Operating business39% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresOne thing must be truegrowth quality

Private-Label Cleaning & Personal Care

SoftwareTypically runs on Process ERP, formulation, safety-data and regulatory compliance. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Soap, cleaning compound and toilet preparation manufacturing

Base industry report for 3256 →
Establishments · CanadaA
406
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
58%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
2,558
Employment · USA
111,101
43 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$7.5B
$67k per employee

Of 406 Canadian establishments with employees, 58% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDgrowth quality — Market shape — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA58% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 325, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 10

The binding constraint — growth quality

Contract manufacture makes the product side of a cleaning or personal-care brand genuinely accessible — a formulator will run a batch without a factory. The cut is the category's own growth rate. Church & Dwight closed 2025 at $6,203.2M of net sales, up 1.6%, with organic growth of just 0.7% [A]. Clorox closed fiscal 2025 at about $7.10B, up 0.16% [B]. These are the scale players, and the category is flat. A flat category means share is taken, not created — and it is defended at a 45.2% adjusted gross margin [A] by companies that can meet a price cut and outspend any new brand on shelf. The entrant's real product is distribution, which is the one thing contract manufacture does not supply.

Market scalenational

Contract-manufactured consumer goods ship nationally through retail and e-commerce, and the incumbents' shelf position is set at national retail head offices. There is no local market to hide in — the buyer who decides whether the product exists is a category manager, not a shopper.

Church & Dwight net sales, FY2025A $6,203.2M, up 1.6%; organic growth 0.7%
Church & Dwight adjusted gross margin, FY2025A 45.2%, held flat as productivity offset inflation and tariffs
Church & Dwight adjusted EPS, FY2025A $3.53, up 2.6%
Clorox revenue, fiscal 2025 (to 30 June 2025)B about $7.10B, up 0.16%
What the pair impliesB A category growing below 2% — share is taken from an incumbent, not created
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Procter & Gamble (NYSE: PG), with Church & Dwight (NYSE: CHD) and Clorox (NYSE: CLX) as the nearer comparables
Scale
P&G net sales US$87,032M in the year ended 30 June 2026, from US$84,284M; Church & Dwight US$6,203.2M in FY2025, up 1.6% but only 0.7% organic, at a 45.2% adjusted gross margin; Clorox US$7,104M in the year ended 30 June 2025, up 0.16%
Concentration
Not published at the category level, and shopper share is not the binding number anyway. The share that decides whether the product exists is shelf share, and it is allocated by a retailer's category manager
Others in the field
Unilever, Colgate-Palmolive, Reckitt, SC Johnson and Henkel among the branded houses; the retailers' own labels — President's Choice and no name at Loblaw, Kirkland Signature at Costco — which are what a private-label entrant is actually bidding against; and the contract manufacturers such as KIK Custom Products of Concord, Ontario, which will run a batch for the entrant and for the retailer with equal willingness
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Church & Dwight's organic growth was 0.7% and Clorox's revenue rose 0.16%, while P&G — more than ten times their combined size — grew 3.3%. A category growing below inflation at the mid-size players is one where share has to be taken from somebody who can meet a price cut
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — No acquisition of a Canadian private-label maker was sourced for this record. The consolidation that constrains an entrant sits on the other side of the table: the retailer that would list the product also owns the private label it would displace, and tenders the manufacture of that label separately
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Procter & Gamble net sales, year ended 30 June 2026A US$87,032M, up 3.3% from US$84,284M — this record's division of the two tagged figures
Church & Dwight net sales, FY2025A US$6,203.2M, up 1.6%; organic growth 0.7%
Church & Dwight adjusted gross margin, FY2025A 45.2%, held flat as productivity offset inflation and tariffs — the margin an incumbent can spend down to meet a new entrant's price
Clorox net sales, year ended 30 June 2025A US$7,104M, up 0.16% from US$7,093M — read from the company's own filing, which replaces the compiled figure this record previously carried
What the three together sayB P&G +3.3%, Church & Dwight +1.6% (0.7% organic), Clorox +0.16%. The entrant's growth has to come out of one of them
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$100.3B

Disclosed revenue from 3 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 6 named · 3 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Procter & GambleNYSE: PGA $87.0B — Net sales for the year ended 30 June 2026 (US$), up 3.3%
CloroxNYSE: CLXA $7.1B — Net sales for the year ended 30 June 2025 (US$), up 0.16%
Church & DwightNYSE: CHDA $6.2B — FY2025 net sales (US$), up 1.6%; organic growth 0.7% at a 45.2% adjusted gross margin
Retailer private labelC not disclosed — President's Choice and no name at Loblaw, Kirkland Signature at Costco. This is the product a private-label entrant bids against, and the retailer that would buy from it owns the brand. No programme revenue is published for any of them
Contract manufacturers such as KIK Custom ProductsC not disclosed — KIK, of Concord, Ontario, is the large Canadian contract manufacturer of household cleaning products; privately held, identified from trade reporting rather than a filing, and no figures were opened. The record's point is that the factory is available to everyone, so it is not the scarce thing
Unilever / Colgate-Palmolive / Reckitt / SC Johnson / HenkelC not disclosed — The rest of the branded field. Not researched for this record

Evidence

Evidence. Church & Dwight's figures are from its own Q4/FY2025 release [A]. The Clorox figure is compiled from reported results rather than read off the release [B]. The honest limit: these two companies are not the whole of NAICS 3256, which also holds industrial and institutional cleaning compounds where the growth picture may differ and was not researched. What the figures establish is narrow and sufficient for a screen — the consumer end is flat and well defended. The cut factor is analyst judgment. The competitive field, added in a later pass: Procter & Gamble's net sales for the year ended 30 June 2026 and Clorox's for the year ended 30 June 2025 were read in the revenue tagged in their Forms 10-K on EDGAR [A] — which upgrades the Clorox figure on this record from compiled reporting to the filing itself, and confirms the 0.16% it previously carried at tier B. The retailer private-label programmes and the contract manufacturers are named without figures because none is published; KIK Custom Products is identified from trade reporting rather than a filing and is tiered C. Industrial and institutional cleaning compounds remain unresearched.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Cosmetics Alliance Canada
cosmeticsalliance.ca · 150 members (2026-09)

'More than 150 member companies' per its About page: makers, distributors and suppliers of personal-care products sold in Canada; founded 1928. Runs regulatory training and a Cosmetics magazine.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Consumer Specialty Products Association (CCSPA)
ccspa.org

Trade association for household and commercial cleaning, disinfecting and specialty chemical products; its members page lists about 40 companies, e.g. Clorox Canada, Ecolab, Dell Tech.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
Private Label Manufacturers Association (PLMA)
plma.com · 5,200 members (2026-09)

'Over 5,200 member companies in more than 80 countries' per its About page; founded 1979. Runs the annual Private Label Trade Show in Chicago, where store-brand buyers meet contract makers.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Household & Commercial Products Association (HCPA)
thehcpa.org

US trade association for makers of cleaning, air-care, aerosol and disinfecting products; seven product divisions. Says members sell $227B a year and employ 308,000 in the US; no count given.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Personal Care Products Council (PCPC)
personalcarecouncil.org

The main US cosmetics and personal-care trade association, founded 1894; the reference body on MoCRA compliance for anyone selling into the US. No member count on the pages opened.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Independent Beauty Association (IBA)
independentbeauty.org

Association for independent beauty and personal-care brands and their contract makers; runs the Cosmetics Convergence regulatory forums (Fall 2026 listed) and a member directory.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
Society of Cosmetic Chemists (SCC)
scconline.org · 6,000 members (2026-09)

'Nearly 6,000 members globally' per its About page; the formulators' professional society, founded 1945, with chapters, courses and the SCC80 annual meeting.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaC
Happi
happi.com

Household and personal-products industry magazine covering contract manufacturers, formulation and brand launches. Blocked automated access (Cloudflare).

Checked 2026-09-22

Cosmetics & Toiletries (cosmeticsandtoiletries.com) and the Chemists Corner formulation forum blocked automated access and are left off; ISSA (issa.com, 'more than 11,000' member organisations) serves commercial cleaning contractors rather than product makers. r/DIYBeauty could not be reached.