Operating business63% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresExecution decidesincumbent vulnerability

Local Courier & Same-Day Delivery

Prepared 2026-09-11

The industry — Local messengers and local delivery

Base industry report for 4922 →
Establishments · CanadaA
1,504
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
83%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
5,366
Employment · USA
149,851
28 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$7.0B
$47k per employee

Of 1,504 Canadian establishments with employees, 83% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Execution decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.

What you would have to beat

Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDincumbent vulnerability — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA83% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDlow capital — The structural profile of subsector 492, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Transportation and Warehousing, US · opened 2020
84.1%
1 year
67.4%
3 years
52.7%
5 years
36.1%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 6

The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability

Same-day volume is aggregated by platforms and national carriers that subcontract it out at a rate set to their economics, not the courier's. An independent either takes that subcontracted work at thin margin or builds direct shipper relationships one at a time against carriers with tracking, insurance and coverage the shipper already expects. Descartes, screened at 492, is what the software layer above this looks like.

Market scalelocalunit: one driver, inside one metro

Same-day delivery is defined by being inside one metro. Sized by stops per driver per day.

Local messengers and local delivery price index [4922]A 129.0 in July 2026 (2019=100), from 121.1 in January 2023 and 122.6 in January 2026 (Statistics Canada, table 18-10-0275)
Couriers price index [4921], for comparisonA 159.4 in July 2026 (2019=100) — the national carriers repriced by half again since 2019 while local delivery rose 29%
Canadian establishments with employeesA 1,504 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — Ontario 511, Quebec 457, British Columbia 219, Alberta 183
Canadian establishments by sizeA 1,057 of 1,504 employ one to four people; 7 employ 100 or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
US establishments, NAICS 4922A 5,366 establishments, 149,851 employees, $7.0B annual payroll — about $46,700 a head (US County Business Patterns, 2022)
Canada Post parcels, 2025A revenue down $850M (30.1%) and volumes down 79 million pieces (32.6%) as customers moved to other carriers
National addressable figureUNVERIFIED Not stated — this market is a set of unconnected local ones
Angel-backed companies3
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixAB 2, ON 1

Sectors joined: Fuel Delivery · Logistics/Delivery · Retail/Delivery

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
No local incumbent — the price is set above the courier, by the national carriers and the platforms that broker the work
Scale
Statistics Canada's own price index for local messengers and local delivery [4922] stood at 129.0 in July 2026 (2019=100) against 159.4 for couriers [4921]: the national carriers have repriced their work, the local delivery layer has not.
Concentration
Not published. 1,057 of Canada's 1,504 establishments employ one to four people and only 7 employ 100 or more, so there is no local firm large enough to lead.
Others in the field
Purolator and Canada Post, FedEx and UPS in Canada, Intelcom/Dragonfly, Amazon's contracted delivery partners, and the brokered same-day layer — Uber Direct, DoorDash Drive — above a single-van majority.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Local delivery prices barely moved for three years — index 121.1 in January 2023, 122.6 in January 2026 — then 129.0 in July 2026, while couriers [4921] went 135.9 → 147.3 → 159.4 over the same months.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — TFI International is the Canadian consolidator of this sector and added $386.1M of revenue from business acquisitions in 2025. Its fiscal 2025 release breaks out only Less-Than-Truckload, Truckload and Logistics — it no longer reports a package and courier segment at all, so the acquirer's own disclosure no longer sizes this work.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Local messengers and local delivery price index [4922]A 129.0 in July 2026 (2019=100); 121.1 in January 2023 and 122.6 in January 2026
Couriers price index [4921], same monthsA 135.9 in January 2023, 147.3 in January 2026, 159.4 in July 2026 (2019=100)
Canada Post parcels, 2025A revenue down $850M, or 30.1%; volumes down 79 million pieces, or 32.6%, as customers moved to other carriers
Purolator Holdings profit before tax, 2025A $256M, down 12.9% from $294M
TFI International, FY2025A total revenue $7,884.7M (US dollars) against $8,396.8M in 2024, including $386.1M of revenue from acquisitions
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$7.9B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 6 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Purolator HoldingsA not disclosed — Majority-owned by Canada Post. Profit before tax $256M in 2025, down 12.9%, after financing its January 2025 acquisition of Livingston International. Revenue is not broken out in the Corporation's release and is not stated here.
Canada Post CorporationA not disclosed — Parcels revenue fell $850M, or 30.1%, in 2025 and volumes fell 79 million pieces, or 32.6%, as delivery customers signed with other carriers. That volume is the work an independent courier subcontracts for.
TFI InternationalNYSE/TSX: TFIIA $7.9B — FY2025 total revenue, US dollars, from its fourth-quarter results release
Intelcom / DragonflyC not disclosed — Quebec-based last-mile carrier; privately held, no revenue published, and not researched for this record.
Uber Direct, DoorDash Drive and Amazon's delivery partnersC not disclosed — The brokered layer that sets the rate for a same-day drop. What they pay a driver or a subcontractor is not published, and was not researched for this record.
The single-van majorityA not disclosed — 1,057 of 1,504 Canadian establishments employ one to four people (Statistics Canada, December 2023); only 7 employ 100 or more.

Evidence

Evidence. The two price series are Statistics Canada's Couriers and Messengers Services Price Index (table 18-10-0275), read from the agency's own data service: the local messengers and local delivery index [4922] and the couriers index [4921], both 2019=100 [A]. They are the anchor on this record, because they measure what happened to the price of this work rather than what an operator says about it. Canada Post's parcel revenue and volume declines and Purolator's profit before tax are from the Corporation's own 2025 results release of 20 April 2026 [A]; Purolator's revenue is not broken out there and is not stated here. TFI International's FY2025 revenue and its $386.1M of acquired revenue are from the fourth-quarter release filed on SEC Form 6-K on 17 February 2026 [A] — that release breaks out only Less-Than-Truckload, Truckload and Logistics. Counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) [A]. What this does not establish: no series measures the revenue or the margin of a single-metro same-day courier, and none of the platforms that broker this work publish what they pay a driver or a subcontractor — so the claim that the rate is set to the aggregator's economics is consistent with the price series but is not measured by it. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationNorth AmericaA
Customized Logistics and Delivery Association (CLDA)
clda.org

Founded 1987 (formerly MCAA); carriers, shippers, 3PLs, drivers and affiliates in first-to-final-mile delivery. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
CLDA Final Mile Forum
clda.org

Feb 10-12, 2027, Orlando; CLDA's flagship meeting for courier carriers, shippers and 3PLs. No attendance figure stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
PARCEL
parcelindustry.com

Trade magazine for small-package shipping and logistics; runs the PARCEL Forum. Readership not stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
PARCEL Forum
parcelforum.com

Small-package fulfillment conference; next Sept 13-15, 2027, National Harbor, MD. No attendance figure stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
SubredditInternationalC
r/couriersofreddit
reddit.com

Reddit blocked automated access. GummySearch (secondary) listed 95k members as of 2026-09-20; mostly app/gig delivery drivers, not operators.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Inside Logistics
insidelogistics.ca

Turnkey Media's Canadian supply-chain magazine; covers courier/parcel only tangentially. Current to Aug 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22

The Canadian Courier & Logistics Association (CCLA) was dropped: its domain canadiancourier.org now serves unrelated casino-shuttle content and no activity after 2015 was found.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.