Retail Florists
The industry — Florists
Base industry report for 4593 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 1,550
- Under 10 employeesA
- 88%
Of 1,550 Canadian establishments with employees, 88% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 4
The binding constraint — growth quality
A category in long decline, and the largest online player is losing money in it. 1-800-Flowers turned $1.50B in fiscal 2026, down 10.8%, and took a $134.8M net loss including a $45.2M goodwill and intangible impairment — the second write-down in two years, after $143.8M in fiscal 2025 [A]. Its Consumer Floral & Gifts segment fell 17.7% to $638.9M and returned a contribution margin of $0.6M [A]: the scale player earns essentially nothing on the flowers. What it does earn comes from the florists — BloomNet, the wire service independents join, returned a $26.9M contribution margin on $96.8M of revenue [A]. Beneath that, storefronts have been disappearing for thirty years: about 27,000 in 1992, just over 14,000 by 2012, and fewer than 12,000 today [C], with traditional florist market size contracting about 1.0% a year through 2026 [C]. Against roughly $7.91B of US floral retail sales [C] that is on the order of $600,000 of revenue per shop [derived] — a real small business, in a shrinking category, with a loss-making aggregator sitting between the shop and the customer and a profitable toll-taker sitting behind it.
Cut flowers are perishable and delivered by van, so a florist competes inside one delivery radius. National sales totals are the sum of thousands of radii plus an order-gatherer layer that takes a cut of them.
Handle — 1-800-Flowers' two floral segments, read against each other. Independent florists disclose nothing, but the one listed company in this trade reports the shop-facing business and the florist-facing business separately. Consumer Floral & Gifts is what a florist competes with for the order; BloomNet is what a florist pays to receive it. Putting the two segment contribution margins side by side — 0.1% against 27.8% in fiscal 2026 — says where the money in this category sits without needing a market size at all. The storefront count supplies the direction; it is market-research material and is tiered accordingly.
About $7.91B of US floral retail sales divided by the shop count, which is variously given as fewer than 12,000 or about 14,000 — hence a range rather than a figure. Both inputs are market-research estimates and the sales total includes supermarket and online floral that no shop captures, so this is an upper bound on what a storefront earns.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1-800-Flowers.comNASDAQ: FLWSA | $1.5B | — | Fiscal 2026 net revenues, year to 28 June 2026 — Competes with the shop for the order through Consumer Floral & Gifts, and sells to the shop through BloomNet. A majority of its floral orders are fulfilled by BloomNet members. |
| BloomNetA | $97M | — | Fiscal 2026 segment net revenues — 1-800-Flowers' own wire service and the network an independent joins. $26.9M of contribution margin on $96.8M of revenue in fiscal 2026 — 27.8%. Member count is not disclosed. |
| Teleflora / FTDC | not disclosed | — | The other wire services an independent can join. Both private; no financials were opened for this record and neither is named in 1-800-Flowers' filing, which refers generically to “floral telemarketers and wire services”. |
| Supermarkets and mass merchants with floral departmentsA | not disclosed | — | Named as competitors in 1-800-Flowers' own 10-K competition section, alongside online marketplaces, social-platform retailers, catalogue companies and online delivery services. No grocer's floral-category revenue is separately disclosed. |
| The other shops inside the delivery radiusA | not disclosed | — | 898 of 1,550 Canadian establishments employ one to four people (Statistics Canada, December 2023). In a local trade this is the competitive set; the national names are a layer above it, not beside it. |
Evidence
Evidence. 1-800-Flowers' revenue, losses, impairments and both floral segment lines are read in its Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended 28 June 2026 — the consolidated statement of operations and the business-segments detail — and are tier A. A previous version of this record quoted fiscal 2025 as the current year; the fiscal 2026 10-K supersedes it, and the figures moved materially (revenue $1,685.7M → $1,503.5M, net loss $200.0M → $134.8M). The BloomNet description and the list of floral competitors are from the Business and Competition items of the same filing. The company reports in US dollars and does not break out Canada. Market size remains UNVERIFIED — the US sales total, the storefront counts and the decline rate are all market-research figures [C] and the shop count itself is inconsistent across sources (fewer than 12,000 versus about 14,000), which is why the per-shop figure is a range. A separate count of 37,294 florist businesses circulates alongside the ~12,000 storefront figure; the two measure different things and are not reconciled here. Canadian counts are Statistics Canada [A]. Not sourced: any BloomNet member count or fee schedule, any Teleflora or FTD financials, any Canadian florist's margin, and any Canadian equivalent of the US storefront series. The cut factor is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Site states 'more than 2,500 members' across retailers, growers, wholesalers and suppliers.
Growers' association (with Flowers Canada Ontario); the closest national Canadian floral body, not a retail-florist association.
Accrediting body for floral designers (CFD, AIFD); annual Symposium.
Floral trade magazine since 1897; the same publisher runs Canadian Florist.
Canadian floral-industry news title under the Florists' Review group; posting monthly through September 2026.
Paid online community for floral professionals; community page says 'over 2,000 members' (homepage says 5,000+ peers).
SAF's annual convention; 2026 edition Aug 18-20, Amelia Island, FL.
FlowerChat.com, once the florist forum, now redirects to a marketing vendor (strider4florists.com) and was dropped. The busiest florist Facebook groups require login and could not be verified.