Specialty Grain & Pulse Merchant
The industry — Farm product merchant wholesalers
Base industry report for 4111 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 1,215
- Under 10 employeesA
- 60%
Of 1,215 Canadian establishments with employees, 60% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 4
The binding constraint — capital intensity
The reachable business in this group is not the elevator company — the Grain Handling & Ag Retail record screens that and cuts on steel. It is the merchant without an elevator: a desk, a grain dealer licence and relationships on both sides, buying lentils, peas, organics or identity-preserved crops from farmers and selling them to processors and export buyers. 60% of the 1,215 Canadian establishments have fewer than ten people, so the form plainly exists. The cut is the balance sheet that form needs. Canadian farm product wholesalers turned over $61.6B in 2024 at a 6.7% gross margin and a 2.0% operating profit [A]. A merchant on those margins owes farmers for whole truckloads while waiting on a buyer overseas, so one defaulted contract or one price move between purchase and sale consumes a year's profit. The regulator's own record shows how often that happens. The Canadian Grain Commission makes every licensed dealer post security against what it owes producers, and its 2024-25 programme evaluation counts nine licensed-company failures between 2018 and 2024 with about $42M of producer claims paid — and in two of the nine the security fell short, paying 80% and 77% [A]. The names on that list are pulse and specialty merchants, not line elevator companies. The same evaluation records licensees and farm groups calling the security regime a barrier to new and smaller entrants. Capital here is not equipment; it is the bond, the credit line and the ability to survive a counterparty. Livestock dealing and nursery stock, also inside this code, were not examined.
A merchant buys from growers it knows within a production region — Saskatchewan pulses, Ontario food-grade soybeans — and sells into national and export channels. It competes for supply regionally against other buyers bidding at the same farm gates; the sell side is a world price it does not set.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bunge GlobalNYSE: BGA | $70.3B | — | FY2025 net sales (US$), including Viterra from 2 July 2025 |
| Archer-Daniels-MidlandNYSE: ADMA | $80.3B | — | FY2025 revenue (US$) |
| Richardson International / Parrish & Heimbecker / G3 Canada / Cargill CanadaC | not disclosed | — | The privately held line companies bidding at the same farm gates. None publishes accounts and none was researched for this record |
| AGT Food and Ingredients and the Saskatchewan pulse processorsC | not disclosed | — | The processor end of the specialty chain, and a competing buyer of the same crop rather than a customer for it. Privately held; no accounts were read for this record |
| Other licensed grain dealersA | not disclosed | — | Every dealer on the Canadian Grain Commission's register is a bidder for the same production and a counterparty risk to the others; nine licensees failed between 2018 and 2024 with about $42M of producer claims paid from posted security |
Evidence
Evidence. The margin figures are read from Statistics Canada's Annual Wholesale Trade Survey, which publishes subsector 411; that subsector contains only this one industry group, so the figures are the group's [A]. The failure count, payout total and company list are read from the Canadian Grain Commission's published evaluation [A]; the barrier-to-entry line is that report's summary of interviews, not a measurement [B]. What was not sourced: the size of security a new dealer must post (the Commission sets it case by case and does not publish a schedule), any individual merchant's accounts, and the working-capital arithmetic, which is reasoning — UNVERIFIED. The survey average blends large grain companies with small merchants and says nothing about dispersion. The cut factor is analyst judgment. Added in the completion pass: the 2022–2024 margin series was re-read from table 20-10-0077-01 directly (gross margin 7.8% → 6.2% → 6.7%, operating profit 3.0% → 1.8% → 2.0%), which confirms the figures already on this record and adds the 2023 trough [A]. Bunge Global's and ADM's FY2025 revenues were read from their XBRL company facts as filed with their Forms 10-K, and the 2 July 2025 Viterra closing and the identity of the sellers from Bunge's own completion 8-K [A]. Those are global figures for firms far larger than this niche; they establish who sets the terms a specialty merchant trades against, not the size of the specialty trade itself. No revenue, margin or sale price for any Canadian specialty grain or pulse merchant was found, and none is on the record — AGT Food and Ingredients and the line companies are named without figures for that reason.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National body for pulse growers, processors and exporters; absorbed the Canadian Special Crops Association.
Trade body for the pulse supply chain; members-only weekly pulse price report.
Levy-funded grower body in the province that grows most of Canada's lentils and peas.
Home page states it represents 5,400 growers of pea, bean, lentil, chickpea, faba bean, soybean and lupin.
Publishes the bi-weekly Bean Report and Pulse Beat magazine; agronomy and market development.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.
No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.