Operating business44% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresOne thing must be truewillingness to pay

Craft Bakery Operation

Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Bakeries and tortilla manufacturing

Base industry report for 3118 →
Establishments · CanadaA
2,313
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
51%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
13,210
Employment · USA
304,732
23 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$13.7B
$45k per employee

Of 2,313 Canadian establishments with employees, 51% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Prove the value in money the buyer already counts. The need is real; what is unproven is that this buyer moves budget for it. That is a priced test with real customers, not a product problem.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDwillingness to pay — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA51% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Mixed — neither a field of micro-operators nor one dominated by large establishments.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 311, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 5

The binding constraint — willingness to pay

Retail price resistance on a staple sets the ceiling and ingredient and labour costs set the floor, and the gap has narrowed every year. Wholesale volume looks like the answer and brings a grocery buyer who dictates price and delivery windows. The successful version is a café with an oven, which is a different business with hospitality's cost structure.

Market scalelocalunit: one bakery and its delivery radius

Fresh product cannot travel far, so the market ends where the morning delivery does. Wholesale extends the radius and hands price-setting to the grocery buyer. Sized by the radius.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 2,313 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 1,171 with fewer than ten employees; only 50 with 200 or more; Ontario 973, Quebec 477, British Columbia 398
US establishments, employment and payrollA 13,210 establishments, 304,732 employees, $13.67B payroll (US County Business Patterns, 2022) — about 23 employees per establishment
Flowers Foods, fiscal 2025 (53 weeks to 3 January 2026)A Net sales $5.256B, up 3.0%, while volume fell 2.0%; Branded Retail net sales $3.463B, up 6.2%
Flowers Foods earnings, fiscal 2025A Net income $83.8M — 1.6% of sales — after a $136.0M non-cash intangible impairment; adjusted EBITDA $535.2M, 10.2% of net sales
COBS Bread franchise termsC About 195 Canadian bakeries; $25K franchise fee, reduced to $0 for new builds; $400K–$1M+ total investment (Canadian Franchise Association listing, franchisor-supplied)
Average payroll per employee in US bakeriesB About $44,900 a year — $13.67B of payroll over 304,732 employees, arithmetic on two County Business Patterns figures
National addressable figureUNVERIFIED Not stated — this market is a set of unconnected local ones
Angel-backed companies8
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixON 4, BC 2, AB 2

Sectors joined: Food/Beverage · Food Safety · Food · Healthy Food · Food Tech · CPG Food

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
The plant bakers and the supermarket's own oven — Grupo Bimbo's Canada Bread and FGF Brands (private, Toronto) on the shelf, the in-store bakeries at Loblaw, Sobeys, Metro and Costco at the counter
Scale
None of them publishes a Canadian bakery figure. The disclosing comparable is Flowers Foods, the second-largest US baker: fiscal 2025 net sales of $5.256B, up 3.0%, on volume that fell 2.0% — growth bought with price and an acquisition — with net income of $83.8M, 1.6% of sales, after a $136.0M non-cash impairment.
Concentration
Not published. What the counts show is how small the field is per site: 1,171 of the 2,313 Canadian establishments have fewer than ten employees, and the average US bakery establishment has about 23.
Others in the field
COBS Bread, the franchise an independent joins to survive — about 195 Canadian bakeries, a $25K franchise fee that is waived on a new build, and a $400K–$1M+ total investment. Beyond it, the other bakeries inside the same delivery radius, and the grocery in-store bakery that sells a loaf as a footfall item rather than a margin one.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. The franchise agreement is the lock-in that is on offer: the banner brings the brand and the recipe book and takes a continuing royalty and control of the format.
Price movement
Flowers Foods grew sales 3.0% while volume fell 2.0% in fiscal 2025, and its Branded Retail net sales rose 6.2% to $3.463B. Price carried the category and the loaf count went backwards — which is the shape of the price ceiling this record cuts on.
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — No consolidator was found buying independent Canadian bakeries. Plant baking consolidated long ago into Bimbo and a few private groups; at retail scale the growth vehicle is the franchise system, which recruits owner-operators rather than acquiring them. An independent owner should not assume a trade buyer exists.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Flowers Foods net sales and volume, fiscal 2025A Net sales $5.256B, up 3.0%; volume down 2.0% (53 weeks to 3 January 2026)
Flowers Foods net income, fiscal 2025A $83.8M, 1.6% of sales, after a $136.0M non-cash intangible impairment
Flowers Foods adjusted EBITDA, fiscal 2025A $535.2M, 10.2% of net sales
Flowers Foods Branded Retail net sales, fiscal 2025A $3.463B, up 6.2%
COBS Bread franchise termsC About 195 Canadian bakeries; $25K franchise fee, reduced to $0 for new-build locations; $400K–$1M+ total investment (Canadian Franchise Association listing)
Canadian establishments and their sizeA 2,313, of which 1,171 have fewer than ten employees; only 50 have 200 or more
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$5.3B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 6 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Flowers FoodsNYSE: FLOA $5.3B — Fiscal 2025 net sales, US dollars — the disclosing read on what baking earns at scale
Grupo Bimbo (Canada Bread)BMV: BIMBOC not disclosed — Owns Canada Bread; Canadian bakery results are not separately disclosed — not researched for this record
FGF BrandsC not disclosed — Private, Toronto; large Canadian commercial baker supplying grocery and foodservice. Publishes nothing
COBS BreadC not disclosed — Franchise system, about 195 Canadian bakeries. Unit economics are not published; the fee and investment range above come from a Canadian Franchise Association listing, which is franchisor-supplied
Grocery in-store bakeriesUNVERIFIED not disclosed — Loblaw, Sobeys, Metro and Costco bake on site and price bread as traffic. No separate revenue is disclosed by any of them for in-store bakery
The 1,171 sub-ten-employee bakeriesA not disclosed — The field an entrant joins, and the only one inside its own delivery radius that matters. Counted by Statistics Canada; nothing else is published

Evidence

Evidence. Flowers Foods' figures are read from its fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 results release on its investor site (fiscal year of 53 weeks ended 3 January 2026, reported February 2026) [A]; they are US dollars, and the volume decline, the impairment and the Branded Retail line are quoted from that release rather than from any summary of it. The business counts are Statistics Canada and US County Business Patterns figures supplied with the work list [A]; the payroll-per-employee figure is this record's own arithmetic on two of them [B]. The COBS Bread franchise terms come from a Canadian Franchise Association listing, which is franchisor-supplied and is tiered C; the franchisor's own site publishes no cost figures and no Franchise Disclosure Document was opened. What this does not establish: Flowers is a US plant baker selling packaged bread through grocery, not a Canadian craft bakery, so its volume decline shows the category's price ceiling rather than measuring one shop's margin. No Canadian bakery — independent, franchised or in-store — publishes revenue, wastage or basket data, and none was found. The claims that wholesale hands price-setting to the grocery buyer and that the workable version is a café with an oven are analyst judgment about the mechanism, UNVERIFIED against any operator. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Baking Association of Canada (BAC)
baking.ca

National association for Canadian bakers with BC, Ontario, Atlantic, Alberta/Prairie and Quebec chapters; runs a bakery-owner course and co-presents Bakery Showcase.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
Bakery Showcase Canada
bakeryshowcasecanada.ca

BAC and Bakers Journal trade show alternating Toronto/Vancouver; next 25-26 April 2027, Vancouver; hosts the Bakery Cup of Canada.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Bakers Journal
bakersjournal.com

Annex Business Media trade magazine and e-newsletter for the Canadian baking industry; articles dated September 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Retail Bakers of America (RBA)
retailbakersofamerica.org

US membership body for retail bakers; certification, member-only RBA Connect community, National Bakery Day.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Bread Bakers Guild of America (BBGA)
bbga.org

Guild for artisan bread and pastry bakers; classes, Bakery Leadership Circle and an active job board (posts dated September 2026). BAC members get a free first year.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Bake Magazine
bakemag.com

Sosland trade magazine for retail and artisan bakeries; free subscription; daily news dated September 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
IBIE - International Baking Industry Exposition
bakingexpo.com

Triennial baking trade show in Las Vegas with a retail and artisan bakers track; next edition 9-13 September 2028.

Checked 2026-09-22

No verified craft-bakery forum or subreddit: The Fresh Loaf describes itself as a community of amateur bakers, and Reddit could not be reached.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

Vertical softwareScreenedfiled at 311
Digital Shelf & Product Content SoftwareStructure decides
binding constraint: entry cost
Incumbent Salsify and Syndigo

The product is a retailer integration map, and it takes years and a partner team to build. Salsify raised about $200M at a $2B valuation on the strength of syndicating content to more than 1,000 retailers for brands including P&G, Coca-Cola, Mars and Kraft Heinz; Syndigo holds the other half of the same network. A new entrant must rebuild those connections one retailer at a time while each retailer keeps changing its content requirements — the same moat the EDI record at 419 describes, in a different format.

NAICS 3114 vendors named3 sourced figuresOpen →
Vertical softwareScreenedfiled at 311
Food Safety & Traceability SoftwareExecution decides
binding constraint: distribution
Incumbent Trustwell (FoodLogiQ + Genesis) and TraceGains

FSMA 204 gives the category a dated regulatory trigger, which is the strongest demand signal in this batch — but the buyer is reached through GFSI certifying bodies and third-party auditors, not through search or self-serve. That channel is owned by the auditors and by the incumbents who sponsor them, and an entrant with no audit relationship has no route in. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor named on this record is private, or sits inside a parent that does not break the line out, so no revenue floor can be built and the market size is genuinely unknown rather than estimated.

NAICS 3114 vendors namedOpen →

Other records in this industry