Operating business14% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresStructure decidesentry cost + regulatory drag

Small-Scale Meat Processing

Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Meat product manufacturing

Base industry report for 3116 →
Establishments · CanadaA
695
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
37%
most common size: 1–4

Of 695 Canadian establishments with employees, 37% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDentry cost + regulatory drag — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA37% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Concentrated — a new entrant competes against establishments with real scale.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 311, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 6

The binding constraint — entry cost + regulatory drag

There is a real and repeatedly documented shortage of provincially inspected slaughter capacity, particularly in British Columbia, and that shortage persists precisely because the barrier is high: inspected facility construction, effluent handling, HACCP plans and inspector availability all precede revenue. The demand signal is strong and the capital and compliance ramp is what keeps clearing the field.

Market scalelocalunit: one inspected facility and its licensing jurisdiction

Provincially inspected meat may generally only be sold within that province, so the market boundary is a regulatory line rather than an economic one. Sized by inspected throughput inside one province.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 695 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 255 with fewer than ten employees; 138 with a hundred or more; Ontario 251, Quebec 157
Boundary mechanismB Provincial inspection restricts sale to within the province; federal registration is required to cross it
National market sizeUNVERIFIED Not applicable to a provincially inspected plant — it may only sell inside the province that licenses it
Premium Brands revenue and adjusted EBITDA, 2025A Record revenue of $7.5B, up 15.6%; record adjusted EBITDA of $672.2M, up 13.2%; 2026 guidance $9.25–9.55B
Premium Brands growth bought in 2025A $298.5M of Specialty Foods revenue growth came from acquisitions; Stampede Culinary Partners closed 2 January 2026 as its largest acquisition ever
Maple Leaf Foods sales and margin, 2025A Sales $3,913M, up 7.7%; adjusted EBITDA $476M, a 12.2% margin, up from 10.8%; pork spun off into Canada Packers on 1 October 2025
Angel-backed companies8
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixON 4, BC 2, AB 2

Sectors joined: Food/Beverage · Food Safety · Food · Healthy Food · Food Tech · CPG Food

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Premium Brands Holdings (TSX: PBH, Vancouver) — the listed consolidator that buys specialty protein businesses, and therefore the firm that sets what one is worth
Scale
Record 2025 revenue of $7.5B, up 15.6%, and record adjusted EBITDA of $672.2M, up 13.2%. Acquisitions added $298.5M of Specialty Foods revenue growth in 2025, and on 2 January 2026 it closed Stampede Culinary Partners, which it called the largest acquisition in its history. Its 2026 guidance is $9.25–9.55B of sales.
Concentration
Not published. No Canadian share series for meat processing was sourced. The counts give the shape: 138 of 695 establishments employ a hundred or more, while 255 have fewer than ten.
Others in the field
Maple Leaf Foods (TSX: MFI) in prepared meats and poultry; Canada Packers (TSX: CPKR), the pork business Maple Leaf spun off on 1 October 2025; Olymel, owned by the Sollio co-operative; and Cargill and JBS, the multinationals that run Canada's large beef plants. Against an entrant's own licence area, though, the competition is the other inspected abattoirs and cut-and-wrap shops inside the same province — 255 of the establishments in this code have fewer than ten employees.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. The regulatory tie is the one that binds: a provincially inspected plant may sell only inside its province, so its customers cannot follow it across a border and it cannot follow them.
Price movement
Not assessed as a processing fee. Premium Brands' 2025 release reports record-high beef prices working through its selling prices, and Maple Leaf's adjusted EBITDA margin rose from 10.8% to 12.2% — but neither discloses a custom-kill or cut-and-wrap rate.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Yes, and it is the one genuinely good piece of news on this record. Premium Brands buys entrepreneur-run specialty protein businesses and paid for $298.5M of acquired growth in 2025 alone, so a small processor that reaches real scale has a named, listed buyer. Reaching that scale is what the inspection and capital ramp prevents.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Premium Brands revenue, 2025A Record $7.5B, up 15.6%, or $1.0B
Premium Brands adjusted EBITDA, 2025A Record $672.2M, up 13.2%
Premium Brands growth from acquisitions, Specialty Foods, 2025A $298.5M of the segment's revenue growth came from business acquisitions; organic volume growth was 8.6%
Maple Leaf Foods sales and margin, 2025A Sales $3,913M, up 7.7%; adjusted EBITDA $476M at a 12.2% margin, from 10.8%
Canadian establishments and their sizeA 695, of which 255 have fewer than ten employees and 138 have a hundred or more
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$11.4B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 6 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Premium Brands HoldingsTSX: PBHA $7.5B — 2025 revenue, Canadian dollars
Maple Leaf FoodsTSX: MFIA $3.9B — 2025 sales from continuing operations, after the pork spin-off
Canada PackersTSX: CPKRA not disclosed — The pork business spun out of Maple Leaf on 1 October 2025; its own results were not opened for this record
Cargill / JBSC not disclosed — The multinationals behind Canada's large beef plants. Neither discloses Canadian results, and their scale is a reason an entrant stays off commodity slaughter rather than a number on this record
Olymel (Sollio)C not disclosed — Co-operative-owned Quebec pork and poultry processor; no separate results published
The 255 sub-ten-employee plantsA not disclosed — Abattoirs, butchers and cut-and-wrap shops — the actual competitive set inside one licence area. Counted by Statistics Canada; nothing else about them is published

Evidence

Evidence. Premium Brands' figures are read from its fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 press release of 19 March 2026 (PDF on its own investor site), including the segment discussion that attributes $298.5M of Specialty Foods growth to acquisitions [A]. Maple Leaf's are read from its Q4 and full-year 2025 release of 5 March 2026 on mapleleaffoods.com, which also records the 1 October 2025 spin-off of the pork business into Canada Packers [A]. Both are Canadian dollars. The business counts are Statistics Canada figures supplied with the work list [A]; US County Business Patterns publishes no figure for this group, so there is no US comparison here. What this does not establish: neither company is a small provincially inspected plant, and no processing fee, custom-kill rate or small-plant margin was found — none is published. The claim that provincially inspected slaughter capacity is short, particularly in British Columbia, is drawn from general knowledge of that debate and was not re-verified against a current provincial capacity study for this record; treat it as UNVERIFIED. The description of what precedes revenue — inspected construction, effluent handling, HACCP and inspector availability — is the same: mechanism, not a costed estimate. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Meat Council
meatcouncil.ca

Home page states over 160 members, mostly federally registered packers and processors. cmc-cvc.com now redirects here.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Meat & Poultry Ontario
meatpoultryon.ca

Provincial body for butchers and independent processors (formerly Ontario Independent Meat Processors); runs the Meat Industry Expo and BlockTalk.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaC
American Association of Meat Processors
aamp.com

Body for small and very small processors; blocked automated access, search confirms the 87th American Convention of Meat Processors in July 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Meat Institute
meatinstitute.org

Formerly the North American Meat Institute; the large-packer association, with food safety and regulatory resources.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaA
Meatingplace
meatingplace.com

Daily news site and magazine for meat and poultry processing, with member forums and a podcast.

Checked 2026-09-22

bcabattoirs.org is now a parked domain and was dropped; no live national association specific to provincially inspected abattoirs was found, so the provincial bodies are the place operators actually talk.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

Vertical softwareScreenedfiled at 311
Digital Shelf & Product Content SoftwareStructure decides
binding constraint: entry cost
Incumbent Salsify and Syndigo

The product is a retailer integration map, and it takes years and a partner team to build. Salsify raised about $200M at a $2B valuation on the strength of syndicating content to more than 1,000 retailers for brands including P&G, Coca-Cola, Mars and Kraft Heinz; Syndigo holds the other half of the same network. A new entrant must rebuild those connections one retailer at a time while each retailer keeps changing its content requirements — the same moat the EDI record at 419 describes, in a different format.

NAICS 3114 vendors named3 sourced figuresOpen →
Vertical softwareScreenedfiled at 311
Food Safety & Traceability SoftwareExecution decides
binding constraint: distribution
Incumbent Trustwell (FoodLogiQ + Genesis) and TraceGains

FSMA 204 gives the category a dated regulatory trigger, which is the strongest demand signal in this batch — but the buyer is reached through GFSI certifying bodies and third-party auditors, not through search or self-serve. That channel is owned by the auditors and by the incumbents who sponsor them, and an entrant with no audit relationship has no route in. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor named on this record is private, or sits inside a parent that does not break the line out, so no revenue floor can be built and the market size is genuinely unknown rather than estimated.

NAICS 3114 vendors namedOpen →

Other records in this industry