Operating business21% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Garden Centre & Outdoor Power Equipment Dealer

Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Lawn and garden equipment and supplies retailers

Base industry report for 4442 →
Establishments · CanadaA
1,359
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
60%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
17,838
Employment · USA
178,944
10 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$6.7B
$37k per employee

Of 1,359 Canadian establishments with employees, 60% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA60% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 444, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Retail Trade, US · opened 2020
88%
1 year
72.3%
3 years
59.8%
5 years
44.2%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — capital intensity

Two unlike shops share this code. The garden centre is the one people want to open, and what is attractive about it is real: plant knowledge and locally grown stock are things a big box does badly, and the customer will pay for both. The cut is the calendar. The only Canadian operating data found — a 2010 trade-magazine reader survey, small and self-selected — has 45% of a garden centre's sales landing between March and May and 7% in winter, with 27% of respondents reporting margins of 1–4% and another fifth answering 'Profit? Are you kidding me?' [C]. A year of fixed cost — land near enough to households to draw them, greenhouses, heat, a core staff — is carried on roughly ten spring weekends, in perishable stock, against weather; and in those same weeks every grocer and home centre sets up a parking-lot tent selling bedding plants at or near cost. The survivors are overwhelmingly families that already own the land and often grow their own stock — which is to say the business works once the capital is sunk and written off, and not before. The outdoor power equipment dealer runs on different rails: the right to sell a major line is granted dealer by dealer by the manufacturer, and the service bay rather than the showroom earns the living. That half was not examined beyond noting it, and it sits closer to the landscaping-contractor trade already screened at 561730 than to retail. The dealer ERP on this branch is screened separately.

Market scalelocalunit: one garden centre or dealership and the households within a Saturday-morning drive

Nobody ships a flat of annuals or drops off a mower for service two towns over. The customer base is the owner-occupied housing within a short drive, and the competitors are whichever home centre, grocer and rival nursery sit inside the same circle. A national lawn-and-garden spending figure has no bearing on one site.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 1,359 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); Ontario 515, British Columbia 244, Quebec 240
Size-band shape of the Canadian countA 60% employ fewer than 10; 9 establishments employ 100 or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
US establishments and employment, 2022A 17,838 establishments; 178,944 employees — about 10 per establishment; payroll $6.69B, about $37,400 per employee (US Census County Business Patterns)
Seasonal split of Canadian garden centre salesC Spring (March–May) 45%; summer 33%; fall 15%; winter 7% — Greenhouse Canada reader survey, 2010 data, 8.6% response from an email list
Self-reported garden centre profit margins, same surveyC 27% of respondents at 1–4%; 22% at 5–10%; 20% at 11–20%; 20% answered 'Profit? Are you kidding me?'
Toro Residential segment, FY2025 (year ended 31 October 2025)A Net sales $858.4M, down 14.0% from $998.3M; segment EBIT margin 4.2%, from 7.9%, against 19.4% in Professional
Where the brands actually sellA The Home Depot took 34% and Lowe's 18% of Scotts Miracle-Gro's FY2025 net sales of $3,413.1M — 52% to two customers
Seasonality, measured at the supplierA 41.6% of Scotts Miracle-Gro's FY2025 net sales fell in its second fiscal quarter and 34.8% in the third — 76.4% of the year in two quarters
US lawn and garden retail salesB $66.08B in 2025 against $65.64B in 2022 — up 0.7% in nominal dollars over three years. Derived by subtracting the NAICS 4441 dealer line from the NAICS 444 total, both not-adjusted annual figures in the US Census Monthly Retail Trade Survey
Annual sales per lawn-and-garden store~$3.70MB

$66.08B of 2025 US sales in NAICS 4442 — the Census 444 total less the 4441 dealer line, both from the Monthly Retail Trade Survey, not adjusted — divided by the 17,838 US establishments counted in 2022 County Business Patterns. A subtraction and a three-year gap, so this is the order of magnitude of one site's year, not a measurement; it also averages a two-acre nursery with a multi-line equipment dealership, which are not the same business.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
The home centre and the mass retailer — because they sell the same brands, and the brands need them more than they need the dealer
Scale
The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company sold 34% of its FY2025 net sales to The Home Depot and 18% to Lowe's — 52% of $3,413.1M to two customers, and 25% of its year-end receivables. Toro sells its Residential segment through 'outdoor power equipment distributors and dealers, mass retailers, hardware retailers, and home centers'; that segment turned over $858.4M in FY2025, down from $998.3M, at a 4.2% EBIT margin against 19.4% in the dealer-and-distributor Professional segment.
Concentration
Not published. No share series exists for Canadian garden centres or outdoor power equipment dealerships
Others in the field
Home Depot Canada, RONA, Canadian Tire, Walmart and Costco on the spring parking-lot programme; the manufacturers themselves — Toro, Deere, Husqvarna, Stihl — who grant the right to sell a line dealer by dealer and sell the consumer lines through the big box anyway; and a Canadian population that is overwhelmingly single-site, with 60% of 1,359 establishments employing fewer than ten people and nine employing 100 or more.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. Worth noting that a dealer's inventory is financed by the manufacturer's captive: Toro floor-plans US dealers through Red Iron Acceptance, its joint venture with Huntington Distribution Finance, and Canadian dealers through Huntington Commercial Finance Canada.
Price movement
Toro Residential net sales fell 14.0% in FY2025 and the segment's EBIT margin fell from 7.9% to 4.2%. US lawn-and-garden retail sales were $66.08B in 2025 against $65.64B in 2022 — up 0.7% in nominal dollars over three years.
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — No consolidator was found at this scale, and that absence is itself the finding. No listed roll-up, private-equity platform or franchisor buying Canadian garden centres or outdoor power equipment dealerships was identified, and none of the Canadian operators publishes a store price or a unit-level figure. An owner here has no visible bid to price against — which is the other half of why the survivors are families who already own the land.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Scotts Miracle-Gro customer concentration, FY2025A The Home Depot 34% of net sales, Lowe's 18% — 52% to two customers, and 25% of consolidated receivables at 30 September 2025
Scotts Miracle-Gro net sales, FY2025A $3,413.1M (from $3,552.7M in FY2024)
Scotts Miracle-Gro sales by quarter, FY2025A Q1 12.2%, Q2 41.6%, Q3 34.8%, Q4 11.4% — 76.4% of the year in two quarters
Toro Residential segment net sales, FY2025 (year ended 31 October 2025)A $858.4M, down 14.0% from $998.3M; 19.0% of consolidated net sales, from 21.8%
Toro Residential segment EBIT marginA 4.2% in FY2025, from 7.9% in FY2024 — against 19.4% in the Professional segment
Dealer inventory financingA Toro floor-plans dealers through Red Iron Acceptance, its JV with Huntington Distribution Finance, and through Huntington Commercial Finance Canada
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$164.7B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
The Home DepotNYSE: HDA $164.7B — FY2025 net sales, year ended 1 February 2026 — Takes 34% of Scotts Miracle-Gro's output and carries the same brands at a price one site cannot meet
RONA inc. / Lowe's CanadaB not disclosed — Sycamore Partners since February 2023. Lowe's takes a further 18% of Scotts' US output; no Canadian store count or garden line is disclosed in any filing reached
Canadian Tire, Walmart Canada and Costco Wholesale CanadaC not disclosed — The spring bedding-plant tent and the mower endcap — the competitors that appear for exactly the ten weekends the year turns on. None publishes a lawn-and-garden line
Toro, Deere, Husqvarna and Stihl dealer franchisesA not disclosed — The other side of the counter: the right to sell a line is granted dealer by dealer, the manufacturer finances the dealer's stock through its own captive, and it sells the consumer version of the same line through the home centre. Toro's Residential segment earned a 4.2% EBIT margin in FY2025
Sheridan Nurseries, GardenWorks and the single-site Canadian majorityA not disclosed — 60% of 1,359 Canadian establishments with employees have fewer than ten staff; nine have 100 or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023). The named Canadian operators are private and publish nothing

Evidence

Evidence. Counts are agency tables [A]. The competitive field and the two anchors added in this pass were opened at source: Toro's Residential segment net sales, its share of consolidated sales and its segment EBIT margin are from the segment note of Toro's Form 10-K for the year ended 31 October 2025, read from the segment table rather than the headline bullets; the distribution-channel wording and the Red Iron and Huntington Commercial Finance Canada floor-plan arrangements are from the same filing. Scotts Miracle-Gro's customer concentration, net sales and quarterly sales split are from its Form 10-K for the year ended 30 September 2025 [all A]. The Scotts quarterly split matters here because it is a current, audited, tier-A measurement of the seasonality that the 2010 Greenhouse Canada reader survey below measures badly: 76.4% of a full year in two quarters, from the supplier's side of the same trade. The Greenhouse Canada survey is retained and still tiered C — self-selected, small, fifteen years old. It is quoted because nothing better exists at the Canadian garden-centre scale, not because it is good. What none of this establishes: the economics of one Canadian garden centre or one dealership. No listed company, transaction or regulator series covers them; no consolidator, franchisor or fund buying them was found, and none was invented to fill the gap. The US lawn-and-garden sales figure is a subtraction between two Census lines and is tiered B accordingly. The claims about land ownership among survivors and parking-lot competition remain analyst judgment, and the cut factor is analyst judgment: UNVERIFIED. The outdoor power equipment dealership is now sourced on the manufacturer's side but was still not screened as a business in its own right.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Nursery Landscape Association (CNLA)
cnla.ca

Federation of provincial horticulture associations; site states it has supported the trades since 1922.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Landscape Ontario
landscapeontario.com

Largest provincial horticulture association; runs Congress, training programs and a podcast.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Garden Centres Canada
gardencentrescanada.ca

CNLA's garden centre sector group; the public site is a consumer-facing directory of independent centres.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
AmericanHort
americanhort.org · 1,800 members (2026-09)

Homepage states more than 1,800 company members; runs a buying mastery series for independent garden retailers.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
North American Equipment Dealers Association (NAEDA)
naeda.com

Has an OPE dealer council and a Canada office; equipmentdealer.org redirects here.

Checked 2026-09-22
SubredditInternationalA
r/smallenginerepair
reddit.com

Service-bench troubleshooting; RSS feed returned recent posts. Technicians and shop owners, not only hobbyists.

Checked 2026-09-22

igcshow.com (Independent Garden Center Show) now redirects to a Chicago hotel-booking site and was dropped.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.