Operating business21% entry signalMarket screen4 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Building Materials Distribution Yard

SoftwareTypically runs on Building-materials dealer ERP with delivery, contractor accounts and estimating. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Building material and supplies merchant wholesalers

Base industry report for 416 →
Establishments · CanadaA
9,734
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
58%
most common size: 1–4

Of 9,734 Canadian establishments with employees, 58% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA58% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 416, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Wholesale Trade, US · opened 2020
82.8%
1 year
64.3%
3 years
51.2%
5 years
34.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 10

The binding constraint — capital intensity

A yard is inventory, forklifts, delivery trucks and credit extended to contractors who pay when the draw clears — working capital in three directions at once, against a demand line that tracks housing starts. The buying groups give independents some purchasing parity, and the national dealers beat it anyway. The dealer ERP serving this industry is screened separately at 444.

Market scalelocalunit: one yard and its delivery radius

Lumber and drywall are delivered to job sites by the yard's own trucks, and the economics end where the round trip stops paying. Sized by the delivery radius and the builders inside it.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 9,734 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 3,150 employ 1–4, 2,466 employ 5–9, 2,104 employ 10–19 — 7,720 of the 9,734 under twenty staff — and only 32 employ 200 or more; Ontario 3,735, Quebec 1,830, British Columbia 1,725, Alberta 1,254
Doman Building Materials Group revenue, 2025A C$3.1B, up 17.1% from C$2.7B; gross margin 16.2% against 16.0%; EBITDA C$256.4M from C$192.2M; net earnings C$80.3M from C$54.2M
Doman revenue mix by product, 2025A 81% construction materials, 16% specialty and allied products, 3% other — against 76% construction materials in 2024; legacy-operation sales were held back by lower pricing in certain construction materials categories while total revenue grew on the full-year effect of acquisitions
Lowe's sale of its Canadian retail businessA US$400M in cash plus performance-based deferred consideration, announced 3 November 2022 and closed 3 February 2023; the business operated or serviced about 450 corporate and independent affiliate dealer stores under the RONA, Lowe's Canada, Réno-Dépôt and Dick's Lumber banners, about 7% of Lowe's full-year 2022 sales outlook
National addressable figureUNVERIFIED Not stated — this market is a set of unconnected local ones
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
No single yard operator leads. The largest retail-facing network is RONA inc., privately held by Sycamore Partners since 2023; the listed Canadian distributor whose economics are visible is Doman Building Materials Group (TSX: DBM).
Scale
Doman FY2025 revenue C$3.1B, +17.1%, at a 16.2% gross margin, C$256.4M of EBITDA and C$80.3M of net earnings. RONA's scale is the roughly 450 corporate and affiliate dealer stores that Lowe's sold to Sycamore Partners for US$400M in cash plus deferred consideration.
Concentration
Not published. 9,734 Canadian establishments with employees, 7,720 of them employing fewer than twenty people and only 32 employing 200 or more — the independent yard is the structure, not the exception.
Others in the field
Home Depot Canada and RONA/Réno-Dépôt at the retail end; Kent (J.D. Irving) in Atlantic Canada and BMR (Sollio) in Quebec as regional banners; Doman and Taiga upstream; and, decisively for an independent, the buying groups and dealer-owned co-operatives it joins to get near-parity purchasing — Home Hardware Stores, Castle Building Centres, TIMBER MART, Sexton Group and Federated Co-operatives.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not measured at the yard. Doman's legacy operations were held back by lower pricing in certain construction materials categories in 2025 while its gross margin still improved twenty basis points to 16.2%.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Doman's 17.1% revenue growth in 2025 came largely from the full-year effect of acquisitions rather than legacy volume, so the distribution tier is being bought. At the retail end the direction was the opposite: Lowe's sold the whole Canadian business — about 450 stores — to a private-equity buyer for US$400M cash. An independent yard's realistic exit is to a regional consolidator or a buying-group peer, not to a national strategic.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Doman revenue, 2025A C$3.1B, up 17.1% from C$2.7B
Doman gross margin and EBITDA, 2025A 16.2% gross margin; EBITDA C$256.4M; net earnings C$80.3M
Lowe's Canadian retail disposalA US$400M cash plus deferred consideration for about 450 stores, closed February 2023
Canadian establishments with employeesA 9,734, of which 7,720 employ fewer than twenty people (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$3.1B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 6 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Doman Building Materials GroupTSX: DBMA $3.1B — FY2025 consolidated revenues, up 17.1%
RONA inc. (Sycamore Partners)A not disclosed — About 450 corporate and independent affiliate dealer stores when Lowe's sold it for US$400M cash plus deferred consideration in 2023. Privately held since; no revenue published.
Home Depot CanadaC not disclosed — Canadian revenue is not broken out in Home Depot's segment reporting; its filings were not opened for this record.
Home Hardware / Castle Building Centres / TIMBER MART / Sexton Group / Federated Co-operativesC not disclosed — Buying groups and dealer-owned co-operatives — the route by which an independent yard gets purchasing parity, and the thing that decides whether it survives. No membership agreement, fee schedule or purchasing volume was obtained.
Kent (J.D. Irving) / BMR (Sollio)C not disclosed — Regional banners in Atlantic Canada and Quebec; both sit inside larger private groups that publish no segment revenue.
The independent yardsA not disclosed — 9,734 Canadian establishments with employees; 3,150 employ one to four people (Statistics Canada, December 2023).

Evidence

Evidence. Doman's 2025 revenue, gross margin, EBITDA, net earnings and product mix were read from the company's own results release of 5 March 2026 [A]. The disposal price, consideration terms, store count and banners of Lowe's Canadian business were read from Lowe's own announcement of 3 November 2022 [A]. Together they establish what a scaled Canadian building-materials distributor earns and what the country's largest retail network was worth to the owner who wanted out. They do not establish the cut. The working-capital argument — inventory, fleet and contractor credit pulling in three directions against a demand line that tracks housing starts — is analyst judgment: no single yard's balance sheet was opened, Doman publishes no branch count so no per-yard figure is derived, and no housing-starts series was pulled for this record. That part is UNVERIFIED. What Lowe's paid for RONA in 2016 is widely reported but was not in the release that was read and is deliberately not on the record. The buying groups, banners and Home Depot Canada in the competitive block are named from general knowledge and tiered C; none was researched, and the share of the 9,734 establishments that belong to a group rather than standing alone is not published.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Supply-Build Canada
supplybuild.ca

Formerly the Western Retail Lumber Association; wrla.org redirects here. Independent yards, suppliers and distributors.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Lumber and Building Materials Association of Ontario (LBMAO)
lbmao.on.ca

Yard management and estimating courses, forklift and boom truck training, and the Online Reporter.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Lumber and Building Material Dealers Association (NLBMDA)
dealer.org

Dealer advocacy body; runs the ProDealer Industry Summit and a spring legislative conference.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
North American Wholesale Lumber Association (NAWLA)
nawla.org

Wholesale side of the same channel; runs Traders Market and Wood Basics courses.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Hardlines
hardlines.ca

Daily Canadian home improvement and LBM news plus an annual conference; items dated 22 September 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSC
LBM Journal
lbmjournal.com

Trade magazine for lumber and building material dealers; blocked automated access (Cloudflare challenge).

Checked 2026-09-22
↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry

Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4161
Electrical & Plumbing Trade Supply BranchExecution decides
binding constraint: distribution

The branch is a simple thing — a counter, a warehouse, a delivery truck and a book of contractor accounts — and there are 3,856 of them, four in five with fewer than twenty staff. The 416 Building Materials Distribution Yard record cuts the wider subsector on working capital; this group has a different gate. A contractor buys the brands the engineer specified and the inspector knows, and those lines are authorised by the manufacturer, distributor by distributor and territory by territory. A new branch can rent the building and hire the counter staff; it cannot stock the breaker panels, the boilers or the fixtures its customers are required to install unless a manufacturer chooses to open another account in a territory its existing distributors already cover. What the authorised networks earn is not generous either. Ferguson, which calls itself North America's largest value-added distributor of water and air solutions, reported Canadian net sales of $1,509M in calendar 2025 with adjusted operating profit of $54M — 3.6% of sales, down 10% on the year — against 9.6% for the company as a whole [A]. A billion and a half dollars of Canadian volume, with every line it wants, earns a little over a third of the group margin. An entrant would be working for less, with the second-choice brands, and extending the same trade credit.

NAICS 41615 vendors named10 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4162
Metal Service CentreStructure decides
binding constraint: capital intensity

A service centre buys steel, aluminium and stainless by the truckload from mills, holds it, and sells it cut, slit, sawn or burned to fabricators who need two tonnes on Thursday. The processing is what earns the margin, and the margin is respectable. The cut is the metal on the floor. Russel Metals, a Canadian-listed distributor that calls itself one of the largest in North America, closed 2025 with C$1,084M of inventory and C$554M of receivables against C$4,642M of revenue [A] — more than a third of a year's sales tied up in stock and customer credit before a saw is switched on — and earned C$244M of EBIT, about 5.2% of revenue, in a year of record tonnage [A]. The inventory is also a commodity position the operator did not choose: the mill sets the replacement price, so a falling market marks down steel already paid for, and margins 'came down' and 'stabilized' within a single quarter of Russel's 2025 commentary. Capacity trades accordingly. Russel bought seven US service centres from Kloeckner for about US$95M, expecting roughly US$500M of annual revenue [A] — under twenty cents on the revenue dollar, which is what buildings, cranes and processing lines are worth without the working capital that has to be poured back into them. The 416 record makes the capital argument for the building-materials yard; here it is larger, and the stock reprices weekly.

NAICS 41626 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4163
Two-Step Building Products DistributorExecution decides
binding constraint: defensibility

The 416 Building Materials Distribution Yard record screens the contractor-facing yard. This group is the step behind it: the wholesaler that buys lumber, panels, siding and hardware from mills and manufacturers in volume and resells to dealers in mixed, smaller loads. It is a real function — a rural dealer cannot take a railcar of OSB — and 4,771 establishments perform some version of it. The cut is that the middle step keeps only what both ends leave it. Taiga Building Products is the clean public example, a pure wholesale distributor: 2025 sales of C$1,631.8M, down 0.2%, at a gross margin of 10.8% and EBITDA of C$56.7M — about 3.5% of sales [A]. Management attributed the sales decline to lower average lumber prices and lower volume [A]: revenue is a commodity price multiplied by housing activity, and the distributor sets neither. It also wrote off C$20.7M on its Washington State subsidiary as US housing softened [A]. Above it, mills will sell full loads direct to anyone who can take them; below it, dealers combine through buying groups precisely in order to take them. What remains for the wholesaler is the broken-load, mixed-truck business the others do not want, and an entrant would start with none of the mill allocations or dealer credit history that make even that work.

NAICS 41635 vendors named11 sourced figuresOpen →