Addiction Treatment Programme Management
The buyer population — Out-patient mental health and substance use centres
Base industry report for 621420 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 585
- Under 10 employeesA
- 29%
Of 585 Canadian establishments with employees, 29% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 6
The binding constraint — entry cost + regulatory drag
42 CFR Part 2 governs substance-use records more tightly than HIPAA governs the rest of health care, and state licensure, accreditation and utilisation-review integration all precede the first sale. The buyer set — residential and outpatient programmes — is also consolidating into chains that standardise on Netsmart or Kipu at the group level. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor named on this record is private, or sits inside a parent that does not break the line out, so no revenue floor can be built and the market size is genuinely unknown rather than estimated.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
The field
Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.
Competitor set · 3 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| NetsmartC | not disclosed | — | Private |
| Qualifacts (CareLogic/Credible)C | not disclosed | — | Private |
| Kipu Health / Alleva / SunwaveC | not disclosed | — | Private |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Startups & challengers
Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.
| Company | Stage | What it does | Raised |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ritten | Startup | EHR built for addiction treatment and behavioural health programmes | — |
Evidence
Evidence. UNVERIFIED — screened on analyst judgment. Incumbent names and positions are from general market knowledge and were NOT independently researched for this record; no financials are attached because none were sourced. Verify before acting.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Trade association for treatment-programme operators; member directory, ethics code, FoRSE outcomes programme and rate benchmarking. No member count on its site.
NAATP's annual leadership conference (2027 edition: registration opens Nov 2026, held May 2027 with a Hill Day). Where programme operators and the EHR vendors selling to them meet.
Member organisations ('over 150' addictions and mental-health organisations) per its homepage. Runs communities of practice, the E-QIP data programme and an annual conference.
Membership body for community mental-health and substance-use providers (CCBHCs); runs NatCon. No member count on its membership page.
Physicians and clinicians ('over 7,000') per its site description. Publishes the ASAM Criteria that level-of-care and utilisation-review software must implement.
Trade news for behavioural-health executives (M&A, reimbursement, technology); articles dated September 2026. Runs the SUD Business Summit and INVEST conference.
Canadian mental-health and addiction-recovery conference series (Calgary; Saskatchewan Recovery Summit 2026). Site updated August 2026; exhibitor floor listed as sold out.
National certification body for addiction counsellors; the credential most Canadian programmes require of clinical staff. No member count on its site.
The Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction (ccsa.ca) is live and runs the Issues of Substance conference, but it is a funded national centre rather than a membership community. Treatment Magazine (treatmentmagazine.com) is live but its latest posts are January 2026.
The businesses it sells to
Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.
No operating-business record has been written along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.