Operating business37% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresOne thing must be trueincumbent vulnerability

Dollar & General Merchandise Store

Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Warehouse clubs, Supercentres and other general merchandise retailers

Base industry report for 4552 →
Establishments · CanadaA
6,987
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
47%
most common size: 10–19

Of 6,987 Canadian establishments with employees, 47% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDincumbent vulnerability — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA47% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Mixed — neither a field of micro-operators nor one dominated by large establishments.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 455, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Retail Trade, US · opened 2020
88%
1 year
72.3%
3 years
59.8%
5 years
44.2%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 7

The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability

The title says warehouse clubs, and nobody needs a screen to rule out building a Costco. The reachable proposition sits in the residual: the dollar store and the small general merchandise shop, which is what most of the 6,987 Canadian establishments here are — a third of them fall in the 10–19 employee band, the footprint of one chain variety store. The incumbent in that niche is about as far from vulnerable as a retailer gets. Dollarama reported fiscal 2026 sales of $7,255.8M, up 13.1%, Canadian comparable sales up 4.2%, a gross margin of 45.0% and an operating margin of 26.7%, with 1,691 Canadian stores, 75 of them net new in the year [A]. A 26.7% operating margin in discount retail is not a pricing accident. It comes from buying direct from factories in container volumes, engineering products to fixed price points, and running a store design with almost no labour in it — none of which a single store can imitate. An independent buys the same category of goods through importers and wholesalers at a multiple of Dollarama's landed cost and then has to sell them beside a chain that is still opening a new store every five days. The other big name in the group, Canadian Tire, is dealer-operated, but dealerships are awarded by the corporation rather than bought on an open market and were not examined. The one exception the screen leaves standing is the rural general store with a catchment too small for any chain: a real business, a geographic monopoly, and one that has to be found town by town rather than sized.

Market scalelocalunit: one store and its catchment — a neighbourhood or a small town

General merchandise is convenience shopping: people go to the nearest one. The store competes inside a short drive, and the question for any site is whether a Dollarama, Walmart or Canadian Tire already sits inside that circle. The national figures below size the incumbent, not an addressable market.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 6,987 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); Ontario 2,649, Quebec 1,342
Size-band shape of the Canadian countA 2,287 (33%) employ 10–19 — more than in either smaller band; 119 employ 200 or more, the warehouse-club and supercentre tier (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
Dollarama sales, fiscal 2026 (to 1 February 2026)A $7,255.8M, up 13.1%, including The Reject Shop in Australia from 21 July 2025; Canadian comparable store sales up 4.2%
Dollarama margins, fiscal 2026A Gross margin 45.0% of sales; EBITDA 33.2%; operating income $1,937.9M, 26.7% of sales; net earnings $1,309.4M
Dollarama Canadian store countA 1,691 at year end; 75 net new stores in the year
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Dollarama (TSX: DOL)
Scale
Fiscal 2026 consolidated sales $7,255.8M, up 13.1%, of which the Canadian segment alone was $6.8B from 1,691 stores at 1 February 2026; 205 net new Canadian stores over three years, a 14.6% increase in Canadian retail square footage since January 2023; operating margin 26.7% [A].
Concentration
Not published as a share. Dollarama's own annual information form estimates that the four other pure-play dollar-store chains in Canada operated approximately 500 stores between them at 1 February 2026 — against Dollarama's 1,691 [A].
Others in the field
Dollar Tree Canada, plus the three franchise systems Dollarama names — Your Dollar Store With More, Great Canadian Dollar Store and Buck or Two Plus!; then the variety and discount stores, convenience stores and mass merchants its AIF says compete with it **to an even greater extent** than other dollar stores; and the independently operated stores that make up what it calls a highly fragmented industry.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed as a series. What is on the record is the umbrella an entrant would price under: Canadian comparable sales up 4.2% at a 45.0% gross margin in fiscal 2026 [A].
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Dollarama is the buyer, and it buys chains, not shops. It completed the acquisition of The Reject Shop in Australia on 21 July 2025 — 402 stores at year end, contributing A$497.2M ($454.8M) to fiscal 2026 — and holds 60.1% of the Dollarcity group in Latin America, 732 stores and US$1.5 billion ($2.1B) of sales in the year to 31 December 2025, with an option on a further 9.89% exercisable to 31 December 2027 [A]. Three of the four rival Canadian chains are franchise systems, so the ordinary way in at single-store scale is to buy a franchise rather than a business. No price for an independent store was found.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Dollarama Canadian segment sales, fiscal 2026A $6.8B of the $7,255.8M consolidated total; 1,691 Canadian stores at 1 February 2026
Dollarama Canadian network growth, three years to fiscal 2026A 205 net new stores, 41 expanded and 14 relocated — 2,251,773 square feet added, up 14.6% since 29 January 2023
The rest of the Canadian pure-play fieldA Dollar Tree Canada, Your Dollar Store With More, Great Canadian Dollar Store and Buck or Two Plus! — approximately 500 stores between them at 1 February 2026, all franchise operations except Dollar Tree Canada
Dollarama vendor concentration, fiscal 2026 (Canadian segment)A Largest vendor approximately 6.2% of total purchases; top ten approximately 35%; top 25 approximately 49%
Dollarcity, year to 31 December 2025A 732 stores across Colombia, Guatemala, Peru, El Salvador and Mexico; US$1.5B ($2.1B) of sales; Dollarama holds 60.1% of CARS with an option on a further 9.89% to 31 December 2027
Dollarama Australia (The Reject Shop), from 21 July 2025A 402 stores at 1 February 2026; A$497.2M ($454.8M) of sales from completion of the acquisition to year end
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$7.3B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
DollaramaTSX: DOLA $7.3B — Fiscal 2026 consolidated sales to 1 February 2026; the Canadian segment was $6.8B of it
Dollar Tree CanadaA not disclosed — The only one of the four other pure-play Canadian chains that is not a franchise system; its parent does not break out Canada
Your Dollar Store With More / Great Canadian Dollar Store / Buck or Two Plus!A not disclosed — Franchise systems. Dollarama estimates these three and Dollar Tree Canada ran approximately 500 Canadian stores between them at 1 February 2026; none publishes revenue, and no franchise disclosure document was opened for this record
Walmart Canada / Costco Wholesale CanadaC not disclosed — The mass merchants and warehouse clubs Dollarama's AIF calls the greater competitive pressure without naming them; neither discloses Canadian general-merchandise revenue separately. Named here from general knowledge
Independent and small-chain general merchandise storesA not disclosed — 1,964 of the 6,987 Canadian establishments employ 1–4 people and 1,351 employ 5–9 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); none publishes anything

Evidence

Evidence. Dollarama's figures are read from its fourth-quarter and fiscal 2026 results release of 24 March 2026 [A]; consolidated sales growth includes an Australian acquisition, so the Canadian comparable-sales figure is the cleaner growth read. Counts are Statistics Canada [A]; US figures did not join. What is inference: that the 10–19 band bulge is chain dollar-store units (the StatCan table does not say so), that an independent's landed cost is a multiple of Dollarama's (nobody discloses it), and the description of how Canadian Tire dealerships are awarded. The rural general store is flagged from the subsector frame, not researched. Warehouse clubs and supercentres were dismissed without research as self-evidently closed to an ordinary entrant. The cut factor is analyst judgment. The competitive field is read from Dollarama's own 2026 Annual Information Form — its competition, merchandise sourcing, Dollarcity and Dollarama Australia sections [A]; that document names the four rival pure-play chains and estimates their store count, which is the closest thing to a concentration figure this industry publishes. Walmart and Costco are named from general knowledge, not from that document.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaC
Retail Council of Canada (RCC)
retailcouncil.org

National retail association covering independents and chains; the Canadian retail policy body a variety-store operator would join. Site blocked automated access (Cloudflare).

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
RCC STORE Conference
storeconference.ca

Retail Council of Canada's annual conference, billed as Canada's biggest retail event.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
ASD Market Week
asdonline.com

Las Vegas wholesale merchandise show where dollar and general-merchandise stores source product across price points.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Gift Association (CanGift)
cangift.org

Giftware wholesalers, distributors and importers; runs the Toronto and Alberta Gift + Home Markets that small general-merchandise retailers buy at. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
Toronto Spring Gift + Home Market
cangift.org

CanGift's Toronto trade-only sourcing market; next edition January 24-28, 2027.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Retail Federation (NRF)
nrf.com

The main US retail association; no member count stated on homepage.

Checked 2026-09-22
PodcastUSA
Retail Gets Real
nrf.com

NRF's podcast of interviews with retail operators and executives.

Checked 2026-09-22

No association, forum or subreddit specific to dollar-store operators was found in Canada or the US; the segment organises through franchise systems (Great Canadian Dollar Store, Your Dollar Store With More) and general retail bodies.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.