Steel Mill & Mini-Mill
The industry — Iron and steel mills and ferro-alloy manufacturing
Base industry report for 3311 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 63
- Under 10 employeesA
- 51%
- Establishments · USA
- 314
- Employment · USA
- 79,317
- Payroll · USA
- $8.6B
Of 63 Canadian establishments with employees, 51% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 3
The binding constraint — capital intensity
The pre-screen called this national-scale capital from the title alone. The filings say the same thing with numbers, and add something the title does not: capital is the entry ticket, and it does not buy a margin. The scale first. Cleveland-Cliffs bought Stelco, one Ontario flat-rolled producer, in 2024 at an enterprise value of about US$2.5B (C$3.4B) [A]. That is the price of one working mill. The 63 Canadian establishments are misleading as a count: 32 have fewer than ten employees and are not steelmakers in any sense that matters, while twelve employ 200 or more, and those twelve are the industry. Then what the capital earns. Algoma Steel, the other Ontario integrated producer, reported 2025 revenue of C$2,085.7M, down from C$2,461.7M, and a net loss of C$984.9M, with adjusted EBITDA of negative C$261.4M [A]. It paid C$225.0M in direct tariff costs during the year — about 11% of revenue — and took C$500M of government-backed liquidity through the Large Enterprise Tariff Loan facility to get through its conversion to electric-arc steelmaking [A]. The price of its product is set by the North American sheet market and its access to that market by US trade policy; neither is in the mill's hands. An electric-arc mini-mill is the smaller version of the same bet, not a different one: it is still a furnace, a caster and a rolling line sunk before the first tonne, selling a commodity. There is no entrant-sized proposition inside this group. What is sold to mills — scrap, refractories, maintenance, process software — is where ordinary resources reach, and those are other records.
Steel is priced against continental and global benchmarks and crosses borders in volume, so a Canadian mill competes with US and offshore producers and is exposed to tariffs in both directions. Algoma's 2025 results show it directly: C$225.0M of direct tariff cost in one year on sales into its natural market.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 5 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cleveland-Cliffs (Stelco)NYSE: CLFA | not disclosed | — | Group revenue not researched for this record; what is on the record is the price it paid for one Ontario mill — about US$2.5B enterprise value |
| Algoma Steel GroupNASDAQ: ASTLA | $2.1B | — | FY2025 revenue (C$) — The other Ontario integrated producer, and the reason capital is not the only objection: it lost C$984.9M in 2025 |
| ArcelorMittal Long Products Canada, Gerdau, Ivaco Rolling MillsC | not disclosed | — | The long-products, rebar and rod mills operating in Ontario and Quebec. None was researched for this record and none reports Canada separately |
| Nucor and Steel DynamicsC | not disclosed | — | The US electric-arc producers whose output sets the North American sheet and long-products price; an entrant would be a price taker against them. Not researched for this record |
| The 51 Canadian establishments with fewer than 200 employeesA | not disclosed | — | 32 of them have fewer than ten (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — ferro-alloy, specialty and service operations classified here, not mills bidding for the same tonnes |
Evidence
Evidence. Establishment counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) [A]. The Stelco terms were read in Cleveland-Cliffs' own announcement of the acquisition [A]. The Algoma figures were read in its results release for the three and twelve months ended 31 December 2025 [A]; its net loss includes a non-cash impairment and transition costs, so it overstates a normal year and is quoted as evidence of exposure, not of steady-state returns. The total cost of Algoma's electric-arc project was not stated in the release and is left off the record. Two Ontario flat-rolled producers are not the whole group — long-products mini-mills and ferro-alloy producers were not researched, and ArcelorMittal, Gerdau, Ivaco, Nucor and Steel Dynamics are named on the competitor block from general market knowledge without a document being opened for any of them. The cut factor is analyst judgment, though here it is about as close to measured as a screen gets.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National association of Canadian primary steel producers; member list on site.
US steel industry policy body; members include Canadian-owned producers.
Association of electric arc furnace (mini-mill) steelmakers.
Home page states 16,600 members from more than 70 countries, with 22 member chapters.
AIST's annual iron and steel technology conference and exposition; 2027 in Nashville.
Flat-rolled and scrap pricing newsletter (CRU Group); runs Steel Summit and community chats.