Operating business24% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresStructure decidesgrowth quality

Full-Line Department Store

Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Department stores

Base industry report for 4551 →
Establishments · CanadaA
494
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
0%
most common size: 200–499

Of 494 Canadian establishments with employees, 0% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDgrowth quality — Market shape — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA0% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Concentrated — a new entrant competes against establishments with real scale.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 455, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Retail Trade, US · opened 2020
88%
1 year
72.3%
3 years
59.8%
5 years
44.2%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 5

The binding constraint — growth quality

This is not an entry market, and the record exists to say why in one event rather than in adjectives. Hudson's Bay filed under the CCAA on 7 March 2025 with more than $1.1B of secured debt and about $3M of cash; liquidation sales began within weeks, every store was closed by 1 June 2025 and 8,347 employees were terminated [B]. No going-concern buyer emerged for the chain. What sold was the name: Canadian Tire paid about $30M for the stripes, the coat of arms and the private labels [B]. An attempt to take up to 28 of the leases and relaunch a department store was blocked by the court for 25 of them [B]. The mechanism is that the format's two jobs — assembling brands under one roof and anchoring a mall — have both gone elsewhere: brands sell direct, and landlords now prefer to re-let an anchor box in pieces than to a department store. The pre-screen cut this on capital, and the StatCan shape agrees that it is a scale format — 86% of establishments employ a hundred or more. But capital is not what failed here: Hudson's Bay had 350 years of brand, the locations and a billion dollars of credit, and the category still shrank out from under it. The definition's other door — operating a department on concession — makes the entrant an unsecured creditor of the host, which in this proceeding was the class standing behind more than $1.1B of secured debt. What is reachable is selling to the survivors: the merchandise planning software on this branch is screened separately.

Market scalenational

Department stores compete as national chains negotiating with national brands and national mall landlords; a single store has no independent existence. The 494 Canadian establishments are branches of a handful of enterprises, and the count predates the closure of the Hudson's Bay fleet.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 494 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — counted before the 2025 Hudson's Bay liquidation
Size-band shape of the Canadian countA 425 of 494 (86%) employ 100 or more; 286 employ 200–499 (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
Hudson's Bay at its CCAA filing, 7 March 2025B More than $1.1B secured debt; about $3M cash on hand; $16M debtor-in-possession financing; more than 9,000 employees in Canada
Hudson's Bay liquidation outcomeB 87 stores in liquidation from 24 March 2025, the last six added in April; all closed by 1 June 2025; 8,347 employees terminated
Sale of Hudson's Bay intellectual propertyB About $30M, to Canadian Tire Corporation, 2025
Attempted relaunch through lease assignmentB Bid for up to 28 leases; court refused assignment of 25; three British Columbia locations retained by the bidder
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
No national full-line operator remains — the format's trade has gone to off-price, and TJX Canada is the largest apparel-and-home chain left standing
Scale
TJX Canada (Winners, HomeSense, Marshalls) took US$5,629M of net sales in fiscal 2026, up 8%, on comparable sales up 7%, with segment profit of US$757M at a 13.4% margin, from 589 Canadian stores and 12 million selling square feet; it expects 13 more in fiscal 2027 [A]. Hudson's Bay, over the same two years, put 87 stores into liquidation and closed all of them.
Concentration
Not published. The 494 establishments Statistics Canada counted in December 2023 were branches of a handful of enterprises, and the 87 stores Hudson's Bay liquidated in 2025 came out of that population.
Others in the field
La Maison Simons and Holt Renfrew, both privately held and neither publishing results; Costco, Walmart and Canadian Tire as the mass alternatives; Winners, Marshalls and HomeSense on the off-price side; Amazon online. Nordstrom wound its Canadian stores down in 2023.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed. The one adjacent series read for this record moves the other way: TJX Canada's comparable sales rose 7% in fiscal 2026 while the department-store fleet was being liquidated.
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — Nobody is rolling these up — the format is being exited. No going-concern buyer emerged for Hudson's Bay; what traded was the intellectual property, about $30M to Canadian Tire [B], and a lease bid the court largely refused. Nordstrom wrote its Canadian business off at US$284M of pre-tax charges in fiscal 2023 — a US$176M loss on the Canada write-off, US$33M of reclassified translation loss, US$70M of contingent liabilities and US$5M of other exit costs — after winding down six Nordstrom and seven Nordstrom Rack stores by June 2023, and was itself taken private on 20 May 2025 at US$24.25 a share plus a US$0.25 special dividend [A]. The only buyers in this category are buying out of liquidation, or buying themselves off the exchange.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

TJX Canada net sales, fiscal 2026 (year to 31 January 2026)A US$5,629M against US$5,189M, up 8%; comparable sales up 7%
TJX Canada segment profit, fiscal 2026A US$757M, a 13.4% segment margin (13.5% in fiscal 2025)
TJX Canada store networkA 589 stores at 31 January 2026 — Winners 316, HomeSense 162, Marshalls 111 — on 12 million selling square feet; 13 more planned for fiscal 2027
Nordstrom Canada wind-down charges, fiscal 2023A US$284M pre-tax: US$176M loss on the Canada write-off, US$33M accumulated translation loss reclassified to earnings, US$70M contingent liabilities, US$5M other exit costs; six Nordstrom and seven Nordstrom Rack stores closed by June 2023
Nordstrom take-private consideration, 20 May 2025A US$24.25 a share in cash plus a US$0.25 special dividend, to the founding family group and El Puerto de Liverpool
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$5.6B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
TJX CompaniesNYSE: TJXA $5.6B — TJX Canada segment net sales, fiscal 2026, in US dollars — the segment, not the company
NordstromA not disclosed — Wound down its Canadian stores under the CCAA in 2023 at US$284M of pre-tax charges; taken private on 20 May 2025 at US$24.25 a share and no longer files
La Maison SimonsC not disclosed — Privately held Quebec department-store chain and the nearest thing to a Canadian successor format; publishes no results and was not researched for this record
Holt RenfrewC not disclosed — Privately held luxury department store; publishes no results
Canadian Tire CorporationB not disclosed — Bought the Hudson's Bay names, coat of arms and private labels for about $30M in 2025 — a mass merchant buying a brand, not a department-store operator

Evidence

Evidence. Counts are Statistics Canada [A]. The Hudson's Bay figures are from secondary reporting — Retail Insider's one-year reviews of the proceeding and of the store closures, and the case page of Koskie Minsky LLP — and are tiered B; the Monitor's reports on the Alvarez & Marsal site are the primary source and that site refused the request, so the figures were not read there. The two secondary sources give different employee totals (8,347 terminated, put at nearly 90% of the workforce; 'over 9,400' losing jobs) and both are left as reported. The Hudson's Bay account therefore remains UNVERIFIED at tier B. The competitive field added afterwards does carry tier-A figures — TJX Canada's fiscal 2026 segment table, read in TJX's Form 10-K for the year to 31 January 2026, and Nordstrom's Canada wind-down note and merger 8-K, read on EDGAR — but those source who is left standing, not why the department store failed. The explanation offered for the format's decline — brands going direct, landlords preferring to subdivide — is analyst judgment, as is the cut factor. The US department-store chains were not examined.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaC
Retail Council of Canada
retailcouncil.org

Blocked automated access (Cloudflare 403). The national retail association and the body most quoted on Canadian store closures.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Retail Federation (NRF)
nrf.com

The main US retail association; page content refreshed the day it was checked.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
NRF Big Show
nrfbigshow.nrf.com

NRF's January show in New York; the page states more than 45,000 attendees and lists 10-12 January 2027.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaA
Retail Dive
retaildive.com

Daily retail news and analysis, including store-closure and restructuring coverage.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaC
Retail Insider
retail-insider.com

Blocked automated access (bot check). Canadian retail news site that covered the Hudson's Bay wind-down closely.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
ICSC
icsc.com

The shopping centre industry body - the landlord side of a department store anchor lease.

Checked 2026-09-22

RetailWire (retailwire.com), the long-running retail discussion board, returned a 429 security checkpoint from this network and is not listed.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.