Operating business57% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresOne thing must be truedistribution

Accessibility Lift and Material-Handling Equipment Maker

Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Other general-purpose machinery manufacturing

Base industry report for 3339 →
Establishments · CanadaA
1,097
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
47%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
5,833
Employment · USA
306,936
53 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$23.6B
$77k per employee

Of 1,097 Canadian establishments with employees, 47% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Get to the buyer. The product is reachable and the need is real; the channel is owned by someone else, and a route to it — a partner, a reseller, a trade relationship, a book of clients bought outright — is what has to be built.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDdistribution — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA47% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Concentrated — a new entrant competes against establishments with real scale.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 333, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 6

The binding constraint — distribution

A residual group: pumps and compressors, material-handling equipment (conveyors, cranes, lift trucks, elevators and lifts), and an "all other" code holding scales, welding gear, packaging machines and more. It is large — 1,097 Canadian establishments, 520 of them with fewer than ten people — and it is not one market. Pumps and compressors and the all-other code were not examined. The niche screened is the one with a visible Canadian success: accessibility lifts and home elevators. Savaria, of Laval, Quebec, reported 2025 revenue of C$913.5M, up 5.3%, a 38.7% gross margin and adjusted EBITDA of C$186.3M — 20.4%, with its Accessibility segment at 22.3% [A]. An ageing population buying stairlifts and porch lifts is a good demand story, and the products — a rail, a carriage, a motor and a controller — are not beyond a competent fabricator. The cut is how they reach the customer. Savaria's own description is that it sells through "a sales network of dealers worldwide and direct sales offices" [A]. A lift is an elevating device: it is sold, installed, inspected and serviced locally, in a regulated trade, usually paid for with help from an insurer, a veterans' programme or a home-modification grant that the dealer knows how to claim. The dealer therefore chooses the brand, and chooses on parts availability, installer training and who answers the phone when a customer is stuck between floors. A new manufacturer needs those dealers city by city, and each already has a full line from a supplier earning twenty points of margin with which to keep them. The same pattern — sold through integrators and dealers, not to end users — holds for conveyors and lift trucks, but that was not researched. Plant software is screened separately.

Market scalenational

Stated as national for the niche screened: lifts and material-handling equipment are built in a few plants and sold across the country and abroad through dealer and integrator networks, to national product-safety codes. Ontario and Quebec hold 796 of the 1,097 establishments. The rest of this residual group has no shared geography — pumps are specified into projects worldwide, scales and welding equipment go through industrial distributors — so the label is a convenience, not a finding.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 1,097 across the whole residual group (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 520 have fewer than ten employees, 73 have one hundred or more
US establishments, employment and payroll, NAICS 3339A 5,833 establishments, 306,936 employees — about 53 per establishment; payroll US$23.6B (US Census County Business Patterns, 2022)
Savaria revenue, 2025A C$913.5M, up C$45.8M or 5.3% from C$867.8M
Savaria gross margin, 2025A C$353.8M — 38.7% of revenue, from 37.1%
Savaria adjusted EBITDA, 2025A C$186.3M — a 20.4% margin, from 18.6%; Accessibility segment 22.3%, Patient Care segment 19.4%
Savaria net earnings, 2025A C$68.8M, or C$0.95 per diluted share, against C$48.5M in 2024
Angel-backed companies32
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixON 16, QC 9, AB 4, US 1, BC 1, SK 1

Sectors joined: Tech - Hardware · Manufacturing · Automotive IoT · IoT · Hardware · IoT Asset Tracking

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Savaria Corporation (TSX: SIS, Canadian — Laval, Quebec)
Scale
2025 revenue C$913.5M, up 5.3%, at a 20.4% adjusted EBITDA margin — 22.3% in the Accessibility segment [A]. When it bought Sweden’s listed Handicare in 2021 it described the combined group as reaching its market through over 1,000 dealers and 30 direct sales offices worldwide, on combined revenue of over C$671M [A]. That dealer count is the barrier stated as a number.
Concentration
Not published, and not calculable from this code: the 1,097 Canadian establishments cover pumps, compressors, conveyors, cranes and lift trucks as well as lifts, so no share can be stated for the niche screened.
Others in the field
Handicare, inside Savaria since 2021; Stannah, Bruno and Harmar in stairlifts and platform lifts; Columbus McKinnon and the lift-truck makers on the material-handling side of the same code; and 520 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employees, most of them fabricators and integrators rather than product companies.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Yes, and on both sides of the code. Savaria took out Handicare at a total enterprise value of SEK3.4B (C$521.1M), 12.1× Handicare’s preliminary 2020 adjusted EBITDA [A]. In material handling, Columbus McKinnon closed its Kito Crosby acquisition on 3 February 2026 and reported FY2026 net sales of US$1,193.5M, up 23.9%, on record orders of US$1.2B [A]. A dealer network is what both buyers were paying for.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Savaria revenue, 2025A C$913.5M, up 5.3%; adjusted EBITDA margin 20.4%, Accessibility segment 22.3%
Savaria’s purchase of Handicare Group ABA SEK50.00 per share — SEK2.9B (C$452.3M) to shareholders; total enterprise value including leases SEK3.4B (C$521.1M); announced 27 January 2021
What the multiple wasA 12.1× Handicare’s preliminary 2020 adjusted EBITDA, or 9.6× including expected run-rate synergies
Handicare’s scale when acquiredA Preliminary 2020 sales EUR205M (C$317M) and adjusted EBITDA EUR24M (C$37M) — an 11.7% margin
The combined distribution Savaria boughtA Over 1,000 dealers and 30 direct sales offices worldwide, about 2,300 employees, combined preliminary revenue over C$671M
Columbus McKinnon net sales, fiscal 2026A US$1,193.5M against US$963.0M — up 23.9%; adjusted EBITDA US$181.4M, 15.2%; Kito Crosby closed 3 February 2026
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$2.1B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Savaria CorporationTSX: SISA $914M — 2025 revenue, C$ — consolidated, and it includes a Patient Care segment that is not machinery in this code
Columbus McKinnonNASDAQ: CMCOA $1.2B — fiscal 2026 net sales, US$, to 31 March 2026 — hoists, crane components and rigging — the material-handling half of this residual code, not accessibility
Handicare GroupA not disclosed — Swedish, listed until Savaria acquired it in 2021 on EUR205M of 2020 sales; no longer reports separately
Stannah / Bruno Independent Living Aids / HarmarC not disclosed — the privately held stairlift and platform-lift makers an entrant would meet at the dealer’s door; none publishes revenue and none was sourced for this record
The 520 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employeesA not disclosed — Statistics Canada, December 2023 — the independent majority of this residual group, spread across pumps, conveyors and lifts

Evidence

Evidence. Business counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) and cover the whole residual group, not the niche screened. Savaria's figures and its description of its sales network were read from its fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 results release [A]. Savaria's revenue includes a Patient Care segment (medical beds, transfer equipment) that is not machinery in this code, so the consolidated figures overstate the lift business; segment revenue was not extracted. What the figures establish: the one listed Canadian company in this niche is growing in the mid single digits at a twenty-point EBITDA margin and says itself that it sells through dealers. What they do not establish: dealer exclusivity, dealer margins, or the role of third-party funding in the purchase — that account is analyst judgment from how the trade is organised and no statistic was sourced for it. Pumps and compressors, conveyors, cranes, lift trucks and the all-other machinery code were not researched — treat them as unscreened. The cut factor is analyst judgment. Competitive field (added). Savaria’s Handicare offer — price per share, enterprise value in SEK and CAD, the 12.1× multiple, Handicare’s 2020 sales and EBITDA, and the combined dealer and office counts — was read from Savaria’s own announcement of 27 January 2021 [A]. Columbus McKinnon’s fiscal 2026 sales, adjusted EBITDA and the Kito Crosby closing date were read from its results announcement of 4 June 2026 [A]; that company is named for the material-handling side of the code, not for accessibility, and its purchase price for Kito Crosby is not in the release and is not claimed. Stannah, Bruno and Harmar are named from trade knowledge of who sells stairlifts in North America; no company document for any of them was opened and none publishes revenue. The derived floor shown on this page sums two disclosed figures in two currencies (C$ and US$) from companies wider than the niche screened — read it as evidence that large listed firms operate here, not as a size for the Canadian accessibility-lift market.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationNorth AmericaA
AEMA - Accessibility Equipment Manufacturers Association
aema.com

San Antonio-based non-profit formed 1990 for makers, dealers and users of residential elevators, stairlifts and platform lifts. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Elevator Contractors Association (CECA)
ceca-acea.org

Non-profit of elevator contractors and suppliers since 1972, four regional divisions; 53rd annual convention June 8-11 2027, Quebec City. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Association of Elevator Contractors (NAEC)
naec.org · 700 members (2026-09)

Members ('700+' contractors, suppliers and associates per homepage); annual Convention and Exposition (2026 edition Sept 28 2026).

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationInternationalC
Elevator World
elevatorworld.com

Monthly vertical-transportation trade magazine (Mobile, Alabama), 70+ years; 2026 issues listed in search results. Site blocked automated access (Cloudflare).

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
Medtrade
medtrade.com

Main US home-medical-equipment trade show, where stairlift and home-lift dealers source; March 23-25 2027, Fort Worth Convention Center.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
HomeCare Magazine
homecaremag.com

Cahaba Media trade magazine for HME providers; has a Mobility, Lifts & Ramps section; articles dated Sept 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22

Reddit r/Elevators could not be verified from this network. Elevator U is a universities-only user group and was left off.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.