Operating business13% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Rent-to-Own & Consumer Goods Rental

SoftwareTypically runs on Rental management — contracts, availability, maintenance and telematics. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-17

The industry — Consumer goods rental

Base industry report for 5322 →
Establishments · CanadaA
1,018
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
71%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
15,805
Employment · USA
110,568
7.0 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$5.6B
$50k per employee

Of 1,018 Canadian establishments with employees, 71% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA71% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 532, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Real Estate and Rental and Leasing, US · opened 2020
88.7%
1 year
70.3%
3 years
57.9%
5 years
45%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 7

The binding constraint — capital intensity

It looks like retail and behaves like a consumer-credit book. The operator buys the furniture, the appliance or the television, keeps it on the balance sheet, and collects weekly — so growth consumes cash and the real skill is underwriting and collections rather than merchandising. Upbound Group, the largest operator, turned $4,695.1M of revenue in 2025, up 8.7%, and was carrying $1,202.3M of on-rent merchandise at year end to do it [A]: about 26 cents of depreciated inventory standing behind every dollar of annual revenue. Scale decides the rest. The same filing shows the Rent-A-Center store estate going backwards — same-store sales down 2.2% and segment revenue down about $83.2M on store closures and refranchising — while the group still grew, because the growth came from Acima's virtual lease-to-own placed at a third-party retailer's checkout. That channel reaches the same credit-impaired customer without a store at all, which removes the one advantage a local entrant had. A single store can be opened; it competes for that customer against a national book with better loss data, and against fintechs Upbound's own 10-K names as competitors.

Market scalelocalunit: one store and the catchment it collects from

Weekly collection and retrieval only works inside a short drive, so a store's book is bounded by its catchment. National totals describe an aggregator of thousands of catchments plus a virtual channel, and say nothing about whether one more store is viable.

Handle — Upbound Group's balance sheet, not its revenue. The independent tier publishes nothing. Upbound reports both revenue and the on-rent merchandise standing behind it, which is the only way to see what this business actually costs to run: the fleet is the working capital, and its ratio to revenue transfers to a single store even though the revenue does not.

Upbound Group revenue, FY2025A $4,695.1M, up 8.7% from $4,320.6M (Form 10-K for the year ended 31 December 2025)
Upbound Group on-rent rental merchandise, netA $1,202.3M at 31 December 2025, from $1,134.9M a year earlier
Rent-A-Center same-store sales, 2025A −2.2%, with segment revenue down about $83.2M on store closures and refranchising
PROG Holdings revenue, FY2025A $2,409.2M, down 2.2% from $2,463.5M
Katapult Holdings revenue, FY2025A $291.8M, up 18.0%, on an operating loss of $0.5M
Canadian establishments with employeesA 1,018 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 464 with 1–4 employees; Ontario 377, Quebec 201
National addressable figureUNVERIFIED Not applicable — a store collects from its own catchment, and the group totals above include a virtual channel that has no catchment at all
On-rent merchandise per dollar of annual revenue~$0.26B

$1,202.3M of on-rent rental merchandise, net, at 31 December 2025 divided by $4,695.1M of FY2025 revenue. Derived from two figures in the same 10-K. It is the capital a store has to fund before it collects anything, and it is net of accumulated depreciation, so the cash actually laid out for that fleet was more.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Upbound Group (NASDAQ: UPBD) — Rent-A-Center, Acima and Brigit
Scale
FY2025 total revenues $4,695.1M, up 8.7% from $4,320.6M, carried on $1,202.3M of on-rent rental merchandise at 31 December 2025 (Acima $710.8M, Rent-A-Center $465.1M, Mexico $26.4M)
Concentration
Not published. What the filings do show is that the second and third disclosed operators are a third and a sixteenth of Upbound's size, and that the two largest are growing in opposite directions
Others in the field
PROG Holdings (Progressive Leasing), Katapult, Snap Finance, FlexShopper, Aaron's, easyhome in Canada — and, per Upbound's own risk factors, buy-now-pay-later firms, earned-wage-access apps, online retailers, other fintechs and subprime lenders, all chasing the same customer without a store
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. The contract renews weekly, so there is no term to lock
Price movement
Rent-A-Center same-store sales fell 2.2% in 2025; PROG Holdings' revenue fell 2.2% to $2,409.2M. The store-based half of this industry is shrinking while the virtual half grows
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Upbound buys stores, but in small numbers and at small prices: its 2025 10-K reports four store-acquisition transactions for $2.2M of total purchase price in the year. The exit for a single-store owner is a modest one, and the consolidator's real spending went to Brigit, a fintech, not to stores
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Upbound Group total revenues, FY2025A $4,695.1M, up 8.7% from $4,320.6M; operating income $223.3M
Upbound Group on-rent rental merchandise, net, 31 December 2025A $1,202.3M — Acima $710.8M, Rent-A-Center $465.1M, Mexico $26.4M
Rent-A-Center segment, FY2025A Same-store sales −2.2%; segment revenue down about $83.2M on store closures and refranchising; gross profit 67.0% of segment revenue
PROG Holdings revenue, FY2025A $2,409.2M, down from $2,463.5M; operating income $206.8M
Katapult Holdings revenue, FY2025A $291.8M, up 18.0% from $247.2M — and an operating loss of $0.5M on it
Upbound store acquisitions, FY2025A Four transactions, $2.2M of total purchase price
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$7.4B

Disclosed revenue from 3 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 6 named · 3 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Upbound GroupNASDAQ: UPBDA $4.7B — FY2025 total revenues
PROG HoldingsNYSE: PRGA $2.4B — FY2025 revenues, down 2.2%
Katapult HoldingsNASDAQ: KPLTA $292M — FY2025 revenues
Aaron's / Snap Finance / FlexShopperC not disclosed — Named as the rest of the disclosed lease-to-own field; none was opened for this record and Aaron's is no longer a separate SEC registrant
easyhome (goeasy)C not disclosed — The national Canadian lease-to-own chain and the one an entrant here would actually meet. goeasy files on SEDAR+, and its leasing segment was not opened for this record
The independent single-store majorityA not disclosed — 464 of Canada's 1,018 establishments employ one to four people (Statistics Canada, December 2023). None publishes anything

Evidence

Evidence. Upbound Group's revenue, on-rent merchandise, segment same-store sales, gross margin and store-acquisition table were read from its Form 10-K for the year ended 31 December 2025, and PROG Holdings' and Katapult's revenues from theirs, all through the SEC's XBRL company-facts API and the filed documents [A]. The competitor list of buy-now-pay-later, earned-wage-access and subprime-lending firms is Upbound's own description of its competition in that filing. Two things were corrected in this pass: an earlier version of this record leaned on a single quarter because no full-year figure was in hand, and carried tier-C store counts for Rent-A-Center and Aaron's. The full year is now sourced and the store counts are dropped — they were vendor and encyclopaedic claims of unknown vintage, and the 10-K says the corporate-owned estate shrank. What is still not sourced: no Canadian operator's figures, including easyhome's; no per-store revenue, because no current store count was traced to a filing; and rent-to-own is rate- and disclosure-regulated at provincial and state level, which was NOT researched and should be before any entry. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationUSA
Association of Professional Rental Organizations (APRO)
rtohq.org

The national rent-to-own trade association, formerly Association of Progressive Rental Organizations; publishes RTOHQ: The Magazine.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
TRIB Group
tribgroup.com

Member-owned non-profit buying cooperative for rent-to-own operators; site states a collective 3,600 store locations.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
American Financial Services Association
afsaonline.org

Consumer credit trade association since 1916; the underwriting and collections side of the business.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Furniture Today
furnituretoday.com

Trade title for furniture retail and manufacturing, the merchandise side of a rent-to-own store.

Checked 2026-09-22

trib.org is a domain for sale and is not the TRIB Group; the group's site is tribgroup.com.