Cannabis Dispensary POS & Inventory Software
The buyer population — Cannabis merchant wholesalers
Base industry report for 4134 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 27
- Under 10 employeesA
- 56%
Of 27 Canadian establishments with employees, 56% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 7
The binding constraint — growth quality
Vendor revenue tracks a retail base in distress: 280E denies dispensaries ordinary deductions, wholesale prices have fallen in every mature state, and closures run well ahead of openings in California and Oregon. Growth in seat counts is not growth in collectible revenue, and the payments rail that funds the equivalent restaurant and salon products is legally constrained here. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor named on this record is private, or sits inside a parent that does not break the line out, so no revenue floor can be built and the market size is genuinely unknown rather than estimated.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.
Competitor set · 4 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| DutchieB | not disclosed | — | Valued at $3.75B in October 2021 and re-priced at a $400M post-money in 2024 — an ~89% reset [C]. Powers 6,500+ dispensaries with $100B+ processed [vendor]. No revenue published at either valuation |
| Flowhub / Treez / Blaze / Cova (Canadian)C | not disclosed | — | Private, venture-funded dispensary POS challengers; Cova is the Canadian one. None discloses revenue |
| MetrcC | not disclosed | — | Holds state seed-to-sale contracts; a regulator-granted position rather than a competed one — screened separately at 3123 |
| BioTrackC | not disclosed | — | The other state tracking vendor; POS systems must integrate with whichever the state chose |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Evidence
Evidence. UNVERIFIED — screened on analyst judgment. Incumbent names and positions are from general market knowledge and were NOT independently researched for this record; no financials are attached because none were sourced. Verify before acting. Updated 2026-09-18: the valuation reset is the finding on this record. Dutchie went from $3.75B (2021) to a $400M post-money (2024) — about an 89% discount — which prices what the market now thinks cannabis software is worth far better than any category forecast does. The 2021 figure is well covered [B]; the 2024 reset comes from a single trade outlet [C] and should be confirmed before it is relied on. No vendor here publishes revenue.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
BC-based non-profit for licensed cannabis retailers that styles itself a national advocate; 2025 posts and 2026 copyright. No member count stated.
Non-profit advocacy and education body for Ontario's private cannabis retailers; latest news item dated 21 Jun 2026. No member count stated.
US trade association for 'hundreds of small businesses' across all sectors of the industry; 2026 policy items. No member count stated.
Largest cannabis business conference and expo; next 1-4 Dec 2026, Las Vegas Convention Center; site cites 800+ exhibitors.
Canadian cannabis industry news with regular retail coverage; articles dated 22 Sep 2026 at check.
Business magazine for Canadian cannabis retailers; content sits behind an age gate so publisher and issue dates were not confirmed.
Cannabis business operators' forum; low volume, RSS feed showed posts dated Mar-Apr 2026 at check.
The Cannabis Council of Canada (cannabis-council.ca) is live but represents licensed producers and processors, not retailers. MJBizDaily and Cannabis Business Times block automated access; r/budtenders is banned; Lift Expo and Grow Opportunity sites did not respond.