Vertical software42% entry signalMarket screen3 sourced figuresOne thing must be truegrowth quality

Telehealth & Remote Patient Monitoring

Prepared 2026-09-08

The buyer population — Other ambulatory health care services

Base industry report for 6219 →
Establishments · CanadaA
987
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
52%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
16,715
Employment · USA
371,119
22 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$20.6B
$56k per employee

Of 987 Canadian establishments with employees, 52% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDgrowth quality — Market shape — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
Measured inputsUNVERIFIEDnot applied — This is a software market. The industry’s business counts describe its BUYERS, not the market being entered, so they are left out of the signal.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Health Care and Social Assistance, US · opened 2020
84%
1 year
65.3%
3 years
52.6%
5 years
36.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 7

The binding constraint — growth quality

Demand normalised hard after the pandemic and the category's public comparables repriced with it. Revenue depends on reimbursement policy that varies by payer, state and province and changes without notice — a driver that can reverse by legislation rather than by competition. The RPM sub-segment is more durable than consultation, but is device-attached, which brings razor-and-blade economics. Sourced update: Teladoc closed 2025 at $2.530B and shrinking, with its direct-to-consumer half down 9% — the scale player in this category is not growing into the opportunity, which is the clearest available evidence that reimbursed virtual care has settled rather than compounded.

I

The incumbent

Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.

Incumbent
Teladoc Health
Scale
FY2025 revenue $2.530B, down 2% YoY — Integrated Care $1.5796B (+3%) and BetterHelp $950.4M (−9%). The scale incumbent, heavily repriced from its 2021 peak and now shrinking in its consumer half
Challengers
Amwell, Included Health, Doximity, Maple (Canadian), Dialogue (Canadian), plus RPM specialists Cadence, Optimize Health and Withings Health
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
BetterHelp's 9% decline against Integrated Care's 3% growth — the consumer half is contracting while the employer/payer half grows slowly
Is the buyer consolidating?
No
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Teladoc Health revenue, FY2025A $2.530B, −2% YoY
Teladoc Integrated Care segment, FY2025A $1.5796B, +3%
Teladoc BetterHelp segment, FY2025A $950.4M, −9%
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$2.5B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 3 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 3 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Teladoc HealthNYSE: TDOCA $2.5B — FY2025 revenue; the enterprise half (Integrated Care) is $1.58B of it
Amwell / Included Health / DoximityC not disclosed — Not researched for this record
Maple / Dialogue (Canadian)C not disclosed — Dialogue was taken private by Sun Life in 2023; not disclosed
S

Startups & challengers

Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.

CompanyStageWhat it doesRaised
CurveHealth Startup Telemedicine and behavioral health services for skilled nursing facilities. —

Evidence

Evidence. Incumbent financials on this record ARE sourced (tier A/B, see the financials block). The cut factor and reasoning remain analyst judgment and were not tested against customers.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Digital Health Canada
digitalhealthcanada.com

National membership body for digital health professionals (formerly COACH); co-hosts the e-Health conference. No member count on the pages opened

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
e-Health Conference & Tradeshow
e-healthconference.com

Canada's main digital health conference and tradeshow, held annually since the COACH era; e-Health27 is 16-18 May 2027 in Vancouver

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
American Telemedicine Association (ATA)
americantelemed.org

Main US telehealth body and policy lobby (ATA Action); runs the ATA Nexus conference and a December policy summit. No member count on the pages opened

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
HLTH
hlth.com

Large annual US health-innovation conference where telehealth and RPM vendors meet payers and providers; also runs ViVE and a paid membership

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Fierce Healthcare
fiercehealthcare.com

Daily business news for provider, payer and health-tech executives, with regular telehealth and RPM reimbursement coverage; posting daily as of 2026-09-22

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalC
HIMSS
himss.org

Blocked automated access (Cloudflare). Health-IT membership body whose annual HIMSS Global Conference is the largest health-tech show in North America

Checked 2026-09-22

The National Consortium of Telehealth Resource Centers (telehealthresourcecenter.org) is live and useful for US reimbursement rules but is a federally funded resource, not a membership community. r/telehealth could not be reached from this network.

↔

The businesses it sells to

Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.

No operating-business record has been written along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other software on this branch

Vertical softwareScreenedfiled at 621
Healthcare Revenue Cycle & Admin SoftwareOne thing must be true
binding constraint: incumbent vulnerability
Incumbent Optum (Change Healthcare)

What this category is. The back office between a care provider and whoever pays: eligibility checks, claims and the clearinghouse that carries them, coding, denials and appeals, payer-to-provider payments, patient statements and collections, and the credentialing and enrolment that let a clinician bill a plan at all. The coded customer is ambulatory care (621): physician groups, clinics, labs and home health. But the largest buyers of several segments are hospitals and health systems (outsourced revenue cycle, inpatient coding) and health plans (payer payments, provider data, credentialing). How it differs from the neighbouring records. Electronic health records and practice management (6211) sells the chart and scheduling; athenahealth appears here only for its revenue-cycle business, and its funding is not re-researched. EHR+ patient engagement (6211) sells the portal and intake. Patient booking (6211) sells patient acquisition. HIPAA compliance (6211) sells security and audit. Medical imaging (621510) sells PACS. This record is the money and paperwork layer. Who owns the rails. Optum completed its combination with Change Healthcare on 3 October 2022 [A, Optum]. The February 2024 ransomware attack on Change touched about 192.7 million individuals, the largest US healthcare breach on record [B, CyberInsider citing the HHS OCR filing], and stopped claims for providers across the country. That shows how much of the network runs through one company. Availity says it connects over two million providers to every US health plan and handles over 13 billion transactions a year; its shareholders include Anthem (Elevance), Humana, HCSC and GuideWell, and Novo Holdings bought Francisco Partners' stake in July 2021 [A, Novo Holdings]. Waystar (Nasdaq: WAY) earned $1,099M of revenue in 2025, up 17%, from about 30,000 clients representing over 1 million providers [A, Waystar release]. Experian Health sells patient access, eligibility and identity inside Experian plc. Zelis runs the payer-to-provider payment side: 725 payer clients, 850K+ providers and $300B+ of payment volume by its own count [C]. Bain Capital and Parthenon sold a minority stake to a Mubadala-led group that closed on 26 November 2024 [A, Kirkland & Ellis]; the reported $17B valuation is Bloomberg's, not opened here. Who owns the outsourced work. R1 RCM was taken private by TowerBrook and CD&R at about $8.9B, closing 19 November 2024 [A, CD&R]. Ensemble Health Partners began as Bon Secours Mercy Health's revenue-cycle arm; Golden Gate Capital bought 51% in 2019 in a deal reported at about $1.2B [B, Becker's]. athenahealth, bought by Bain Capital and Hellman & Friedman for $17B [B, Healthcare Dive], bundles billing with its ambulatory record. The AI wave is already funded. AKASA (inpatient coding for 500 hospitals, by its own count) raised a $60M Series B led by BOND in 2021 [A]. Adonis raised a $40M Series C led by Quadrille Capital in March 2026, over $95M in total, and claims more than 4x revenue growth in 2025 [A, company release]. Candid Health raised a $52.5M Series C led by Oak HC/FT, $99.5M in total [B, HLTH]. Infinitus raised a $51.5M Series C led by Andreessen Horowitz, $102.9M in total, for AI agents that call payers [B, Pulse 2.0]. In credentialing, Medallion has raised $130M (latest $43M led by Acrew Capital, August 2025) and has acquired Andros [A]. CertifyOS raised a $40M Series B led by Transformation Capital in June 2025 [A]. Uno Health (Medicaid and benefits enrolment) was bought by Findhelp in October 2025 [B]. Canada. Provincial plans pay physicians, so the US claims-and-denials problem mostly does not exist. Billing is bundled with the record: more than 40,000 Canadian health professionals use a TELUS Health EMR [A, TELUS], and TELUS's CHR files OHIP claims through MDBilling [A, TELUS help centre]. mdbilling.ca now redirects to Dr.Bill, which claims 13,000+ physicians across OHIP, MSP and AHCIP [C]. TELUS eClaims covers direct billing to private insurers for allied health. Why a newcomer cannot get in. The clearinghouse and payment rails are owned by Optum, Availity (owned by payers), Waystar and Zelis. Each depends on connections to thousands of payers and on volume pricing. The outsourced hospital work is owned by private-equity platforms worth billions. Every point task an AI startup might attack (coding, denials, payer calls, credentialing, patient billing) already has a venture-backed player with $50M–$130M raised, and the incumbents are buying or building the same AI. Waystar's acquisition of Iodine is one example. In Canada the pain is small and the record vendors bundle it. Incumbent vulnerability decides it.

NAICS 62115 vendors named6 sourced figuresOpen →