Operating business67% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresExecution decidesdistribution

Electrical & Plumbing Trade Supply Branch

SoftwareTypically runs on Building-materials dealer ERP with delivery, contractor accounts and estimating. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Electrical, plumbing, heating and air-conditioning equipment and supplies merchant wholesalers

Base industry report for 4161 →
Establishments · CanadaA
3,856
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
57%
most common size: 1–4

Of 3,856 Canadian establishments with employees, 57% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Execution decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.

What you would have to beat

Get to the buyer. The product is reachable and the need is real; the channel is owned by someone else, and a route to it — a partner, a reseller, a trade relationship, a book of clients bought outright — is what has to be built.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDdistribution — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA57% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 416, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Wholesale Trade, US · opened 2020
82.8%
1 year
64.3%
3 years
51.2%
5 years
34.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 10

The binding constraint — distribution

The branch is a simple thing — a counter, a warehouse, a delivery truck and a book of contractor accounts — and there are 3,856 of them, four in five with fewer than twenty staff. The 416 Building Materials Distribution Yard record cuts the wider subsector on working capital; this group has a different gate. A contractor buys the brands the engineer specified and the inspector knows, and those lines are authorised by the manufacturer, distributor by distributor and territory by territory. A new branch can rent the building and hire the counter staff; it cannot stock the breaker panels, the boilers or the fixtures its customers are required to install unless a manufacturer chooses to open another account in a territory its existing distributors already cover. What the authorised networks earn is not generous either. Ferguson, which calls itself North America's largest value-added distributor of water and air solutions, reported Canadian net sales of $1,509M in calendar 2025 with adjusted operating profit of $54M — 3.6% of sales, down 10% on the year — against 9.6% for the company as a whole [A]. A billion and a half dollars of Canadian volume, with every line it wants, earns a little over a third of the group margin. An entrant would be working for less, with the second-choice brands, and extending the same trade credit.

Market scalelocalunit: one branch counter and the contractor job sites its truck can serve the same day

Contractors collect material on the way to a job or have it dropped on site that morning, so a branch competes only within its delivery radius. Manufacturer authorisations are granted over the same sort of territory. A national sales figure is the sum of branch networks, not a market an entrant addresses.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 3,856 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 1,204 employ 1–4, 994 employ 5–9, 851 employ 10–19; Ontario 1,582
Ferguson Canada segment net sales, twelve months to 31 December 2025A US$1,509M, up 2.7%
Ferguson Canada segment adjusted operating profit, same periodA US$54M, down 10.0% — 3.6% of segment sales
Ferguson company-wide, calendar 2025A Net sales US$31,316M; gross margin 31.0%; adjusted operating margin 9.6%
Ferguson acquisitions, calendar 2025A Eight, with aggregate annualised revenue above US$300M
Line authorisation as the gateUNVERIFIED Manufacturers of specified electrical and plumbing brands appoint distributors by territory; asserted from trade practice, no agreement was read
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Ferguson Enterprises in plumbing and HVAC. On the electrical side no single firm leads and the branch networks are Canadian arms of European and US groups — Rexel (Westburne, Nedco), Sonepar (Texcan, Lumen, Dubo) and WESCO (EECOL).
Scale
Ferguson Canada net sales US$1,509M in the twelve months to 31 December 2025, up 2.7%, on adjusted operating profit of US$54M — 3.6% of segment sales and down 10.0% — against a 9.6% adjusted operating margin for the company as a whole on US$31,316M of net sales.
Concentration
Not published. 3,856 Canadian establishments with employees, 3,049 of them employing fewer than twenty people and only eleven employing 200 or more. How many of the 3,856 are branches of national networks rather than independents is not published.
Others in the field
Electrical: Rexel Canada (Westburne, Nedco), Sonepar Canada (Texcan, Lumen, Dubo Électrique), WESCO's EECOL Electric, Graybar Canada and Guillevin International. Mechanical: Wolseley Canada under Ferguson, Emco Corporation, Deschênes Group and Bartle & Gibson. Beside them, the buying groups an independent branch joins to get network pricing and rebates — Affiliated Distributors, IMARK and NetPlus Alliance.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. The binding relationship is the manufacturer's line authorisation, which is granted territory by territory; no agreement was read.
Price movement
Compressing at scale. Ferguson's Canadian adjusted operating profit fell 10.0% on segment sales up 2.7%, so the Canadian margin went backwards while volume grew.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Ferguson completed eight acquisitions in calendar 2025 with aggregate annualised revenue above US$300M. The acquirers of an independent branch are the same national networks an entrant would be competing with, and they are the only bidders with the line authorisations that make the branch worth more to them than to anyone else.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Ferguson Canada segment net sales, twelve months to 31 December 2025A US$1,509M, up 2.7%
Ferguson Canada segment adjusted operating profitA US$54M, down 10.0% — 3.6% of segment sales
Ferguson company-wide, calendar 2025A Net sales US$31,316M; gross margin 31.0%; adjusted operating margin 9.6%
Ferguson acquisitions, calendar 2025A Eight, with aggregate annualised revenue above US$300M
Canadian establishments with employeesA 3,856, of which 3,049 employ fewer than twenty people (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$1.5B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Ferguson EnterprisesA $1.5B — Canada segment net sales, twelve months to 31 December 2025; US-listed, and the largest disclosed Canadian position in the trade
Rexel (Westburne, Nedco) / Sonepar (Texcan, Lumen) / WESCO (EECOL)C not disclosed — The electrical branch networks. Rexel and WESCO are listed and Sonepar is private, but none publishes a Canada-only figure and none was opened for this record.
Emco Corporation / Deschênes Group / Bartle & GibsonC not disclosed — Privately held Canadian mechanical distributors; no revenue published.
Affiliated Distributors / IMARK / NetPlus AllianceC not disclosed — Buying groups — how an independent branch reaches network pricing and rebates without network volume. No membership terms were obtained.
The independent branchesA not disclosed — 3,856 Canadian establishments with employees; 1,204 employ one to four people and only eleven employ 200 or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023).

Evidence

Evidence. Ferguson's Canadian and company-wide figures were read from its calendar 2025 results release [A], which reports twelve months to 31 December 2025 alongside the five-month transition period that follows the company's move of its year end from 31 July to 31 December; the 3.6% is this record's division of two figures in that release. They establish that a fully authorised, at-scale distributor earns a thin margin in Canada. They do not establish the cut. The argument that manufacturer line authorisation is what stops an entrant is analyst judgment drawn from how the trade is generally understood to work; no distributor agreement, manufacturer policy or refused application was read, and it is tiered UNVERIFIED on the record. Ferguson is a plumbing and HVAC distributor, so nothing here measures the electrical half (416110), whose large operators are privately held or report Canada inside larger segments; none was opened. The share of the 3,856 establishments that are branches of national networks rather than independents is not published. The competitive block adds nothing to the sourcing: Ferguson's figures are the same ones read from its calendar 2025 release, and every other name in it — the electrical networks, the private mechanical distributors and the buying groups — is identified from general knowledge and tiered C, with no revenue, membership fee or Canadian segment figure obtained for any of them.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Electro-Federation Canada (EFC)
electrofed.com · 230 members (2026-09)

National body for electrical manufacturers, distributors and agents; About page says more than 230 member companies.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaC
Canadian Institute of Plumbing & Heating (CIPH)
ciph.com

Blocked automated access (Cloudflare). Search snippets of its own site describe 284 member manufacturers, wholesalers and agents with 700+ warehouses and showrooms.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Association of Electrical Distributors (NAED)
naed.org

US electrical distributors' association; National Meeting 11-13 May 2027, Salt Lake City, plus regional conferences. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
American Supply Association (ASA)
asa.net

US plumbing, heating, cooling and PVF distributors; regional summits and NETWORK2026. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventQuebecA
Salon MCEE
mcee.ca

Mechanical, electrical and plumbing trade show, Palais des congres de Montreal, 14-15 April 2027; 2025 edition cited 355 exhibitors and about 8,000 expected visitors.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Plumbing & HVAC
plumbingandhvac.ca

Canadian mechanical-trades magazine, claims the largest circulation to the trades; articles dated to 17 Sep 2026. Circulation figure not stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Supply House Times
supplyht.com

BNP Media magazine for PHCP/PVF distributors; articles to 17 Sep 2026; also newsletters and podcasts.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Electrical Wholesaling
ewweb.com

Endeavor Business Media title for electrical distributor executives; articles dated 16 Sep 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22

Branch managers talk through EFC and CIPH and the US trade press; the busy subreddits (r/electricians, r/Plumbing) are contractors, the branch's customers, not distributors.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry