Oilseed Crushing & Flour Milling Plant
The industry — Grain and oilseed milling
Base industry report for 3112 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 197
- Under 10 employeesA
- 43%
- Establishments · USA
- 944
- Employment · USA
- 59,310
- Payroll · USA
- $4.3B
Of 197 Canadian establishments with employees, 43% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 5
The binding constraint — capital intensity
This is a growing industry, which is not what the pre-screen's "commodity margins" suggests. Statistics Canada reports that Canadian processors crushed a record 11.6 million tonnes of canola in 2025, up 1.6% and the third consecutive annual record, and that domestic crushers took 50.5% of all canola disposition in the 2024/25 crop year against 41.5% exported as seed [A]. More of the crop is now processed where it is grown than leaves the country as seed. The cut is the size of the ticket to take part. When Cargill announced its Regina crush plant it was reported as a $350M facility with one million tonnes of annual capacity [B] — at least $350 of plant for every tonne of yearly throughput, before a tonne of seed is bought. And the plant, once built, sets no price: seed is bought against a futures market, oil and meal are sold against theirs, and the crusher earns the spread the board leaves. That rewards the lowest-cost, best-located, largest plant with its own rail and origination, which is why the builders are global grain houses. Flour milling, wet corn milling and breakfast cereal share the shape: US establishments in this group average 63 employees [A]. The 84 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employees [A] are stone mills and cold-press oil makers. What they sell is a premium bag of flour or bottle of oil, and that is a packaged-goods brand — screened at 311 — that happens to own a mill.
Canola oil and meal, flour, malt and starch are traded commodities priced off futures markets and shipped by rail and vessel; a Prairie crusher's output competes with soy oil in the US and palm oil globally. Plant location is decided by seed origination and rail access, not by a local customer base.
Sectors joined: Food/Beverage · Food Safety · Food · Healthy Food · Food Tech · CPG Food
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.
Competitor set · 6 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| CargillB | not disclosed | — | Private; no Canadian crush segment disclosed. Its Regina plant was announced at $350M for one million tonnes a year, which is the only plant-cost figure on this record |
| Richardson InternationalC | not disclosed | — | Private, Winnipeg; family-owned, publishes no results |
| BungeNYSE: BGC | not disclosed | — | Listed, but Canadian canola crush is not separately disclosed — not researched for this record |
| Louis Dreyfus Company / ADMC | not disclosed | — | Global houses with Prairie crush capacity; no Canadian segment disclosed — not researched for this record |
| Ardent Mills / P&H Milling GroupC | not disclosed | — | Flour milling. Ardent Mills is a Cargill/Conagra/CHS joint venture; P&H is private. Neither publishes Canadian milling results |
| The 84 sub-ten-employee mills and cold-press oil makersA | not disclosed | — | Statistics Canada counts them, nothing more. They compete on a branded bag or bottle, not on crush economics — which is the 311 packaged-goods record, not this one |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Evidence
Evidence. The crush volumes and disposition shares are read from Statistics Canada's Daily release of 13 March 2026, "Crushing statistics of major oilseeds, Canada and United States, 2025" [A]. The Cargill plant cost and capacity are from CBC's 2021 report of the announcement [B]; Cargill's own 2026 opening release could not be opened (the site refused the request), and the final build cost was not confirmed — trade headlines at opening said "$350M-plus", so treat the figure as a floor. The business counts are Statistics Canada and US Census figures supplied with the work list [A]. Not sourced: any crusher's or miller's margin. The large operators are private or report this activity inside much larger segments, so the claim that a crusher earns only the board spread is analyst judgment about industry structure, not a read figure. Flour milling, malt, wet corn milling and breakfast cereal were not researched individually. The cut factor is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Winnipeg-based; publishes the weekly Canadian crush and oil/meal production figures, industry trading rules and a plant location map.
Value-chain body spanning growers, crushers and exporters; has a dedicated oilseed processing industry section.
Ottawa-based flour millers' association; runs an annual conference and AGM and a joint conference with the US millers.
Wheat, corn and oat millers; keeps a member and associate directory and works on grain research and transportation policy.
Publishes the NOPA monthly crush report that sets the market's benchmark, plus trading rules and member plant locations.
Where mill operators train; resident milling courses, a correspondence course in flour milling and a Western Canadian district. iaom.info redirects here.
world-grain.com, the main milling trade title, returns a Cloudflare challenge from this network. AOCS (aocs.org) is a live alternative for the oils and fats technical side.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.
The product is a retailer integration map, and it takes years and a partner team to build. Salsify raised about $200M at a $2B valuation on the strength of syndicating content to more than 1,000 retailers for brands including P&G, Coca-Cola, Mars and Kraft Heinz; Syndigo holds the other half of the same network. A new entrant must rebuild those connections one retailer at a time while each retailer keeps changing its content requirements — the same moat the EDI record at 419 describes, in a different format.
FSMA 204 gives the category a dated regulatory trigger, which is the strongest demand signal in this batch — but the buyer is reached through GFSI certifying bodies and third-party auditors, not through search or self-serve. That channel is owned by the auditors and by the incumbents who sponsor them, and an entrant with no audit relationship has no route in. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor named on this record is private, or sits inside a parent that does not break the line out, so no revenue floor can be built and the market size is genuinely unknown rather than estimated.