Operating business49% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresOne thing must be truemarket size

Domestic Footwear Factory

SoftwareTypically runs on Little beyond e-commerce and order management. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Footwear manufacturing

Base industry report for 3162 →
Establishments · CanadaA
55
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
55%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
224
Employment · USA
9,950
44 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$459M
$46k per employee

Of 55 Canadian establishments with employees, 55% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Widen the definition, or stack this niche with others. The prize as drawn will not carry a business on its own; it may still be worth owning as one line of several.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDmarket size — Market shape — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA55% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDlow capital — The structural profile of subsector 316, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 5

The binding constraint — market size

What survives of footwear manufacture in Canada is a real niche, not a ruin: safety-certified work boots, extreme-cold boots and military contracts, made by a few dozen plants mostly in Quebec and Ontario. The pre-screen called this capital; it is not. A boot line is lasts, moulds and stitching benches, and 30 of the 55 establishments have fewer than ten employees [A]. The cut is how little of the market is left to make here. Rocky Brands — a US$482.0M work, western and military boot company with a 40.9% gross margin [A] — is exactly the kind of brand that would manufacture at home if it paid, and it does not: about 1,700 of its 2,200 employees work in its own plants in the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and China, the rest of the product is sourced in Vietnam, Cambodia, India and Mexico, and its contract-manufacturing segment, which holds the US military work, was US$12.5M [A]. In Canada the same niche is consolidating rather than opening: Canada Goose paid C$32.5M for Baffin in 2018 — 80 employees, Stoney Creek [A] — and in August 2026 sold it, price undisclosed, to L.P. Royer of Sherbrooke, another boot maker [A]. An entrant is left with the sliver that must be made domestically, and the incumbents who already hold the certifications and the procurement history are buying each other to share it. The brand-and-attention problem that cuts bench-scale leather goods (see Small-Batch Leather Goods Manufacturing) applies on top, but it is not what decides this one.

Market scalenational

Work, winter and military footwear is sold through national distributors, safety-supply chains and federal procurement, and the price reference is an imported boot landed anywhere in the country. A plant's location matters for labour, not for its market — there is no local catchment that shelters a domestic maker.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 55 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 30 with fewer than ten employees; none with 200 or more; Quebec 23, Ontario 20
US footwear manufacturing, County Business Patterns 2022A 224 establishments, 9,950 employees, US$459.2M payroll
Rocky Brands net sales, FY2025A US$482.0M, up 6.2%; gross margin 40.9%; wholesale US$316.6M, retail US$152.9M, contract manufacturing US$12.5M
Where Rocky Brands makes its bootsA About 1,700 of 2,200+ employees work in its plants in the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and Chuzhou, China; third-party sourcing from Vietnam, China, Cambodia, India and Mexico (FY2025 10-K)
Canada Goose acquisition of Baffin, November 2018A C$32.5M for a Stoney Creek, Ontario maker of insulated and industrial footwear with 80 employees
Baffin sold on to L.P. Royer Inc., August 2026A Price not disclosed; Canada Goose said the transaction was about focus and simplifying its operating model (Canada Goose 6-K exhibit, 5 August 2026)
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
No firm leads in Canada — 55 establishments, 30 of them with fewer than ten employees, none with 200 or more. The disclosed comparison is Rocky Brands (NASDAQ: RCKY), the listed work, western and military boot company.
Scale
Rocky Brands FY2025 net sales US$482.0M, up 6.2%, at a 40.9% gross margin: wholesale US$316.6M, retail US$152.9M and contract manufacturing — the segment holding the US military work — US$12.5M. About 1,700 of its 2,200-plus employees work in its own plants in the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and Chuzhou, China.
Concentration
Not published, in Canada or the US. No series was found for the share of Canadian safety and military footwear that is actually made in Canada.
Others in the field
Wolverine World Wide (NYSE: WWW), US$1,874.3M of FY2025 revenue and the owner of Bates and CAT Footwear, at the branded end; in Canada, L.P. Royer of Sherbrooke — which bought Baffin from Canada Goose in August 2026 — and Genfoot, the Montreal maker of Kamik; and, in most of the market, an imported boot landed through a safety-supply distributor at a price no domestic line has to be beaten on twice.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed. Rocky Brands' 40.9% gross margin is a branded wholesaler's margin on largely offshore manufacture, not a domestic factory's.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — The buyers of Canadian footwear plants are other Canadian footwear plants. Canada Goose paid C$32.5M for Baffin of Stoney Creek — 80 employees — in November 2018, and sold it to L.P. Royer of Sherbrooke in August 2026 at an undisclosed price. That is a consolidating niche with one realistic acquirer type, and no published multiple to price an entry against.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Rocky Brands net sales, FY2025A US$482.0M, up 6.2%; gross margin 40.9%; wholesale US$316.6M, retail US$152.9M, contract manufacturing US$12.5M
Where Rocky Brands makes its bootsA About 1,700 of 2,200+ employees in its own plants in the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and Chuzhou, China; third-party sourcing from Vietnam, China, Cambodia, India and Mexico (FY2025 10-K)
Wolverine World Wide revenue, FY2025A US$1,874.3M for the year ended 3 January 2026, from US$1,755.0M in FY2024 (10-K XBRL)
Canada Goose acquisition of Baffin, November 2018A C$32.5M for a Stoney Creek, Ontario maker of insulated and industrial footwear with 80 employees
Baffin sold on to L.P. Royer Inc., August 2026A Price not disclosed; a Sherbrooke boot maker buying a Stoney Creek one
Canadian size bandsA 55 establishments; 30 with fewer than ten employees, none with 200 or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$2.4B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Rocky BrandsNASDAQ: RCKYA $482M — FY2025 net sales, up 6.2%
Wolverine World WideNYSE: WWWA $1.9B — FY2025 revenue for the year ended 3 January 2026, as tagged in its 10-K
L.P. Royer Inc. (Sherbrooke, Quebec)A not disclosed — Canadian boot maker; bought Baffin from Canada Goose in August 2026 at an undisclosed price, which makes it the visible consolidator of this niche. Privately held; no revenue published.
Genfoot Inc. (Kamik, Montreal)C not disclosed — Canadian maker of winter footwear under the Kamik brand. Privately held; no revenue published, and it was not researched further for this record.
Imported boots through safety-supply distributorsC not disclosed — What most of the Canadian work-boot market actually buys. No import series or distributor share was opened for this record.

Evidence

Evidence. The business counts are Statistics Canada and US Census figures [A]. Rocky Brands' sales, margin and segment split were read in its Q4/FY2025 results release on EDGAR, and the plant locations and headcount in its FY2025 10-K [A]. The Baffin purchase price and description come from Canada Goose's own 6-K of November 2018 [A]; the 2026 resale to L.P. Royer was read in Canada Goose’s 6-K exhibit of 5 August 2026, which discloses no price [A]. What this does not establish: no Canadian boot maker publishes revenue — Royer, Kamik's parent and the rest are private — so the size of the must-be-domestic niche is inferred from the establishment count and one transaction, not measured. The share of Canadian safety and military footwear that is actually made in Canada was not found. The cut factor is analyst judgment. Added in the completion pass: Wolverine World Wide's FY2025 revenue of US$1,874.3M (year ended 3 January 2026, against US$1,755.0M for FY2024) was taken from the company-facts XBRL that SEC EDGAR publishes from its 10-K, not from press coverage [A]. L.P. Royer's role as the buyer of Baffin rests on Canada Goose's own 6-K exhibit of 5 August 2026 [A]; Royer's and Genfoot's revenues do not exist in the public record, and Genfoot was named from general knowledge of the Kamik brand and not verified against a company document. No share figure for domestically manufactured Canadian safety or military footwear was found, and the absence is recorded here rather than estimated.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Western Canadian Shoe Association (WCSA)
wcsa.ca · 140 members (2026-09)

Members ('140+'), per its home page; a Western Canadian trade body since 1963 that runs regional footwear buying markets.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Footwear Distributors and Retailers of America (FDRA)
fdra.org

US footwear trade association covering brands, factories sourcing and retail; describes itself as representing 98% of the industry.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
American Apparel & Footwear Association (AAFA)
aafaglobal.org

National trade association for apparel, footwear and sewn-products companies and their suppliers.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
SATRA
new.satra.com

UK-based footwear research, testing and standards body with company membership; satra.com redirects to new.satra.com.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
The Atlanta Shoe Market
atlantashoemarket.com

Largest US footwear trade show; site says 1,800+ brands exhibit.

Checked 2026-09-22
PodcastUSA
Shoe-In Show
shoeinshow.com

FDRA's weekly footwear industry podcast; episode #548 was the latest at check.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationInternationalA
World Footwear
worldfootwear.com

APICCAPS news and statistics site for the global footwear sector; carries a Canada tag and Canadian event listings.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Footwear News
wwd.com

Footwear trade title, now published as a section of WWD; footwearnews.com redirects here.

Checked 2026-09-22

The Shoe Manufacturers Association of Canada (SMAC, Kirkland QC) still exists as a lobbyist registration but has no website of its own, only a contact email, so it is not listed. Canadian Footwear Journal (footwearjournal.com) did not respond.