Towing & Roadside Dispatch Software
The buyer population — Motor vehicle towing
Base industry report for 488410 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 1,123
- Under 10 employeesA
- 77%
- Establishments · USA
- 10,554
- Employment · USA
- 69,825
- Payroll · USA
- $3.5B
Of 1,123 Canadian establishments with employees, 77% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 6
The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability
Both ends of the tow job have consolidated, and a new entrant would sit in the middle of them. The work a tow company does comes in from three places: motor clubs and roadside networks, police rotation lists, and private-property impounds. Each source is now held by a funded or entrenched owner. Demand side: Agero now owns the motor-club pipe. Agero is privately held and part of the Wolk family's Cross Country Group. It bought Swoop, a web-based dispatch platform for roadside providers, in January 2018 [B, company release]. It then agreed in March 2026 to buy Urgently (NASDAQ: ULY) for $5.50 a share in cash, and the deal closed by late April 2026 [B]. Urgently's FY2025 10-K shows $129.2M of revenue, down from $142.9M. Substantially all of it came from roadside-assistance services. It completed about 0.8M dispatches through about 13,500 service providers, and its top three customers made up 58% of revenue [A]. The combined company claims 150M+ vehicles and 14M service events a year [C, vendor]. That puts the largest independent roadside job feed and the second-largest digital network under one owner, and that owner also runs a dispatch tool for the tow operators who take the jobs. HONK (Santa Monica) is the remaining venture-backed network: $31.8M raised, led by Altpoint Ventures, with the last round in 2018 [B]. Supply side: the operator software has been rolled up. In 2022 Traxero, backed by Radian Capital and Wynsum Partners, combined Tracker Management, TOPS Dispatch, Dispatch Anywhere, Omadi, InTow, TowSpec and Beacon Software. It added the lien tools TowLien, TowMail and Auction Simplified [B, trade press]. In October 2024 Traxero merged with Autura, the government and police-towing platform backed by Nexa Equity. The combined company claims 3,000+ customers and 50,000+ tows a day [C, vendor], and topsdispatch.com and towlien.com now redirect to autura.com. Towbook (Michigan, founded 2007) is the other incumbent. It has no disclosed funding and sells a low-priced cloud tool with motor-club invoicing and QuickBooks built in [C]. Incumbent vulnerability decides it. Towbook is cheap and well liked, Autura owns the police-rotation and impound-lien workflow, and Agero controls both the job feed and a dispatch product. Integration with the motor clubs is where an entrant would get locked in or locked out, and the largest motor-club network now competes in software. The one opening is Canadian and regulatory. Since January 1, 2024, Ontario has required provincial certificates for tow operators, drivers and storage operators, with maximum rates and consumer-protection rules [A, municipal summary of the TSSEA]. That gives a compliance-invoicing angle, but it is a feature for Towbook or Autura, not a company.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.
Competitor set · 6 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| TowbookC | not disclosed | — | Private; no funding disclosed; founded 2007, Michigan. No revenue sourced (the aggregator estimates are not used) |
| Autura (incl. Traxero, TOPS Dispatch, Omadi, Dispatch Anywhere, Beacon Software, TowLien)B | not disclosed | — | Private; Autura (Nexa Equity) merged with Traxero (Radian Capital, Wynsum Partners) Oct 2024; claims 3,000+ customers and 50,000+ daily tows. Omadi had raised a reported $5.7M before it joined Traxero in 2022 (aggregator figure, not used) |
| Agero (incl. Swoop)B | not disclosed | — | Private (Cross Country Group, Wolk family). Bought Swoop in Jan 2018 (terms not disclosed). Claimed 80M vehicle owners and 10M+ requests a year at the time |
| Urgentlyformerly NASDAQ: ULYA | $$129.2M (2025) | — | FY2025 10-K: revenue $129.2M (FY2024 $142.9M), net loss $20.4M, ~0.8M dispatches, ~13,500 service providers, 58 customer partners, top three = 58% of revenue; going-concern paragraph. Acquired by Agero at $5.50/share in cash (announced 2026-03-13, closed late April 2026) |
| HONK RoadsideB | not disclosed | — | Private; $1.8M seed (2014), $12M Series A led by Altpoint Ventures (Mar 2015), $18M Series B led by Altpoint Ventures (Jun 2018); claimed 75,000 providers in network |
| Tow4TechB | not disclosed | — | Private; $1.5M led by BrightCap Ventures (Apr 2025), $3.3M total; commercial-fleet tow dispatch |
Evidence
Evidence. Urgently's FY2025 10-K was opened on EDGAR: revenue $129,194K vs $142,905K, net loss $20,427K, ~0.8M dispatches, ~13,500 service providers, 58 customer partners with the top three at 58% of revenue, and a going-concern explanatory paragraph [A]. Agero's blog announcing the Urgently deal (2026-03-13, $5.50/share cash, Wolk-family ownership, 150M+ vehicles) was opened [B for the deal, C for scale]. The close was opened in Tow Times (2026-05-01, '150 million vehicles and 14 million annual service events') [B]. geturgently.com now carries a 'joined forces with Agero' banner. Agero's Swoop release (2018-01-09; Swoop stays independently managed; RoadsideConnect and dispatch-partner integrations) was opened [B]. The Traxero combination (2022-04-14; Tracker, TOPS Dispatch, Dispatch Anywhere, Omadi PPI, InTow, TowSpec, BudgetGPS, TowLien, TowMail, Auction Simplified; Radian Capital and Wynsum Partners) was opened in Tow Times [B]. The Autura-Traxero merger (2024-10-18; Nexa Equity and Radian Capital; 3,000+ customers, 50,000+ daily tows) was opened in Tow Times [B for the deal, C for the counts]; the Business Wire copy returned 403. topsdispatch.com and towlien.com were followed to autura.com. HONK's Series B (TechCrunch, 2018-06-26, $18M led by Altpoint, 75,000 providers) and Series A (Built In LA, 2015-03-26, $12M led by Altpoint, $13.8M total then) were opened [B]. Tow4Tech's round (FleetMaintenance, 2025-04-30, $1.5M led by BrightCap, $3.3M total) was opened [B]. Towbook's homepage (motor-club invoicing, QuickBooks, unlimited devices, 30-day trial) was opened [C]. Its ownership and funding come only from directory listings that report none. Ontario's TSSEA was confirmed from the City of Brampton FAQ (Feb 2024): provincial oversight from 2024-01-01, three certificate types, a maximum-rates schedule [A]. Towbook's revenue, Autura's revenue, and the size of the market for operator dispatch software are UNVERIFIED; no operator-software vendor publishes revenue, and the one audited figure (Urgently) is gross roadside-service revenue, not software licence revenue. CAA's own dispatch stack was not verified: a CAA Atlantic job posting naming an 'AXIS' dispatch system appeared in search but returned 403.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National US towing trade association; education, certification and safety programs; no member count stated
Ontario towing operators' association; members list, provincial licensing resources, WreckMaster accreditation and an annual Tow Trade Show
Trade magazine; also runs the American Towman Expositions and AT Academy
American Towman's weekly towing news site
Towing trade magazine; covers software deals (Traxero, Autura, Agero)
Operator training and certification body for towing and recovery; accreditation used by PTAO
Reddit (r/Towing) returned 403 to automated fetches and is not listed. No BC, Alberta or Quebec towing association homepage could be confirmed.
The businesses it sells to
Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.