Dental Laboratory Operation
The industry — Medical equipment and supplies manufacturing
Base industry report for 3391 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 1,410
- Under 10 employeesA
- 69%
- Establishments · USA
- 9,009
- Employment · USA
- 304,707
- Payroll · USA
- $24.6B
Of 1,410 Canadian establishments with employees, 69% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 5
The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability
Two forces have taken the middle of this trade at once: chairside milling moved single-unit crowns into the dentist's own office, and digital scanning made it trivial to send the rest of the case to a large offshore lab overnight. What survives is complex removable and implant work at the top and price competition at the bottom. The dental practices this lab would serve are themselves consolidating — see the practice-acquisition record at 621210 — and consolidated groups negotiate lab pricing centrally. The offshore lab in that sentence is now a listed company, and it publishes. Modern Dental Group produces in Mainland China, Thailand and Vietnam and sells into Europe, North America and Australia: HK$3,736.5M of 2025 revenue at a 55.8% gross margin, HK$696.4M of it earned in North America, on about 1,039,000 digital-solution cases, up 32.7% in the year [A]. That margin is what a low-cost production base buys, and it is the margin a domestic lab is asked to price against on the same crown. The firms taking the other end of the case are no smaller — Dentsply Sirona turned $3,680.0M in 2025, Envista $2,719.5M and Align $4,035.0M [A] — and each of them is selling the dentist a reason to keep the work in the operatory. What is left is complex removable and implant work that neither travels well nor mills chairside: a real trade, but a much smaller one than the 1,410 Canadian establishments in this code would suggest.
Cases travel by courier, so a lab can serve a province — but digital scanning removed the distance constraint entirely for the simple work, which now goes offshore overnight. The market split in two: local and complex, or global and cheap.
Handle — Modern Dental Group's geography. Modern Dental is the only listed pure-play dental prosthetics group of scale, and it reports revenue by the market it sells into while naming the countries it produces in. That pairing is the whole argument: three-quarters of its revenue is earned in high-wage markets on work made in Mainland China, Thailand and Vietnam. A domestic lab's price has to survive that.
Europe HK$1,887.0M plus North America HK$696.4M plus Australia HK$289.1M, over total revenue of HK$3,736.5M, all from the same FY2025 results announcement. Modern Dental publishes the rows; this ratio is ours. The HK$248.9M of 'other markets' is excluded because the announcement does not say where it is, so the true figure is at least this.
Sectors joined: Medical Devices · Medical Device · Medical Device - AI · Surgical AI · Med Tech
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 4 of 7 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 7 named · 4 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Modern Dental GroupHKEX: 3600A | $3.7B | — | FY2025 revenue in Hong Kong dollars (HK$3,736.5M), year to 31 December 2025 |
| Align TechnologyNASDAQ: ALGNA | $4.0B | — | FY2025 revenue; a substitute for laboratory work rather than a laboratory |
| Dentsply SironaNASDAQ: XRAYA | $3.7B | — | FY2025 net sales; sells the chairside milling that keeps the single-unit crown in the practice |
| Envista HoldingsNYSE: NVSTA | $2.7B | — | FY2025 net sales; the second chairside and implant vendor on the same side of the boundary |
| Glidewell Dental and the large North American production labsC | not disclosed | — | Privately held; no revenue published and none researched for this record. Named because an entrant's pricing meets theirs, not because anything about them was sourced |
| The private-equity-backed lab networksC | not disclosed | — | The buyers of retiring independents. No network's accounts were read and no roll-up was traced for this record |
| The independent one-to-four-person labA | not disclosed | — | 979 of Canada's 1,410 establishments in this code employ fewer than ten people (Statistics Canada, December 2023). This is the competitive structure at the bottom, and it competes on price |
Evidence
Evidence. Modern Dental Group's FY2025 revenue, gross margin, EBITDA, net profit, revenue by market and production countries are read from the company's own 2025 annual results announcement [A]; the 76.9% ratio beside them is our arithmetic on those rows, not a published figure. Dentsply Sirona, Envista and Align revenues are read from their FY2025 10-K filings [A]. Canadian establishment counts and size bands are Statistics Canada, December 2023 [A]; the US counts are County Business Patterns 2022 for NAICS 3391 as a whole, which is medical equipment and supplies manufacturing and therefore much wider than dental laboratories — do not read them as a lab count. What was NOT sourced: no Canadian dental laboratory's accounts were read; no lab price series was found; no dental-laboratory market size is quoted here at all, because the published ones contradict each other by more than the global total (documented on the 3399 record). Glidewell and the lab roll-ups are named as the competitive field, not measured — they publish nothing. The claims that chairside milling has taken the single-unit crown and that DSOs negotiate lab pricing centrally are the mechanism of the cut and remain analyst judgment: UNVERIFIED. The cut factor is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National body co-founded by ADTO (Ontario) and DTABC (BC); site says 900+ verified dental technicians/technologists, not stated as a member count
US trade association for dental labs; publishes the Journal of Dental Technology; no member count stated on site
Registered forum members per the forum's own statistics footer (32,269 threads, 370,872 messages); posts from the day checked
Main dental-lab trade show, run by LMT magazine; next Feb 25-27, 2027, Chicago; LAB DAY East and West are smaller regional editions
Trade magazine for dental laboratory owners and managers; also runs the LMT SoundBites podcast and a job board
Conexiant trade magazine for lab technicians; CAD/CAM, materials, lab business; latest issue seen dated Nov 2025
Weekly dental-lab podcast hosted by two working technicians; episode 443 dated Sep 21, 2026
Provincial association (not the regulator); runs the Spectrum Today event in Burnaby, 2026 dates on site; no member count stated
Provincial regulators (CDTO in Ontario, CDTA in Alberta) are licensing bodies, not communities, and are left off. adto.ca returned an empty page when opened.