Dental Practice Acquisition
The industry — Offices of dentists
Base industry report for 621210 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 16,652
- Under 10 employeesA
- 69%
- Establishments · USA
- 136,140
- Employment · USA
- 1,031,957
- Payroll · USA
- $59.6B
Of 16,652 Canadian establishments with employees, 69% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 2
The binding constraint — entry cost
The buy-in price is set by someone else's cost of capital. Dentalcorp is buying into a $22B Canadian market that is only about 7% consolidated, reporting $409.4M, $435.2M and $420.1M across the first three quarters of 2025 at 9–12% growth, and it secured 70% of its annual acquisition target inside Q1. An associate buying a single practice bids against that. Note a data problem: a $1.1B full-year 2025 revenue figure circulates for Dentalcorp and cannot be reconciled with its own reported quarters, which already sum to about $1.26B by the end of Q3 — the quarters are used here and the annual figure is not.
Individual practices compete inside a drive time, but the discretionary spend flowing through them is measured nationally — because one supplier sees almost all of it.
Handle — Align Technology (Invisalign). Align sells to the practices rather than the patients, so its disclosures are a census of the discretionary half of dentistry that no dental association publishes: 2.6 million clear-aligner cases shipped in 2025 through more than 295,000 trained doctors. Divide the $3.2B of clear-aligner revenue by the case count and each case costs the practice roughly $1,230 in appliance alone — before chair time — which is the input cost of the category most often pitched as a practice's growth engine.
Clear Aligner revenue of $3.2B divided by 2.6 million cases. Derived from two reported figures, not a quoted price — and it is Align's revenue per case, not the practice's charge to the patient.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 2 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 2 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| DentalcorpTSX: DNTLA | $1.3B | — | Sum of reported Q1–Q3 2025 revenue; the full-year figure in circulation is inconsistent and is not used |
| 123Dentist / Altima / regional platformsC | not disclosed | — | Private; not disclosed |
Evidence
Evidence. Operator financials and industry-structure figures on this record ARE sourced (tier A/B, see the financials block). The cut factor and reasoning remain analyst judgment and were not tested against operators.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National body; CDA Oasis and CDA Essentials; membership via provincial associations. No member count stated on the pages opened.
Largest provincial association; Ontario Dentist journal, member discount and wellness programmes. No member count stated on the pages opened.
Dentist message boards incl. Practice Management, HR and Accounting; practice-for-sale classifieds; login needed to post. No member count stated.
Newcom Media's Canadian dental titles incl. Oral Health Office (practice management); articles dated Sept 2026. Curl was 403; read via fetch.
Vancouver, March 4-6, 2027; one of Canada's two big dental meetings. Old pdconf.com domain has an expired certificate.
ODA's signature meeting, in its 158th year; ASM27 page live with exhibitor sales open.
Practice ownership and acquisition podcast (merges Startup Unscripted and Dental Acquisition Unscripted); episodes dated Sept 2026. US-focused.
Dr. Carlo Biasucci on running a Canadian practice; latest episode listed Nov 2025, so it is slow.
Facebook practice-owner groups exist but are not publicly readable and are not listed. Reddit feeds were unreachable from this network.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.
The buyer changed. There are ~2,000 dental service organisations where there were ~100 in 2010, and they acquire practices running incompatible systems — creating the same migration wedge as insurance brokerage, but in a market that is growing rather than shrinking.
What this category is. The back office between a care provider and whoever pays: eligibility checks, claims and the clearinghouse that carries them, coding, denials and appeals, payer-to-provider payments, patient statements and collections, and the credentialing and enrolment that let a clinician bill a plan at all. The coded customer is ambulatory care (621): physician groups, clinics, labs and home health. But the largest buyers of several segments are hospitals and health systems (outsourced revenue cycle, inpatient coding) and health plans (payer payments, provider data, credentialing). How it differs from the neighbouring records. Electronic health records and practice management (6211) sells the chart and scheduling; athenahealth appears here only for its revenue-cycle business, and its funding is not re-researched. EHR+ patient engagement (6211) sells the portal and intake. Patient booking (6211) sells patient acquisition. HIPAA compliance (6211) sells security and audit. Medical imaging (621510) sells PACS. This record is the money and paperwork layer. Who owns the rails. Optum completed its combination with Change Healthcare on 3 October 2022 [A, Optum]. The February 2024 ransomware attack on Change touched about 192.7 million individuals, the largest US healthcare breach on record [B, CyberInsider citing the HHS OCR filing], and stopped claims for providers across the country. That shows how much of the network runs through one company. Availity says it connects over two million providers to every US health plan and handles over 13 billion transactions a year; its shareholders include Anthem (Elevance), Humana, HCSC and GuideWell, and Novo Holdings bought Francisco Partners' stake in July 2021 [A, Novo Holdings]. Waystar (Nasdaq: WAY) earned $1,099M of revenue in 2025, up 17%, from about 30,000 clients representing over 1 million providers [A, Waystar release]. Experian Health sells patient access, eligibility and identity inside Experian plc. Zelis runs the payer-to-provider payment side: 725 payer clients, 850K+ providers and $300B+ of payment volume by its own count [C]. Bain Capital and Parthenon sold a minority stake to a Mubadala-led group that closed on 26 November 2024 [A, Kirkland & Ellis]; the reported $17B valuation is Bloomberg's, not opened here. Who owns the outsourced work. R1 RCM was taken private by TowerBrook and CD&R at about $8.9B, closing 19 November 2024 [A, CD&R]. Ensemble Health Partners began as Bon Secours Mercy Health's revenue-cycle arm; Golden Gate Capital bought 51% in 2019 in a deal reported at about $1.2B [B, Becker's]. athenahealth, bought by Bain Capital and Hellman & Friedman for $17B [B, Healthcare Dive], bundles billing with its ambulatory record. The AI wave is already funded. AKASA (inpatient coding for 500 hospitals, by its own count) raised a $60M Series B led by BOND in 2021 [A]. Adonis raised a $40M Series C led by Quadrille Capital in March 2026, over $95M in total, and claims more than 4x revenue growth in 2025 [A, company release]. Candid Health raised a $52.5M Series C led by Oak HC/FT, $99.5M in total [B, HLTH]. Infinitus raised a $51.5M Series C led by Andreessen Horowitz, $102.9M in total, for AI agents that call payers [B, Pulse 2.0]. In credentialing, Medallion has raised $130M (latest $43M led by Acrew Capital, August 2025) and has acquired Andros [A]. CertifyOS raised a $40M Series B led by Transformation Capital in June 2025 [A]. Uno Health (Medicaid and benefits enrolment) was bought by Findhelp in October 2025 [B]. Canada. Provincial plans pay physicians, so the US claims-and-denials problem mostly does not exist. Billing is bundled with the record: more than 40,000 Canadian health professionals use a TELUS Health EMR [A, TELUS], and TELUS's CHR files OHIP claims through MDBilling [A, TELUS help centre]. mdbilling.ca now redirects to Dr.Bill, which claims 13,000+ physicians across OHIP, MSP and AHCIP [C]. TELUS eClaims covers direct billing to private insurers for allied health. Why a newcomer cannot get in. The clearinghouse and payment rails are owned by Optum, Availity (owned by payers), Waystar and Zelis. Each depends on connections to thousands of payers and on volume pricing. The outsourced hospital work is owned by private-equity platforms worth billions. Every point task an AI startup might attack (coding, denials, payer calls, credentialing, patient billing) already has a venture-backed player with $50M–$130M raised, and the incumbents are buying or building the same AI. Waystar's acquisition of Iodine is one example. In Canada the pain is small and the record vendors bundle it. Incumbent vulnerability decides it.