Operating business63% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresExecution decidesdefensibility

Used-Vehicle Wholesaler

SoftwareTypically runs on Parts cataloguing, inventory and jobber management. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Motor vehicle merchant wholesalers

Base industry report for 4151 →
Establishments · CanadaA
1,289
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
56%
most common size: 1–4

Of 1,289 Canadian establishments with employees, 56% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Execution decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.

What you would have to beat

Find something that compounds. Entry is achievable and so is the first customer; what is missing is a reason the next entrant cannot repeat it as easily as you did.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDdefensibility — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA56% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 415, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Wholesale Trade, US · opened 2020
82.8%
1 year
64.3%
3 years
51.2%
5 years
34.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 3

The binding constraint — defensibility

Two businesses share this code. One is the manufacturers' own national sales companies, which import and invoice new vehicles to franchised dealers — not enterable at any scale an entrant could reach. The other is reachable: the independent wholesaler who buys trade-ins and off-lease units and resells them to dealers, with a provincial dealer registration, a floorplan line and a truck. 548 of the 1,289 Canadian establishments employ fewer than five people, and that is who they are. The cut is that the wholesaler's edge was information, and the marketplace now owns it. OPENLANE, the digital wholesale marketplace operating on both sides of the border, sold nearly 1.5 million vehicles in 2025 and took $833.5M in auction and related fees [A] — on the order of $550 a vehicle, collected whoever wins. Dealer-to-dealer volume on its platform grew 15% [A]: dealers are trading with each other directly, with condition reports and price history on screen, which is the gap the travelling wholesaler used to occupy. The marketplace also takes principal positions itself — $410.2M of purchased-vehicle sales [A] — and lends the floorplan: $433.7M of finance revenue [A]. The wholesaler is left bidding in a transparent auction against its own customers, paying the venue on the way in and the way out. The 4153 record screens the recycling yard, a different business on the same branch.

Market scaleregionalunit: one provincial dealer registration and the auction lanes and dealer lots within a day's trucking of it

A wholesaler is registered province by province, buys from dealers and auctions it can physically inspect or transport from economically, and sells back into the same lots. Digital auctions widen the reach of the platform, not of the individual trader, whose costs are still a truck and a driver per unit moved.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 1,289 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 548 employ 1–4 people; Ontario 464, Quebec 244, Alberta 222
OPENLANE vehicles sold, 2025A 'Nearly 1.5 million' across its marketplaces, US and Canada combined
OPENLANE auction and related fees, 2025A US$833.5M, up from US$735.3M; marketplace dealer volume up 15%
OPENLANE purchased vehicle sales, 2025A US$410.2M, up from US$327.0M — the marketplace acting as principal
OPENLANE finance revenue, 2025A US$433.7M — floorplan lending to the same dealers who trade on the platform
Implied auction fee per vehicleUNVERIFIED About US$550 — US$833.5M divided by roughly 1.5 million vehicles; the analyst's division, not a reported figure
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
OPENLANE (NYSE: KAR) — the digital wholesale marketplace, and in Canada the owner of the ADESA physical auctions as well
Scale
Nearly 1.5 million vehicles sold across its marketplaces in 2025 for US$833.5M of auction and related fees, plus US$410.2M of purchased-vehicle sales as principal and US$433.7M of finance revenue. It sold the 56-site ADESA U.S. physical auction business to Carvana for US$2.2B in cash in May 2022 and kept ADESA Canada, ADESA U.K. and ADESA Europe.
Concentration
Not published. The nearest figure the company gives is that its private-label programmes represented roughly 80% of North American off-lease inventory — a 2022 statement that was not refreshed for this record.
Others in the field
Cox Automotive’s Manheim, the other physical auction network; Carvana, which now owns the former ADESA U.S. sites and buys from consumers before a wholesaler sees the car; the franchised dealer groups that keep and retail their own trade-ins rather than wholesale them; the consumer-direct buyers such as Clutch; and the 1,289 Canadian establishments in this code, 548 of them employing fewer than five people, who are each other’s real competition.
Lock-in mechanism
None on the wholesaler’s side. The customer is a dealer with an account at every auction and marketplace in its province, and switching costs it nothing.
Price movement
The venue’s take is what is visible: about US$550 of auction and related fees per vehicle in 2025 on the analyst’s own division of two OPENLANE figures, collected regardless of who wins the car. No series was found for an independent wholesaler’s gross per unit.
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — The consolidation is in the venue, not in the trader. US$2.2B went to the owner of 56 auction sites; nobody is buying two-person wholesalers, who have no asset to sell beyond a floorplan line and a list of dealer contacts. An owner should expect to wind the business down rather than sell it.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

OPENLANE auction and related fees, 2025A US$833.5M, up from US$735.3M, on nearly 1.5 million vehicles sold; marketplace dealer volume up 15%
OPENLANE purchased vehicle sales and finance revenue, 2025A US$410.2M of purchased vehicle sales as principal; US$433.7M of finance revenue
Sale of ADESA U.S. physical auctions to CarvanaA US$2.2B in cash, completed May 2022: all auction sales, operations and staff at 56 ADESA U.S. vehicle logistics centers plus exclusive US rights to ADESA.com, with about 4,500 employees transferring
What OPENLANE keptA ADESA Canada, ADESA U.K. and ADESA Europe, the dealer-to-dealer marketplaces (TradeRev in Canada, BacklotCars, CARWAVE) and the AFC floorplan business
Private-label share of off-lease inventoryA More than 40 private-label programmes representing roughly 80% of North American off-lease inventory — the company’s own statement in February 2022, not refreshed since
Canadian establishments with employeesA 1,289 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 548 employ 1–4 people
V

The field

Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.

Competitor set · 5 named · 0 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
OPENLANENYSE: KARA not disclosed — Took US$833.5M of auction and related fees in 2025 on nearly 1.5 million vehicles, plus purchased-vehicle and finance revenue; total company revenue is not restated on this record
CarvanaNYSE: CVNAA not disclosed — Bought the 56-site ADESA U.S. physical auction network for US$2.2B in cash in 2022 and buys vehicles direct from consumers; its Canadian presence and wholesale volumes were not researched
Cox Automotive (Manheim)C not disclosed — The other North American physical auction network; privately held, publishes no volumes or revenue
Franchised dealer groups and consumer-direct buyers (Clutch and similar)C not disclosed — Both take units before a wholesaler can bid on them — the group through its own trade-ins, the online buyer direct from the seller. Canadian wholesale volumes are not published and were not researched
The independent wholesalers themselvesA not disclosed — 1,289 Canadian establishments with employees, 548 of them under five people (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — on a regional trade this is the competitive structure, and no revenue series for it was found

Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.

Evidence

Evidence. OPENLANE's revenue lines, vehicle count and dealer-volume growth were read from the 2025 results exhibit filed with the SEC [A]. The per-vehicle fee is this record's own arithmetic on a rounded vehicle count and is tiered UNVERIFIED for that reason. What is not sourced: OPENLANE does not break out Canada in that release beyond listing Canadian employees and calling the fourth-quarter Canadian environment challenging, so the size of its Canadian business is not on this record, no figure for an independent wholesaler's margin per unit was found, and the split of the 1,289 establishments between manufacturer sales companies, truck and RV distributors and independent traders is not published — the description of who the small establishments are is inference from the size bands. Truck, bus and recreational-vehicle wholesaling were not examined. The cut factor is analyst judgment. The competitive field, added in the completion pass: the sale of the ADESA U.S. physical auction business to Carvana — US$2.2B in cash, 56 vehicle logistics centres, about 4,500 employees transferring, with ADESA Canada, ADESA U.K. and ADESA Europe, TradeRev, BacklotCars, CARWAVE and AFC retained — is read from KAR’s own 8-K exhibit of February 2022 [A], as is the statement that its private-label programmes then represented roughly 80% of North American off-lease inventory. That share is a February 2022 figure and was not refreshed, and the sale price is the US business, not a Canadian one. Manheim, Clutch and the dealer groups publish nothing about Canadian wholesale volumes and carry no figures here; the claim that they take units before a wholesaler sees them is mechanism, not measurement.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationOntarioA
UCDA (United Car Dealers Association)
ucda.org

Ontario used-car dealer association (formerly Used Car Dealers Association of Ontario); homepage says 'almost 5000 Members' across 500+ communities, so no exact count given.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationQuebecA
Association des marchands de véhicules d'occasion du Québec (AMVOQ)
amvoq.ca · 1,200 members (2026-09)

Non-profit founded 1989 by used-car dealers; homepage says 'plus de 1200 marchands membres' (dealer members) across Quebec.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Independent Automobile Dealers Association (NIADA)
niada.com · 13,000 members (2026-09)

Homepage says 'over 13,000 members'; independent used-vehicle dealers; annual NIADA Convention & Expo (June 2026, Denver).

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaC
National Auto Auction Association (NAAA)
naaa.com

Wholesale auto auctions body (search results cite 345+ member auctions and 8M+ vehicles sold in 2025); the venue where wholesalers buy and sell. Site blocked automated access.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
Canada's Used Car Week
ucda.org

Cherokee Media Group conference with UCDA as industry partner, covering retail, remarketing, fleet and auto finance; 2026 edition 16-17 Jun, Delta Toronto Airport. No attendance stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Auto Remarketing Canada
autoremarketing.com

Canadian section of Auto Remarketing covering wholesale prices, auctions and dealer operations; articles dated 17 Sep 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Canadian auto dealer
canadianautodealer.ca

Dealer trade magazine (French edition affairesautomobiles.ca) with used-vehicle sales reports; articles dated Sep 2026. Franchised-dealer slant.

Checked 2026-09-22
ForumNorth AmericaA
DealerRefresh forums
forum.dealerrefresh.com

Independent dealer-operations forum (marketing, inventory, used-car departments); posts dated 21 Sep 2026. Vendor-heavy in places.

Checked 2026-09-22

Independent wholesalers talk through the provincial dealer associations (UCDA, AMVOQ) and at auctions; reddit's r/askcarsales is busy but could not be opened this session, so it is not listed.