Operating business21% entry signalMarket screen7 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Foodservice Distribution

SoftwareTypically runs on Distribution ERP, route accounting, warehouse and lot traceability. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-17

The industry — Food merchant wholesalers

Base industry report for 4131 →
Establishments · CanadaA
6,020
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
63%
most common size: 1–4

Of 6,020 Canadian establishments with employees, 63% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA63% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 413, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Wholesale Trade, US · opened 2020
82.8%
1 year
64.3%
3 years
51.2%
5 years
34.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 5

The binding constraint — capital intensity

Three listed companies hold roughly half of North American foodservice distribution, and they are still buying. Sysco turned $84.6B in fiscal 2026, up 3.9%, and its own 10-K puts it at about 18% of an approximately $377B US foodservice market [A]. Performance Food Group's Foodservice segment did $36.6B on $1.29B of adjusted EBITDA [A]. Neither number is the problem. The problem is the margin underneath them: Sysco's strongest segment, US Foodservice Operations, earned $3,518M of operating income on $58,803M of sales — 6.0 cents on the dollar, and flat year over year [A]. Entry means a refrigerated distribution centre, a delivery fleet and working capital for a restaurant that pays slowly, before a single case moves, to chase six points against buyers whose scale sets the cost of goods. And the consolidators reach downward now: Sysco agreed in March 2026 to pay about $29.1B for Jetro Restaurant Depot, 167 cash-and-carry warehouses serving more than 725,000 independent operators [A], while PFG paid $1,978.6M for Cheney Brothers in October 2024 [A]. Sysco's filing is candid that barriers to entry are low and switching costs are very low — which is exactly why the margin is thin. The reachable version is specialty distribution — ethnic, local-farm or allergen ranges the majors' assortment does not carry — and that is not screened here.

Market scaleregionalunit: one distribution centre and the routes it runs

A foodservice distributor delivers from a refrigerated depot on an overnight radius, so the operating unit is one DC and its routes. The national totals belong to companies running hundreds of them and say nothing about whether one more depot is viable.

Handle — Performance Food Group's distribution-centre count. Sysco gives the industry's size and its own share but never a per-facility number. PFG publishes segment net sales and the exact count of distribution centres in each segment in the same 10-K, which is the only place in this trade where one depot's revenue falls out of two reported figures.

Sysco sales, fiscal 2026 (52 weeks to 27 June 2026)A $84,553M, up 3.9%; operating income $3,095M, 3.7% of sales and up 0.2%
Sysco US Foodservice Operations, fiscal 2026A sales $58,803M, up 3.2% — 69.5% of the company; gross profit $11,239M against $7,721M of operating expenses; operating income $3,518M, 6.0% of segment sales, up 0.1%
Sysco's own market statement, fiscal 2026 Form 10-KA “We estimate that we serve about 18% of an approximately $377 billion annual foodservice market in the U.S., as estimated by Technomic, Inc., for calendar year 2025”, projected to about $390B by the end of calendar 2026
Sysco on entry, same filingA “The foodservice distribution industry is fragmented and highly competitive… barriers to entry by new competitors, or geographic or product line expansion by existing competitors, are low”; switching costs are described as very low
Performance Food Group Foodservice, fiscal 2026 (52 weeks to 27 June 2026)A net sales $36,560.3M, up 8.7%, on Segment Adjusted EBITDA of $1,293.0M; 90 Foodservice distribution centres; independents 42.1% of segment sales
What the consolidators are payingA Sysco agreed in March 2026 to pay about $29.1B for Jetro Restaurant Depot — $21.6B cash plus 91.5 million shares — for 167 cash-and-carry warehouses in 35 states serving more than 725,000 independent operators; PFG paid $1,978.6M for Cheney Brothers in October 2024, which contributed $3.7B of fiscal 2026 sales
Canadian establishments with employeesA 6,020 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 3,787 have fewer than ten employees; Ontario 2,235, Quebec 1,606, British Columbia 1,034
Operating revenue and margin, Canadian food merchant wholesalers, 2024A $166.8B at a 17.2% gross margin and a 4.9% operating profit, against $131.0B and 5.3% in 2019 (Annual Wholesale Trade Survey, table 20-10-0077-01; the 2024 estimate is preliminary)
National addressable figureUNVERIFIED Not applicable — a depot serves its own overnight radius, and the majors' totals are the sum of hundreds
Net sales per Foodservice distribution centre, Performance Food Group~$406M a yearB

$36,560.3M of fiscal 2026 Foodservice segment net sales divided by the 90 Foodservice distribution centres reported in the same Form 10-K. Derived from two figures in one filing. It is what one broadline depot turns inside a company with national procurement, Performance Brands and 44,000 employees behind it; a standalone depot would run smaller and buy worse on every case.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Sysco (NYSE: SYY)
Scale
Fiscal 2026 sales $84,553M, up 3.9%, on $3,095M of operating income. US Foodservice Operations — 69.5% of the company — did $58,803M with $3,518M of operating income, 6.0% of segment sales.
Concentration
About 18% of an approximately $377B US foodservice market, per Sysco's fiscal 2026 10-K citing Technomic for calendar 2025. The same filing says Sysco's sales to the US and Canada food-away-from-home industry were the highest of any foodservice distributor in fiscal 2026.
Others in the field
Performance Food Group (NYSE: PFGC), which turned $67.8B in fiscal 2026 and has been in a clean-team agreement with US Foods; US Foods (NYSE: USFD); Gordon Food Service and Sysco Canada in the Canadian broadline tier; Jetro Restaurant Depot's cash-and-carry warehouses, which Sysco has agreed to buy; and the regional broadliners and specialty houses that align through purchasing co-operatives and marketing groups — a structure Sysco's own risk factors name.
Lock-in mechanism
Sysco's filing says switching costs are very low and that customers are accustomed to buying from multiple suppliers and channels at once. There is no lock-in on either side of this trade.
Price movement
Sysco's US Foodservice operating income was flat in fiscal 2026 — $3,518M against $3,516M — on 3.2% more sales, so the segment's operating margin slipped from 6.2% to 6.0%. PFG's product cost inflation ran about 4.5%.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — A regional broadliner that works is a purchase, not a rival, and the price is set by three listed buyers. Sysco agreed in March 2026 to pay about $29.1B for Jetro Restaurant Depot and bought Ginsberg's Foods in December 2025; PFG paid $1,978.6M for Cheney Brothers in October 2024. That is also the honest exit for an entrant — but it needs a depot at scale first, and Cheney Brothers was a $2.7B business when it sold.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Sysco sales and operating income, fiscal 2026A $84,553M and $3,095M — 3.7% of sales
Sysco US Foodservice Operations operating marginA 6.0% of segment sales in fiscal 2026, 6.2% in fiscal 2025
Sysco's stated US shareA about 18% of an approximately $377B market (Technomic, calendar 2025, as quoted in the 10-K)
Performance Food Group, fiscal 2026A net sales $67,839.5M, up 7.2%; gross profit $8,090.6M — 11.9% of sales; operating profit $887.5M — 1.3%; Adjusted EBITDA $1,929.4M
PFG Foodservice segment, fiscal 2026A $36,560.3M of net sales and $1,293.0M of Segment Adjusted EBITDA across 90 distribution centres; independents 42.1% of segment sales
Sysco–Jetro Restaurant DepotA about $29.1B agreed in March 2026 — $21.6B cash plus 91.5 million shares — for 167 warehouses serving 725,000+ independent operators; expected to close by Q3 of fiscal 2027
PFG–Cheney BrothersA total purchase price $1,978.6M, closed 8 October 2024; contributed $3.7B of net sales in fiscal 2026
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$152.4B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
$469.7B

Mean of 1 independent vendor estimate.

Published forecast
—Derived — no usable published figure

No usable published figure; the size here is derived from vendor revenue and share.

How each vendor implies a total

Sysco$84.6B ÷ 18% = $469.7B

Competitor set · 6 named · 2 disclose revenue · 1 with a published share

NameRevenueShareNote
SyscoNYSE: SYYA $84.6B 18% fiscal 2026 sales, 52 weeks to 27 June 2026
Performance Food GroupNYSE: PFGCA $67.8B — fiscal 2026 net sales, 52 weeks to 27 June 2026; the Foodservice segment alone was $36,560.3M
US FoodsNYSE: USFDC not disclosed — The third listed major. Its Form 10-K for the year to 27 December 2025 is on file but was not opened for this record, so no figure is carried here. PFG disclosed $20.2M of fiscal 2026 legal and professional fees tied to shareholder activism and a clean team agreement with US Foods.
Jetro Restaurant DepotA not disclosed — 167 large-format cash-and-carry warehouses in 35 states serving more than 725,000 independent restaurants and operators. Sysco agreed in March 2026 to acquire it for about $29.1B; the transaction had not closed at the 10-K date.
Gordon Food ServiceC not disclosed — The large private broadliner in Canada and the US Midwest. Privately held; no financials published and none researched for this record.
The regional broadliners and specialty housesA not disclosed — 6,020 Canadian establishments, 3,787 of them with fewer than ten employees (Statistics Canada, December 2023). Sysco's own risk factors describe them aligning through purchasing co-operatives and marketing groups to match its buying power.

Evidence

Evidence. Sysco's figures are read from its Form 10-K for fiscal 2026, the 52 weeks to 27 June 2026, filed 21 August 2026 — the current filing, not the fiscal 2025 one this record originally carried. Segment sales and operating income come from the segment table in the MD&A, not from the company-wide headline; the market size and the 18% share are quoted verbatim from the Competition section, where Sysco attributes the market figure to Technomic, Inc. for calendar 2025. That share is therefore a market-research estimate inside a filing — tier A for what Sysco states, not for what the market is. Performance Food Group's figures are read from its fiscal 2026 Form 10-K, filed 12 August 2026: the segment net-sales and Adjusted EBITDA table, the properties item for the distribution-centre counts, and the acquisitions note for the Cheney Brothers purchase price. The Canadian revenue and margin series is from Statistics Canada's Annual Wholesale Trade Survey, table 20-10-0077-01, where 2024 is flagged preliminary. What none of it establishes: the per-depot figure is derived from PFG's own network and carries PFG's procurement with it, so a standalone depot's economics remain unmeasured; US Foods' filing was not opened, so its revenue is absent rather than estimated; and the specialty niche the reason points at — ethnic, local-farm, allergen — was not screened. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationUSA
International Foodservice Distributors Association (IFDA)
ifdaonline.org

Site states it is the only trade association for foodservice distribution; advocacy, events and operations data.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Restaurants Canada
restaurantscanada.org

Operator-side body; distributors join as suppliers. Closest national Canadian foodservice association reached.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
RC Show
rcshow.restaurantscanada.org

Restaurants Canada's annual Toronto trade show; page is JavaScript-driven and its title confirms RC Show 2027.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
The Food Institute
foodinstitute.com

Daily food industry news and data, with a foodservice section, a podcast and member reports.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaC
Foodservice and Hospitality
foodserviceandhospitality.com

Canadian foodservice trade magazine; blocked automated access (Cloudflare challenge).

Checked 2026-09-22

cafp.ca (Canadian Association of Foodservice Professionals) now serves unrelated marketing-software content and nfda.ca (National Foodservice Distributors Association of Canada) does not resolve; both dropped.