Central Bank — a Buyer, Not a Market
The industry — Monetary authorities - central bank
Base industry report for 5211 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 5
- Under 10 employeesA
- 0%
- Establishments · USA
- 67
- Employment · USA
- 21,055
- Payroll · USA
- $3.0B
Of 5 Canadian establishments with employees, 0% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 4
The binding constraint — entry cost + regulatory drag
There is nothing to enter here. The Bank of Canada exists under its own Act of Parliament, and the five Canadian establishments in this code are its head office and regional offices, not five competitors [A]. The honest screen is that this is a buyer, not a market, and the useful question is what it buys. Its 2025 financial statements answer with unusual clarity. The Bank ran on $740M of operating expenditures: $416M of staff costs, $115M of technology and telecommunications, $80M of depreciation, $42M of premises and $36M of bank note research, production and processing [A], against $124.3B of notes in circulation. So the addressable spend is one technology line of $115M and a bank note budget that swings with the production cycle — $10M in 2024, $36M in 2025 [A]. Both are reachable only through federal-style procurement with security clearance, long qualification and, for notes, a specialist secure-printing industry with very few qualified suppliers. A new vendor can win work here, but as an extension of an existing security, data or research business that already holds the clearances — not as a reason to start one. One institution with one procurement office is a customer concentration of 100%. Note also what this is not: a profit pool. The Bank recorded a net loss of $82M in 2025 after $3,079M in 2024 [A], the residue of interest paid on settlement balances, which has nothing to do with suppliers. Payment systems, clearing and settlement sit elsewhere in sector 52 and are not covered by this record.
There is one central bank per currency. The Bank of Canada's offices in Ottawa and the regions are a single institution established by statute, so the geography is national by definition and the number of possible entrants is zero.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.
Competitor set · 4 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canadian Bank Note CompanyC | not disclosed | — | Ottawa-based and privately held; the long-standing Canadian supplier of bank notes and secure documents. Publishes nothing, and no contract award value was sourced for this record |
| De La RueB | not disclosed | — | Security printer to central banks worldwide. Taken private by Atlas Holdings at 130p a share, about £263M, completing 3 July 2025 — the one published price in this supply chain, and the reason it will stop disclosing |
| Giesecke+Devrient / Crane NXTC | not disclosed | — | International bank note and security-feature suppliers. Neither was researched for this record and no figure is carried |
| Technology and data vendors holding Government of Canada clearancesC | not disclosed | — | The realistic field for the $115M technology and telecommunications line. No contract award data was examined, so who currently holds that spend is unknown |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Evidence
Evidence. The expenditure, bank note and net loss figures were read in the Bank of Canada's audited financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2025 [A]; counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US Census County Business Patterns (2022) [A]. What they do not establish: how much of the technology or bank note line is actually contestable by an outside vendor rather than committed to incumbents or spent internally — no contract award data was examined. The description of the procurement barriers and of the secure-printing supplier base is analyst judgment from general knowledge, not sourced. Identifying the US establishments as the Federal Reserve System is inferred from the code definition. The cut factor is analyst judgment; in truth no cut factor fits a statutory monopoly well, and 'entry cost + regulatory drag' is the nearest. Added in completion: the De La Rue figures were read in the Rule 2.7 recommended-acquisition announcement of 15 April 2025 as republished in full by Investegate, because De La Rue's own hosted copy refused automated access — that is why it is tier B rather than A, and the primary announcement should be checked before the figure is relied on. It is carried as the only published valuation anywhere in the Bank's bank note supply chain, and it prices a global security printer, not a Canadian contract. Canadian Bank Note Company, Giesecke+Devrient and Crane NXT are named as the qualified-printer field from general knowledge; none was researched, no Canadian bank note contract or award value was found, and the composition of the $115M technology line remains unexamined.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
News and intelligence service read by central bank staff and their vendors; covers Bank of Canada policy and reserve management.
Monthly newsletter on banknotes and the currency supply chain - substrates, printing works and central bank tenders.
Association of currency industry suppliers; runs the Global Currency Forum with central bankers.
Site says the 2026 edition drew nearly 435 delegates from 166 organisations, including 60 central banks and 29 printworks. Next edition Washington, 2028.
Operates Canada's clearing and settlement systems alongside the Bank of Canada; its rules work and Summit are where the domestic payments vendors gather.
Where Bank of Canada economists present and recruit; its annual meeting includes a Bank of Canada-CEA award.
There is no association of central banks to join in Canada, so these are the supplier-side currency and payments communities plus the professional body the Bank's own economists belong to.