More are listed on the base industry report.