Vocational Rehabilitation Services
The industry — Vocational rehabilitation services
Base industry report for 6243 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 1,426
- Under 10 employeesA
- 38%
- Establishments · USA
- 7,075
- Employment · USA
- 218,151
- Payroll · USA
- $6.7B
Of 1,426 Canadian establishments with employees, 38% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Execution decidesThe hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.
Prove the value in money the buyer already counts. The need is real; what is unproven is that this buyer moves budget for it. That is a priced test with real customers, not a product problem.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 6
The binding constraint — willingness to pay
Contracted employment training and placement for people with disabilities or barriers to work — real demand, publicly funded, and cut on how that funding actually behaves. Goodwill Industries is the instructive case. In 2024 it reported roughly $8.5–8.6B of total revenue, of which government support was $594M — about 7% — against $1.4B of private donations and $6.6B of other income, with charitable services at $6.2B of $8.1B in expenses [B]. The largest organisation in this field does not fund its programmes from rehabilitation contracts. It funds them from second-hand retail. A for-profit entrant selling the same services into public payers competes against that cross-subsidy, on rates set by a payer with no obligation to clear its costs. The cut is not that demand is absent. It is that the revenue attached to the demand was never intended to cover it.
Placement and training are delivered in person, and funding is let by state, provincial or county programmes over defined territories. The market is the contract area, not a national total, and an entrant cannot serve a territory it has not been awarded.
$1,445.7 million of 2024-25 Employment Ontario base operating budget divided by the 15 catchments. It overstates the integrated employment services prize, because Employment Ontario also carries apprenticeship and the Skills Development Fund, and the budget is not allocated evenly; it is an order-of-magnitude figure for what one prime contract is worth, not a contract value.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 6 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| WCG ServicesA | not disclosed | — | Privately held. States on its own site that it is Service System Manager for the Peel, York, Ottawa and Toronto catchments [A] — four of Ontario's fifteen. No revenue published. |
| Fedcap CanadaA | not disclosed | — | Part of The Fedcap Group; selected to lead the Hamilton-Niagara catchment with a consortium of CCRW, Community Living Toronto, Corbrook and Operation Springboard, per Fedcap's own announcement [A]. The group says it serves more than 320,000 people a year across its programmes. No Canadian revenue published. |
| MaximusNYSE: MMSA | $5.4B | — | fiscal 2025 consolidated revenue, up 2.4%; the Outside the U.S. segment that carries its employment-services work was $599.9 million, down 8.7% |
| Serco (EmployNext)C | not disclosed | — | Listed in London and a bidder for this kind of contract in Ontario, the UK and Australia. Its results were not opened for this record and no revenue is carried. |
| Goodwill networkB | not disclosed | — | Roughly $8.5–8.6B of network-wide revenue in 2024 on compiled reporting, of which $594M was government support — the competitor that does not need the contract to pay for itself. Sources disagree on the total, so no figure is carried here. |
| College- and municipality-led consortiaC | not disclosed | — | Collège Boréal, Fleming College and municipal social-services departments hold catchments of their own. They are not commercial bidders and do not need a margin, which is what an entrant is pricing against. |
Evidence
Evidence. The Goodwill figures are compiled from its published consolidated statements and reporting on them [B], not read line by line off the audited statement, and the $8.5B/$8.6B discrepancy between sources is left visible rather than resolved. The inference drawn from them is the analyst's, not the filing's: Goodwill's revenue mix is a fact; concluding that public vocational-rehabilitation rates therefore do not cover cost is reasoning, and it was not tested against an actual contract schedule. That test is the first thing to do before acting. On the Goodwill evidence specifically: UNVERIFIED. Those figures are compiled from reporting rather than read off the audited statement, and the conclusion drawn from them has not been tested against a contract schedule. The completion pass added the Canadian anchor the record was missing. The Ministry of Labour, Immigration, Training and Skills Development's published plan for 2024-25 states that Employment Ontario is $1,445.7 million, 76.3% of the ministry's base operating budget, and that after "announcing SSMs for five additional catchment areas in 2023. By March 2024, all 15 catchments in Ontario had SSMs in place" [A]. WCG Services states on its own site that it is Service System Manager for "the Peel, York, Ottawa and Toronto catchment areas" [A], and The Fedcap Group's own announcement records its consortium's selection for Hamilton-Niagara with CCRW, Community Living Toronto, Corbrook and Operation Springboard [A] — company claims about their own contracts, which is the strongest available source and still a self-report. No ministry list naming every Service System Manager was located, so the record names only the holders that state their own catchments and does not claim to enumerate the fifteen. Maximus's fiscal 2025 figures were read from the results release filed as exhibit 99.1 to its 8-K of 20 November 2025 [A]: consolidated revenue $5,431,276 thousand against $5,306,197 thousand, and Outside the U.S. — the segment carrying its employment-services work — $599,894 thousand against $657,140 thousand. That segment spans the UK, Australia and other markets; it is quoted as the measurable read on outsourced employment services, not as a Canadian figure. Ontario's structure is one province's, and no equivalent procurement was examined elsewhere.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National body for VR professionals since 1970; regional chapters; runs a national conference (2026: Windsor, June 3-4). No member count stated.
National association for employment service providers serving people with disabilities. No member count stated.
31st annual conference, June 9-11 2026, Westin Ottawa; the sector's main Canadian gathering.
'Over 140 members' (employment service providers), per its About page; runs the Rethinking Disability Conference.
Ontario network of youth employment service providers; member training and advocacy on Employment Ontario. No member count stated.
US national membership body for supported/Employment First providers since 1988; state chapters, CESP credential, annual conference. No member count stated.
Heads of the US state-federal VR agencies; members supervise rehabilitation of about 1.2 million people, per its site.
The US National Rehabilitation Association (nationalrehab.org) and IARP (rehabpro.org) block automated access and were left off rather than listed unverified.