Vertical software32% entry signalMarket screen3 sourced figuresStructure decidesentry cost

Retail Merchandise Planning & Allocation

Prepared 2026-09-09

The buyer population — General merchandise retailers

Base industry report for 455 →
Establishments · CanadaA
7,481
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
44%
most common size: 10–19

Of 7,481 Canadian establishments with employees, 44% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDentry cost — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
Measured inputsUNVERIFIEDnot applied — This is a software market. The industry’s business counts describe its BUYERS, not the market being entered, so they are left out of the signal.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Retail Trade, US · opened 2020
88%
1 year
72.3%
3 years
59.8%
5 years
44.2%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 8

The binding constraint — entry cost

Enterprise merchandise planning is a data-integration project before it is a product — item hierarchies, store clusters and two years of history must be loaded before the software says anything useful, and the proof of concept alone runs half a year. That is a professional services business with a licence attached, and it needs a balance sheet to survive the sales cycle. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor named on this record is private, or sits inside a parent that does not break the line out, so no revenue floor can be built and the market size is genuinely unknown rather than estimated.

I

The incumbent

Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.

Incumbent
Oracle Retail and Blue Yonder (Panasonic)
Scale
The two enterprise planning estates most large retailers run; both sold with substantial implementation practices
Challengers
RELEX Solutions, o9 Solutions, Aptos, ToolsGroup, Increff, Impact Analytics
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed
Is the buyer consolidating?
No
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Panasonic acquisition of Blue Yonder, 2021B $7.1B for the remaining 80%, including repayment of outstanding debt — valuing the business at $8.5B
Prior Panasonic stakeB 20% taken in July 2020, ahead of the buy-out
Disclosure consequenceB Blue Yonder — formerly JDA — now sits inside Panasonic Connect and reports no separate line
V

The field

Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.

Competitor set · 6 named · 0 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Oracle RetailC not disclosed — Inside Oracle; not broken out
Blue YonderB not disclosed — Bought by Panasonic in 2021: $7.1B for the remaining 80% including debt repayment, an $8.5B valuation. Now inside Panasonic Connect with no line reported
SAP (Retail, IBP)NYSE: SAPC not disclosed — Retail planning inside the cloud ERP portfolio; no line reported
RELEX SolutionsC not disclosed — Private, venture- and growth-funded; the most cited challenger in retail forecasting and replenishment
o9 SolutionsC not disclosed — Private; planning platform sold across retail and manufacturing
Aptos / ToolsGroup / BoardC not disclosed — Private equity owned; no disclosure

Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.

Evidence

Evidence. Market size UNVERIFIED — no vendor in retail merchandise planning reports a line for it, so no revenue floor can be built. Partly sourced 2026-09-17: the Panasonic acquisition of Blue Yonder — $7.1B for the remaining 80% at an $8.5B valuation, on top of a 20% stake taken in July 2020 — is from contemporaneous trade coverage of the deal [B], and is the only transaction value anyone has published in this category. Everything else is naming and positioning [C]. Verify before acting.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaC
Retail Council of Canada (RCC)
retailcouncil.org

National retail association; search results say members cover more than two-thirds of core retail sales and 65,000 storefronts. Site blocked automated access; confirmed live via search.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
RCC STORE Conference
storeconference.ca

Retail Council of Canada's annual conference; STORE26 ran 2-3 June 2026 at the Toronto Congress Centre; site says 2,000+ retail decision makers attend.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Retail Federation (NRF)
nrf.com

The main US retail trade association; research, advocacy and the Big Show. No member count on homepage.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
NRF 2027: Retail's Big Show
nrfbigshow.nrf.com

The main retail technology show where planning and allocation vendors exhibit; 10-12 January 2027, Javits Center, New York; site says more than 41,000 attend each year.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
Shoptalk
shoptalk.com

Large retail and ecommerce conference (Las Vegas) attended by merchandising and planning leaders from major retailers.

Checked 2026-09-22
PodcastUSA
Retail Gets Real
nrf.com

NRF's podcast with retail executives on trends, careers and the future of retail.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Retail Dive
retaildive.com

Daily retail industry news site covering merchandising, inventory, and retailer technology decisions.

Checked 2026-09-22

RIS News, Chain Store Age, Retail TouchPoints, Retail Insider (Canada) and RetailWire all blocked automated access and were not listed.

↔

The businesses it sells to

Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.

Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4551
Full-Line Department StoreStructure decides
binding constraint: growth quality

This is not an entry market, and the record exists to say why in one event rather than in adjectives. Hudson's Bay filed under the CCAA on 7 March 2025 with more than $1.1B of secured debt and about $3M of cash; liquidation sales began within weeks, every store was closed by 1 June 2025 and 8,347 employees were terminated [B]. No going-concern buyer emerged for the chain. What sold was the name: Canadian Tire paid about $30M for the stripes, the coat of arms and the private labels [B]. An attempt to take up to 28 of the leases and relaunch a department store was blocked by the court for 25 of them [B]. The mechanism is that the format's two jobs — assembling brands under one roof and anchoring a mall — have both gone elsewhere: brands sell direct, and landlords now prefer to re-let an anchor box in pieces than to a department store. The pre-screen cut this on capital, and the StatCan shape agrees that it is a scale format — 86% of establishments employ a hundred or more. But capital is not what failed here: Hudson's Bay had 350 years of brand, the locations and a billion dollars of credit, and the category still shrank out from under it. The definition's other door — operating a department on concession — makes the entrant an unsecured creditor of the host, which in this proceeding was the class standing behind more than $1.1B of secured debt. What is reachable is selling to the survivors: the merchandise planning software on this branch is screened separately.

NAICS 45515 vendors named7 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4552
Dollar & General Merchandise StoreOne thing must be true
binding constraint: incumbent vulnerability

The title says warehouse clubs, and nobody needs a screen to rule out building a Costco. The reachable proposition sits in the residual: the dollar store and the small general merchandise shop, which is what most of the 6,987 Canadian establishments here are — a third of them fall in the 10–19 employee band, the footprint of one chain variety store. The incumbent in that niche is about as far from vulnerable as a retailer gets. Dollarama reported fiscal 2026 sales of $7,255.8M, up 13.1%, Canadian comparable sales up 4.2%, a gross margin of 45.0% and an operating margin of 26.7%, with 1,691 Canadian stores, 75 of them net new in the year [A]. A 26.7% operating margin in discount retail is not a pricing accident. It comes from buying direct from factories in container volumes, engineering products to fixed price points, and running a store design with almost no labour in it — none of which a single store can imitate. An independent buys the same category of goods through importers and wholesalers at a multiple of Dollarama's landed cost and then has to sell them beside a chain that is still opening a new store every five days. The other big name in the group, Canadian Tire, is dealer-operated, but dealerships are awarded by the corporation rather than bought on an open market and were not examined. The one exception the screen leaves standing is the rural general store with a catchment too small for any chain: a real business, a geographic monopoly, and one that has to be found town by town rather than sized.

NAICS 45525 vendors named11 sourced figuresOpen →