Vertical software62% entry signalMarket screen3 sourced figuresExecution decidesdistribution

Manufacturing Execution & Plant Automation

Prepared 2026-09-08

The buyer population — Machinery manufacturing

Base industry report for 333 →
Establishments · CanadaA
4,601
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
49%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
21,759
Employment · USA
1,065,431
49 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$79.9B
$75k per employee

Of 4,601 Canadian establishments with employees, 49% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Execution decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.

What you would have to beat

Get to the buyer. The product is reachable and the need is real; the channel is owned by someone else, and a route to it — a partner, a reseller, a trade relationship, a book of clients bought outright — is what has to be built.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDdistribution — Executional — a better operator can move it.
Measured inputsUNVERIFIEDnot applied — This is a software market. The industry’s business counts describe its BUYERS, not the market being entered, so they are left out of the signal.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — distribution

MES is sold and implemented through system integrators, not directly — the integrator relationship is the distribution channel and it takes years to build. The software also has to speak to whatever PLC and SCADA estate is already installed, which favours the vendors who supplied it. Anchored at the 333 subsector because MES spans all of discrete manufacturing rather than any one industry group. Sourced update: Rockwell's Software & Control segment grew 9% to $2,383M while lifting operating margin from 24.2% to 29.7%. An entrant is attacking a business that is compounding margin, which is the least promising moment to attack one.

Angel-backed companies32
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixON 16, QC 9, AB 4, US 1, BC 1, SK 1

Sectors joined: Tech - Hardware · Manufacturing · Automotive IoT · IoT · Hardware · IoT Asset Tracking

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

The incumbent

Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.

Incumbent
Siemens Opcenter, Rockwell (Plex), SAP Digital Manufacturing
Scale
Rockwell's Software & Control segment ran $2,383M in fiscal 2025, +9% reported and organic from $2,187M, with segment operating earnings of $708M — a 29.7% margin, up from 24.2%
Share
No published MES share; the disclosed segment is the best available measure and is broader than execution software alone
Challengers
AVEVA, Honeywell, Tulip, Katana, MachineMetrics, 42Q
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Segment operating margin expanded from 24.2% to 29.7% in a single year — this incumbent is getting more profitable, not less
Is the buyer consolidating?
No
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Rockwell Software & Control revenue, FY2025A $2,383M, +9% (from $2,187M)
Segment operating earnings, FY2025A $708M (from $530M)
Segment operating marginA 29.7%, up from 24.2%
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$2.4B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 3 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 3 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Rockwell Automation (Software & Control)NYSE: ROKA $2.4B — FY2025 segment revenue — control hardware and software together, broader than MES
Siemens (Opcenter)C not disclosed — Inside Digital Industries Software; not broken out at MES level
SAP Digital Manufacturing / AVEVAC not disclosed — Not separately disclosed
S

Startups & challengers

Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.

CompanyStageWhat it doesRaised
Tulip ↗ Funded challenger No-code frontline operations and MES apps for manufacturers —

Evidence

Evidence. Incumbent financials on this record ARE sourced (tier A/B, see the financials block). The cut factor and reasoning remain analyst judgment and were not tested against customers.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationInternationalA
International Society of Automation (ISA)
isa.org

Standards, training and certification body for automation professionals (ISA-95 underlies MES); absorbed MESA International's content when MESA closed 30 June 2026. No member count on pages opened.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Automate Canada
automatecanada.org

National association of industrial-automation companies and their suppliers, with a member directory. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
ForumInternationalC
PLCtalk forum
plctalk.net

Long-running board where controls engineers and integrators troubleshoot PLC, HMI and SCADA work. Blocked automated access; search results show 2025-26 threads.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
Automate Show (A3)
automate.org

Association for Advancing Automation's trade show; next May 10-13, 2027, Las Vegas. No member or attendance count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
Canadian Manufacturing Technology Show (CMTS)
cmts.ca

SME-organized show where Canadian plants see automation and software vendors; next September 27-30, 2027, Toronto. No attendance figure stated.

Checked 2026-09-22

MESA International, the MES-specific association, voted to cease operations effective 30 June 2026 and its content moved to ISA, so there is no longer a standalone MES body. Plant-floor people talk on PLCtalk and control.com (the latter also blocked access); r/PLC exists but Reddit blocked automated access, so it is not listed.

↔

The businesses it sells to

Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.

Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3331
Short-Line Farm Implement ManufacturerOne thing must be true
binding constraint: growth quality

This group has the best origin story in Canadian manufacturing: a Prairie farmer builds a better seeder or header in his shop, neighbours buy it, and a company follows. Bourgault, begun that way in St. Brieux, Saskatchewan, was bought by Linamar in 2024 for C$640M [A]; MacDon and Salford went the same way before it. There is a living small-firm base — 897 Canadian establishments, 384 of them under ten people — and a mainline tractor maker will never bother with a niche implement. So the prize is real. The cut is the quality of the demand. A farm implement is a deferrable capital purchase funded out of one year's crop receipts, and when grain prices fall farmers simply run the old machine another season. Ag Growth International, the listed Winnipeg maker of grain handling and storage equipment, shows what that does to a fixed-cost plant: in the fourth quarter of 2025 revenue rose 4% but adjusted EBITDA fell 38%, the margin dropped 829 basis points to 12.2%, the order book shrank 26% and net debt reached 4.7 times EBITDA [A] — the company attributing the squeeze first to lower Farm volumes. An established, diversified maker was pushed to restructure by one soft cycle; a single-product entrant with one selling season a year, inventory built months ahead of it and dealers who expect floor stock on terms would meet the same cycle with no aftermarket parts income to carry it. Bourgault's price rewards surviving several such cycles, which is the part an entrant cannot buy. Construction and oilfield machinery — the likely reason Alberta leads this group with 269 establishments — were not screened.

NAICS 33316 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3332
Special-Purpose Industrial Machinery BuilderStructure decides
binding constraint: entry cost

Canada is unusually good at this. Husky, of Bolton, Ontario, builds the injection-moulding systems that turn out food and beverage containers, medical devices and consumer-electronics parts, sells about three-quarters of its output outside North America, and was sold to Platinum Equity for US$3.85B [A]; ATS of Cambridge builds automated production lines and reported C$2,972.9M of revenue in fiscal 2026 [A]; British Columbia's sawmill-equipment makers supply mills worldwide. Small builders exist too — 308 of 660 establishments have fewer than ten people — usually an engineer who left a larger builder with one application he understands. The cut is what must be spent before the first sale, and what the incumbents earn after it. A production machine is bought by a plant manager who will be blamed if the line stops, so the first question is where one is already running. An entrant has to design, build and prove a machine, then place it on favourable terms to obtain that reference, carrying engineering payroll throughout — U.S. payroll in this group averages about US$91,000 per employee [A]. The incumbents' advantage then compounds through the installed base: services and spare parts were C$1,009.3M of ATS's adjusted revenue, about a third [A], and Platinum's announcement stressed Husky's aftermarket sales to "a large and growing installed base". That recurring income funds the next machine's development and lets the incumbent discount new equipment. An entrant has no installed base, so it has neither the reference nor the annuity. A niche builder can be bought, which is a study of one company rather than an industry path. Plant software is screened separately.

NAICS 33326 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3333
Commercial Foodservice Equipment ManufacturerOne thing must be true
binding constraint: distribution

A grab-bag group — commercial cooking and warewashing equipment, laundry and dry-cleaning machines, car-wash systems, vending and optical equipment — of which commercial kitchen equipment is the largest and most recognisable piece, and the one screened here. The rest was not examined. The attraction is plain in the filings: Middleby's Commercial Foodservice segment earned a 26.7% adjusted EBITDA margin on US$2,351.0M of sales in 2025 [A], and Ali Group paid an enterprise value of US$4.8B for Welbilt [A]. A fryer or combi oven is fabricated stainless steel, burners and controls; 209 of Canada's 405 establishments in this group have fewer than ten people, so making one is within reach. Selling one is the cut. A restaurant does not buy from a manufacturer. Independents buy through equipment dealers and their buying groups, who stock the lines that pay rebates and that they can get serviced; chains buy against a corporate equipment specification that takes years of test-kitchen trials to enter and names one or two approved models per station. Either way the unit must be backed by factory-authorised service in every city where it is installed, because a kitchen with a dead oven cannot trade. Middleby and Ali have spent decades and dozens of acquisitions assembling brands for every station so that a dealer or chain can fill a kitchen from one supplier. And the category is not growing: Middleby's segment shrank 1.7% organically in 2025 [A], so a newcomer's volume comes out of an incumbent with a 26.7% margin to defend it with. Plant software is screened separately.

NAICS 33336 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3334
Commercial HVAC Equipment PlantStructure decides
binding constraint: capital intensity

The pre-screen called this plant and pointed at the contractor records; the filings bear that out, but for a more specific reason than "factories are expensive". Demand is as good as it has ever been. AAON, the Oklahoma maker of semi-custom rooftop units and data-centre cooling — the nearest listed company to what a Canadian entrant would actually build — grew net sales 20.1% to US$1.44B in 2025 and ended the year with a record US$1.83B backlog, up 110.9% [A]. And in that same year its gross margin fell from 33.1% to 26.7% and net income fell from US$168.6M to US$107.6M, while it spent US$190.6M on capital expenditure — about 13% of sales — with another US$190.0M planned for 2026 [A]. That is the mechanism. In this industry an order book is converted into revenue only by floor space, coil lines, sheet-metal cells and test chambers that are bought and staffed before the units ship, and the margin is given up while the new plant learns to run. A company with a billion-dollar backlog absorbs that; an entrant has to fund the same sequence with no backlog to borrow against. Small makers do exist — 212 of Canada's 460 establishments have fewer than ten people — but the judgment here is that they are fabricating fans, hoods and one-off air handlers to a local engineer's drawing, which is a sheet-metal job shop, not an equipment line. The step from that to a catalogued, performance-rated product is the step that needs the capital, and a rated product must then still be taken on by a manufacturer's representative in each city who already carries a competing line. Plant software is screened separately.

NAICS 33345 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3335
Tool, Die and Industrial Mould ShopStructure decides
binding constraint: capital intensity

This group is not really machine-tool building in Canada; it is the Ontario tool, die and mould trade. Ontario holds 652 of 960 establishments — 68% — and the shape is small: 538 shops have fewer than ten people, none has five hundred. That makes it look enterable, and at the bench it is: a good mouldmaker with a five-axis mill and an EDM can open a shop. The cut is that the shop's capital is fixed and its work is not. A mould or die is ordered once per vehicle or product programme, so demand arrives with the customer's launch calendar and leaves with it. Exco Technologies (TSX: XTC), whose Casting and Extrusion segment makes die-cast moulds and extrusion dies at plants in Canada and abroad, is the listed window on this. In its quarter to September 2025 the segment's sales fell 5% to C$72.7M and its pretax profit fell 29% to C$4.5M, which Exco attributed to lower volumes, higher labour cost and "under-absorbed fixed costs", with moulds soft because customers "delayed new program launches" and extended the life of existing vehicle platforms [A]. That is a diversified, multi-plant toolmaker earning about six cents on the dollar because automakers moved their dates. A single shop has the same machines to pay for and one or two customers' calendars to live by, and — the judgment here, not a sourced fact — it typically carries the steel and the machinists' wages until the customer approves the tool. Unlike the general machine shop screened at 3327, there is no repeat production to fall back on between programmes. Buying an existing shop is a study of one company's customer list. Plant software is screened separately.

NAICS 33355 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3336
Turbine, Engine and Industrial Gearbox BuilderStructure decides
binding constraint: capital intensity

Turbines, non-automotive engines, gearboxes and industrial drives — 122 Canadian establishments, of which 65 have fewer than ten people, against a US industry averaging 105 employees per establishment [A]. The attraction is current: power demand has the gas-turbine makers sold out years ahead. GE Vernova's Power segment took US$19.8B of revenue at a 14.7% EBITDA margin in 2025, and its 2025 cash from operations took in US$8.0B of contract liabilities and deferred income, driven first by down payments on Power orders and turbine slot reservations [A]. But the same filing shows what building rotating power equipment costs when things go less well. GE Vernova's Wind segment lost US$598M of EBITDA on US$9.1B of revenue in 2025, after losing US$588M in 2024 and US$1,033M in 2023 [A] — a leading turbine maker, at full scale, three years running. The mechanism is that the manufacturer does not just sell a machine; it underwrites the machine's output for years under fixed-price contracts and fleet-wide warranties, so a design fault or a delayed project is charged to its balance sheet across every unit shipped. Power survives that because US$13.1B of its US$19.8B revenue is services on turbines installed over decades — the installed-base annuity described in the special-purpose machinery record at 3332. The point specific to this group is the other side of it: the capital an entrant needs is not the plant, it is the balance sheet a utility or pipeline operator will accept as guarantor of a twenty-year asset. The small Canadian establishments are, on this reading, gear-cutting and rebuild shops serving local mills and mines — closer to the machine shop at 3327 than to a way into this industry. Plant software is screened separately.

NAICS 33366 vendors named13 sourced figuresOpen →

More are listed on the base industry report.