Commercial Foodservice Equipment Manufacturer
The industry — Commercial and service industry machinery manufacturing
Base industry report for 3333 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 405
- Under 10 employeesA
- 52%
- Establishments · USA
- 1,728
- Employment · USA
- 77,092
- Payroll · USA
- $6.5B
Of 405 Canadian establishments with employees, 52% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Get to the buyer. The product is reachable and the need is real; the channel is owned by someone else, and a route to it — a partner, a reseller, a trade relationship, a book of clients bought outright — is what has to be built.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 9
The binding constraint — distribution
A grab-bag group — commercial cooking and warewashing equipment, laundry and dry-cleaning machines, car-wash systems, vending and optical equipment — of which commercial kitchen equipment is the largest and most recognisable piece, and the one screened here. The rest was not examined. The attraction is plain in the filings: Middleby's Commercial Foodservice segment earned a 26.7% adjusted EBITDA margin on US$2,351.0M of sales in 2025 [A], and Ali Group paid an enterprise value of US$4.8B for Welbilt [A]. A fryer or combi oven is fabricated stainless steel, burners and controls; 209 of Canada's 405 establishments in this group have fewer than ten people, so making one is within reach. Selling one is the cut. A restaurant does not buy from a manufacturer. Independents buy through equipment dealers and their buying groups, who stock the lines that pay rebates and that they can get serviced; chains buy against a corporate equipment specification that takes years of test-kitchen trials to enter and names one or two approved models per station. Either way the unit must be backed by factory-authorised service in every city where it is installed, because a kitchen with a dead oven cannot trade. Middleby and Ali have spent decades and dozens of acquisitions assembling brands for every station so that a dealer or chain can fill a kitchen from one supplier. And the category is not growing: Middleby's segment shrank 1.7% organically in 2025 [A], so a newcomer's volume comes out of an incumbent with a 26.7% margin to defend it with. Plant software is screened separately.
Foodservice equipment is sold through national dealer networks, buying groups and chain head offices, and must carry the same safety and sanitation listings across North America. Ontario and Quebec hold 285 of 405 Canadian establishments, but they sell continent-wide. The purchase decision for a chain is made once, centrally, for every location.
Sectors joined: Tech - Hardware · Manufacturing · Automotive IoT · IoT · Hardware · IoT Asset Tracking
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 2 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 6 named · 2 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Illinois Tool Works (Food Equipment segment)NYSE: ITWA | $2.7B | — | FY2025 segment revenue, US$; Hobart, Vulcan, Traulsen and the rest |
| Middleby (Commercial Foodservice segment)NASDAQ: MIDDA | $2.4B | — | Fiscal 2025 segment net sales, US$; company total US$3,201.2M |
| Ali Group (Welbilt, Scotsman, Carpigiani)A | not disclosed | — | Privately held Italian group; does not publish results. It paid about US$4.8B of enterprise value for Welbilt in 2021–22, which is the only figure on the record for it |
| Electrolux Professional / Rational / Hoshizaki / Dover / StandexC | not disclosed | — | Listed or large makers whose foodservice lines were not opened for this record; no figures are claimed |
| TriMark USA, Edward Don and the dealer buying groupsC | not disclosed | — | Not manufacturers — the distribution tier that decides which lines a restaurant is shown. Privately held; no revenue or share figure was sourced, and they are named because the cut factor is distribution |
| The 209 sub-ten-employee Canadian establishmentsA | not disclosed | — | Spread across kitchen, laundry, car-wash, vending and optical equipment, so not a single competitive set. Counted by Statistics Canada (December 2023) |
Evidence
Evidence. Business counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) and cover the whole group, not only kitchen equipment. Middleby's figures were read from its fourth-quarter and fiscal 2025 results release as filed with the SEC [A]. The Welbilt price was read from Ali Group's own merger announcement and the completion date from Welbilt's 8-K [A]; that 8-K also records that Welbilt sold its Manitowoc Ice business to Pentair for US$1.6B immediately before the merger closed, so the US$4.8B enterprise value announced in 2021 is larger than what Ali Group finally acquired. What they establish: the segment is highly profitable for its consolidators and did not grow in 2025. What they do not establish: the account of how dealers, buying groups, chain specifications and authorised service networks gate a new manufacturer is analyst judgment drawn from how the trade is organised; no dealer-share or chain-specification statistic was sourced. Commercial laundry, car-wash, vending and optical equipment share this code and were not researched — treat them as unscreened. The cut factor is analyst judgment. Added for the competitive field: ITW's Food Equipment segment revenue, operating income, margin and organic growth were read from the segment tables in ITW's fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 release as furnished to the SEC on Form 8-K, 3 February 2026 [A] — from the twelve-month segment table, not the company headline. ITW's Food Equipment segment includes warewashing and service as well as cooking equipment, so it is broader than the fryer-and-oven niche this record screens. Electrolux Professional, Rational, Hoshizaki, Dover and Standex are named without figures, as are the distributors TriMark USA and Edward Don: no dealer share, buying-group membership or chain-specification statistic was sourced, so the distribution argument remains analyst judgment about how the trade is organised.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National foodservice operators' association (the equipment buyer); runs RC Show (Toronto, 2027 edition announced) and One Table. Says 'thousands' of members; no exact count.
NAFEM's biennial equipment show; Feb 11-13 2027, Orange County Convention Center, Orlando (dates from the site's own page titles in search results). nafem.org itself returned 403.
Total members per homepage (220+ rep firms, 200+ manufacturers, 45+ associates; 521 companies). The rep channel a new equipment maker must recruit.
Fort Mill SC association of independent service agencies that repair commercial kitchen equipment; certification, annual conference. No member count stated.
Consultants who specify kitchen equipment; FCSI The Americas division, biennial conference (2026). No member count stated.
Zoomba Group trade magazine for the E&S channel (dealers, consultants, operators); articles dated Sept 22 2026. No circulation stated.
Independent trade magazine with equipment reviews and buying guides; runs the MUFES symposium; articles dated Sept 22 2026.
Largest North American foodservice show, with the Kitchen Innovations pavilion; May 22-25 2027, Chicago per its homepage title.
Foodservice and Hospitality (Kostuch Media), the Canadian trade magazine, blocks automated access and was not verified, so it is not listed.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.