Operating business13% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Grain Handling & Ag Retail

SoftwareTypically runs on Grain accounting, contracts and position management. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Farm product merchant wholesalers

Base industry report for 411 →
Establishments · CanadaA
1,215
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
60%
most common size: 1–4

Of 1,215 Canadian establishments with employees, 60% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA60% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 411, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Wholesale Trade, US · opened 2020
82.8%
1 year
64.3%
3 years
51.2%
5 years
34.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 3

The binding constraint — capital intensity

Elevators, dryers and blending equipment are eight-figure assets serving a farm customer whose own margin is thin, and the majors — the line companies and the co-ops — set the basis a smaller handler has to work inside. The agronomy retail attached to it is a credit business: inputs are extended in spring against a harvest that may not come. The wholesale survey puts numbers on how thin that is. Canadian farm product merchant wholesalers turned over $61.6B in 2024 at a 6.7% gross margin and a 2.0% operating profit, and both have been falling — 7.8% and 3.0% in 2022 [A]. Against a two-cent margin, the counterparties keep getting larger: Bunge Global took Viterra into itself on 2 July 2025 and its net sales went from $53.1B to $70.3B in a single year, beside ADM at $80.3B and The Andersons, the listed mid-sized North American handler and ag retailer, at $11.0B [A]. An entrant is therefore sinking eight figures of steel to earn two cents on the dollar, in a basis set by firms whose turnover alone exceeds the whole Canadian industry group. The form inside this code that does not require the elevator — the merchant trading specialty crops from a desk — is screened separately at 4111, and cuts on the bond rather than on the concrete.

Market scaleregionalunit: one elevator draw area

Farmers deliver to whichever elevator is closest at an acceptable basis, so the draw area is measured in truck hours. The commodity price is global; the share of it a handler captures is entirely local.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 1,215 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 733 have fewer than ten employees and only 4 have two hundred or more; Ontario 368, Saskatchewan 203, Quebec 187, Alberta 168
Operating revenue, farm product merchant wholesalers, 2024A $61.6B, against $65.2B in 2023 and $44.1B in 2019 (Annual Wholesale Trade Survey, table 20-10-0077-01)
Gross margin and operating profit, 2022–2024A Gross margin 7.8% → 6.2% → 6.7%; operating profit 3.0% → 1.8% → 2.0% (same table)
Bunge Global net sales, FY2025A $70,329M (US$), from $53,108M in 2024 — Viterra became a wholly-owned subsidiary on 2 July 2025
Archer-Daniels-Midland revenue, FY2025A $80,269M (US$), from $85,530M in 2024 and $93,935M in 2023
The Andersons revenue, FY2025A $11,008.9M (US$) — the listed mid-sized North American handler and ag retailer
Boundary mechanismUNVERIFIED Truck-hours to the elevator, adjusted for the basis offered
Price settingUNVERIFIED Global commodity price, locally adjusted basis — the handler sets neither
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Bunge Global (NYSE: BG), which has held Viterra's Canadian elevator network since 2 July 2025, alongside the privately held Richardson International
Scale
Bunge net sales $70,329M in 2025, up from $53,108M in 2024 as Viterra consolidated. ADM turned over $80,269M in 2025 and The Andersons $11,008.9M. Statistics Canada sizes every farm product merchant wholesaler in the country at $61.6B of operating revenue in 2024 — less than one of these firms
Concentration
Not published for Canada. What the numbers do establish is the mismatch: a single listed major's global turnover exceeds the operating revenue of the entire Canadian industry group it competes inside
Others in the field
Cargill, Richardson International, Parrish & Heimbecker, G3 Canada and Paterson Grain on the handling side; Nutrien Ag Solutions and the Federated Co-operatives retails on the agronomy side; and the 733 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employees, which is where a new entrant would actually sit
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Gross margin across Canadian farm product merchant wholesalers fell from 7.8% in 2022 to 6.2% in 2023 before recovering to 6.7% in 2024; operating profit went 3.0% → 1.8% → 2.0% (Statistics Canada, table 20-10-0077-01). The handler's take is compressing, not widening
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — The consolidation happens above the entrant's head. Nobody found is rolling up country elevators; what is consolidating is the set of firms an elevator sells to and prices against. Bunge closed its combination with Viterra on 2 July 2025, buying it from Glencore, CPPIB and BCI, and its net sales rose $17.2B in the year. For a small handler that means fewer, larger counterparties setting the basis it has to work inside — and no obvious consolidator bidding for its own assets when it wants out.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Operating revenue, Canadian farm product merchant wholesalers, 2024A $61.6B, against $65.2B in 2023 and $44.1B in 2019 (Statistics Canada table 20-10-0077-01)
Gross margin and operating profit, 2022–2024A 7.8% → 6.2% → 6.7% gross margin; 3.0% → 1.8% → 2.0% operating profit (same table)
Bunge Global net sales, FY2025A $70,329M (US$), from $53,108M in 2024
Bunge's acquisition of ViterraA Viterra Limited became a wholly-owned subsidiary of Bunge Global SA on 2 July 2025, bought from Glencore, CPPIB, BCI and the Viterra employee trust
Archer-Daniels-Midland revenue, FY2025A $80,269M (US$), from $85,530M in 2024
The Andersons revenue, FY2025A $11,008.9M (US$), from $11,257.5M in 2024
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$188.5B

Disclosed revenue from 4 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 6 named · 4 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Bunge GlobalNYSE: BGA $70.3B — FY2025 net sales (US$), including Viterra from 2 July 2025
Archer-Daniels-MidlandNYSE: ADMA $80.3B — FY2025 revenue (US$)
The AndersonsNASDAQ: ANDEA $11.0B — FY2025 revenue (US$); the listed mid-sized comparable — grain trade, renewables and plant nutrients
NutrienNYSE/TSX: NTRA $26.9B — FY2025 sales (US$), company-wide. Nutrien is a fertilizer producer whose Nutrien Ag Solutions arm is the ag-retail counterparty; the segment split was not read for this record
Richardson International, Parrish & Heimbecker, G3 Canada and Paterson GrainC not disclosed — The privately held Canadian line companies and Cargill's Canadian grain business. None publishes accounts and none was researched for this record
Independent country elevators and ag retailsA not disclosed — 733 of Canada's 1,215 farm-product wholesaling establishments have fewer than ten employees; Ontario 368, Saskatchewan 203 (Statistics Canada, December 2023)

Evidence

Evidence. The revenue, gross margin and operating profit figures were read directly from Statistics Canada's Annual Wholesale Trade Survey, table 20-10-0077-01, which publishes subsector 411; that subsector contains only this one industry group, so the figures are the group's [A]. Bunge Global's, ADM's and The Andersons' FY2025 revenues were read from their XBRL company facts as filed with their Forms 10-K, and the 2 July 2025 Viterra closing and the identity of the sellers from Bunge's own completion 8-K [A]. Nutrien's FY2025 sales were read from its company facts as filed with its Form 40-F [A]. What they do and do not establish. The survey average blends the line companies with the 733 establishments under ten employees and says nothing about dispersion, so it sizes the industry and its margin but not a single elevator's economics. The listed majors are global; their turnover is set beside the Canadian total to show the mismatch in bargaining weight, not as a share calculation. Nutrien's figure is company-wide and includes fertilizer production — the ag-retail segment was not separated, so no retail-segment number is claimed here. What was not sourced: the capital cost of an elevator, dryer or blending plant (the record's eight-figure characterisation is analyst judgment, UNVERIFIED), any Canadian handler's per-elevator revenue or margin, the terms on which spring inputs are extended, and any share series for Canadian grain handling. The two structural entries in the figures list — the boundary mechanism and who sets the price — are the analyst's reading of how this market works and are tiered UNVERIFIED accordingly; they were previously tiered B, which overstated them. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Association of Agri-Retailers (CAAR)
caar.org

Advocacy, training and its CAAR Connect convention for Canadian ag retailers.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
Grain Elevator and Processing Society (GEAPS)
geaps.com

Chapter-based body for elevator and grain-processing operations staff; runs courses and local chapter meetings.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventInternationalA
GEAPS Exchange
geaps.com

Annual trade show and education programme; 2027 edition 20-23 February in Kansas City.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Grain and Feed Association (NGFA)
ngfa.org · 700 members (2026-09)

Site states it represents approximately 700 companies; grain handling, trade rules and arbitration.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Agricultural Retailers Association (ARA)
aradc.org

US ag-retail and crop-input body; name confirmed in the site footer. Regulatory helpdesk and webinars.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canada Grains Council
canadagrainscouncil.ca

Value-chain council for grain, oilseed and special crops; working groups and a podcast.

Checked 2026-09-22
↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry

Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4111
Specialty Grain & Pulse MerchantStructure decides
binding constraint: capital intensity

The reachable business in this group is not the elevator company — the Grain Handling & Ag Retail record screens that and cuts on steel. It is the merchant without an elevator: a desk, a grain dealer licence and relationships on both sides, buying lentils, peas, organics or identity-preserved crops from farmers and selling them to processors and export buyers. 60% of the 1,215 Canadian establishments have fewer than ten people, so the form plainly exists. The cut is the balance sheet that form needs. Canadian farm product wholesalers turned over $61.6B in 2024 at a 6.7% gross margin and a 2.0% operating profit [A]. A merchant on those margins owes farmers for whole truckloads while waiting on a buyer overseas, so one defaulted contract or one price move between purchase and sale consumes a year's profit. The regulator's own record shows how often that happens. The Canadian Grain Commission makes every licensed dealer post security against what it owes producers, and its 2024-25 programme evaluation counts nine licensed-company failures between 2018 and 2024 with about $42M of producer claims paid — and in two of the nine the security fell short, paying 80% and 77% [A]. The names on that list are pulse and specialty merchants, not line elevator companies. The same evaluation records licensees and farm groups calling the security regime a barrier to new and smaller entrants. Capital here is not equipment; it is the bond, the credit line and the ability to survive a counterparty. Livestock dealing and nursery stock, also inside this code, were not examined.

NAICS 41115 vendors named10 sourced figuresOpen →