Marketplace Management — One Catalogue Across Amazon, Walmart and the Brand's Own Store
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Find something that compounds. Entry is achievable and so is the first customer; what is missing is a reason the next entrant cannot repeat it as easily as you did.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 11
The binding constraint — defensibility
The platform owns the API, and every feature in this category is one the platform can ship for free. Amazon Seller Central and Shopify's own Marketplace Connect are given away with the account, which sets the price floor before an independent quotes anything [C, vendor]. The evidence is in what happened to the category's only pure-play public company. ChannelAdvisor grew revenue from $145.1M in 2020 to $167.7M in 2021 — about 15% in the single largest year online retail has ever had — then agreed to sell itself to CommerceHub in September 2022 and deregistered that November [A]. It trades on as part of Rithum [C]. Feedonomics, the other scaled independent, sits inside Commerce.com (Nasdaq: CMRC, formerly BigCommerce Holdings), which reports one operating and reportable segment, $342.3M of FY2025 revenue growing 2.8%, a workforce reduction in January 2026 and another in September, and an activist Schedule 13D filed in August [A]. Meanwhile the pool underneath is enormous and untouched: Amazon's third-party seller services line alone was $172.2B in FY2025 and its advertising line $68.6B [A]. Demand is not the question. The question is whether anything built on top of someone else's API compounds. An entrant rents its integrations from the same four companies it competes with for the seller's attention, and each of them has already shipped the adjacent feature at least once. The NAICS anchor is navigation only — 459 is miscellaneous retail, and the buyer for this software is any brand on any marketplace, in any sector.
Sectors joined: Mobile Commerce · E-commerce · Retail Analytics · AI Retail
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 8 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 8 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| ChannelAdvisor (now part of Rithum)A | $168M | — | FY2021, year ended 2021-12-31, from its final Form 10-K filed 2022-02-10. This is the last year it published, not a current figure. The company agreed to be acquired by CommerceHub on 2022-09-04 (DEFM14A filed 2022-10-11), filed Form 25-NSE on 2022-11-15 and Form 15-12G on 2022-11-25, and has reported nothing since. Prior year was $145.072M. CommerceHub and ChannelAdvisor now trade as Rithum [C] — The category's only pure-play ever to file. Its exit is the central fact on this record |
| Feedonomics (Commerce.com)NASDAQ: CMRCA | not disclosed | — | Not broken out, and the parent says so. Commerce.com, Inc. — formerly BigCommerce Holdings, Nasdaq ticker changed from BIGC to CMRC — reported FY2025 revenue of $342.349M (+2.8%) in a 10-K filed 2026-03-02 for the year ended 2025-12-31, split subscription solutions $255.623M and partner and services $86.726M. It states one operating and reportable segment and names BigCommerce, Feedonomics and Makeswift only as product lines, so no Feedonomics revenue exists to cite — Still public, and under visible pressure: Item 2.05 restructurings announced 2026-01-07 and 2026-09-09, and a Schedule 13D filed by Pale Fire Capital SE on 2026-08-27, amended 2026-09-09 |
| Amazon Seller Central (first-party tools)NASDAQ: AMZNA | not disclosed | — | Free to sellers; there is no software revenue line and none is claimed. Amazon's FY2025 10-K (year ended 2025-12-31, filed 2026-02-06) discloses third-party seller services net sales of $172.162B and advertising services of $68.635B — those are the pools this software sits beside, not a measure of the software market — The real price floor, and the owner of the API every independent depends on |
| Shopify Marketplace ConnectNYSE: SHOPA | not disclosed | — | Bundled with the Shopify plan at no incremental licence [C, vendor]. Shopify's FY2025 revenue was $11.556B (10-K filed 2026-02-11, year ended 2025-12-31); it does not disaggregate channel or app revenue, so no figure for this product can be sourced — The second free tier — and the clearest instance of a platform absorbing an independent's feature |
| Sellercloud, Linnworks, Channable, ZentailC | not disclosed | — | All private; none publishes revenue — The mid-market listing and order-routing tier. Ownership of several has changed hands and was NOT verified here |
| Extensiv (formerly Skubana)C | not disclosed | — | Private; no disclosure — Skubana was folded into 3PL Central and rebranded Extensiv [C] — the order-and-inventory half of the category drifting toward third-party logistics |
| Pacvue, Perpetua, TeikametricsC | not disclosed | — | All private; no disclosure — Retail-media optimisation. The healthiest sub-segment, because it is priced against Amazon's $68.6B advertising line rather than against a free listings tool — but it runs on Amazon's advertising API on Amazon's terms |
| Jungle Scout, Helium 10, SoStockedC | not disclosed | — | All private; no disclosure — Seller research and inventory planning for the long tail. Sold by subscription to individuals, which is a different business from the enterprise listing platforms above |
Startups & challengers
Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.
| Company | Stage | What it does | Raised |
|---|---|---|---|
| Big Commerce | Funded challenger | Ecommerce storefront platform for mid-market brands; owns Feedonomics (rebranded Commerce.com) | — |
| Fabric ↗ | Funded challenger | Headless commerce, order management and product data for retailers. | — |
| Shopify | Funded challenger | Ecommerce and POS platform for merchants with built-in payments and lending | — |
| Optiversal | Startup | AI-generated product and category content for online retailers. | — |
| MaxRetail | Scrappy competitor | Lists retailers' unsold inventory across online marketplaces. | — |
Vendor landscape
Market leaders, the full paid field, and every open-source alternative. Where a free tier exists it is what sets the price floor, so it is analysis rather than an appendix.
Private. ChannelAdvisor's last published year was $167.7M (FY2021) [A]; nothing since
Not broken out. Parent FY2025 revenue $342.3M, +2.8%, one reportable segment [A]
Free with the account; no revenue line exists [A on the non-disclosure]
Paid field · 9 vendors
The reference platform; private since November 2022
Inside Commerce.com; feed and catalogue syndication rather than full order management
Private
Private
Private
Private
Private
All private; priced against ad spend rather than per listing
Private; research-led subscriptions
Open source · 4 projects — the price floor
A storefront, not a marketplace manager — but its free community channel and feed plugins cover the Google, eBay and Amazon feed cases for a small seller, which is exactly where the independents' cheapest tier competes
Self-hosted commerce with community-built marketplace connectors. Free in licence, expensive in developer time — the usual open-source trade, and it does cap what a small seller will pay
API-first headless commerce. Channel management is something the implementer builds rather than buys
Node-based headless commerce with a plugin model; same pattern — the integration is assembled, not licensed
The price floor here is not set by open source. It is set by the platforms. In most software categories a free self-hosted alternative is what caps pricing; here the free alternative is shipped by Amazon and Shopify themselves, inside the account the seller already has, wired to the APIs the independents must ask permission to use. That is a harder floor than open source, because it improves on the platform's schedule and cannot be out-engineered.
Evidence
Evidence. Sourced from EDGAR by direct retrieval, 2026-09-20. Tier A and opened: ChannelAdvisor's final 10-K (FY2021, $167.729M, filed 2022-02-10) plus its DEFM14A (2022-10-11, naming CommerceHub and the 2022-09-04 merger agreement), Form 25-NSE (2022-11-15) and Form 15-12G (2022-11-25) — so the de-registration is confirmed rather than assumed, and the figure is labelled as its last published year rather than presented as current. Commerce.com's FY2025 10-K (filed 2026-03-02) confirms the rename from BigCommerce Holdings, the Nasdaq ticker change from BIGC to CMRC, one operating and reportable segment, and revenue of $342.349M split $255.623M / $86.726M; its 8-Ks of 2026-01-07 and 2026-09-09 (Item 2.05) and the Pale Fire Capital SE Schedule 13D of 2026-08-27 were taken from the EDGAR filing index. Amazon's and Shopify's FY2025 10-Ks were opened for the $172.162B third-party seller services line, the $68.635B advertising line and Shopify's $11.556B total. NOT sourced, stated plainly: no market size for marketplace-management software was found and none is asserted — the only sizing available is a revenue floor of $167.7M from a company that stopped reporting in 2022, which understates the market by whatever the private vendors now earn. No surviving vendor publishes revenue or share, so every private row is tier C and that silence is the finding. The free-tier claims for Amazon Seller Central and Shopify Marketplace Connect are vendor product positioning [C], not filings. Ownership of Sellercloud, Linnworks, Channable, Zentail and Extensiv was NOT verified and nothing is claimed about it beyond the Skubana rebrand, which is tier C. The 459 anchor is navigational; this market is not contained by it.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National retail trade association covering online merchants; site blocked automated access (403 on both routes); search results show it live
Amazon's own public seller discussion board; where multichannel sellers raise listing, API and account issues
Shopify's public merchant forum; Technical Q&A board showed 3,006 topics at check
General online-retail operators subreddit; RSS feed showed a post dated 22 Sep 2026
The marketplace-seller conference; 2-3 Mar 2027, Las Vegas, per the site
Paid private community for owners of 7- and 8-figure brands ($199-299/month); '50,000+ searchable discussions' per the site. No member count stated
Data and analysis on Amazon, Walmart and other marketplaces, aimed at operators and software firms
E-commerce research and news; publishes the Top 1000 and marketplace rankings
r/FulfillmentByAmazon and r/AmazonSeller could not be confirmed from this network and are not listed.