Operating business40% entry signalMarket screen7 sourced figuresOne thing must be trueentry cost + regulatory drag

Child Care Centre Operation

Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Child day-care services

Base industry report for 624410 →
Establishments · CanadaA
14,811
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
46%
most common size: 10–19
Establishments · USA
80,120
Employment · USA
966,107
12 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$27.5B
$29k per employee

Of 14,811 Canadian establishments with employees, 46% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDentry cost + regulatory drag — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA46% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Mixed — neither a field of micro-operators nor one dominated by large establishments.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDlow capital — The structural profile of subsector 624, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Health Care and Social Assistance, US · opened 2020
84%
1 year
65.3%
3 years
52.6%
5 years
36.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — entry cost + regulatory drag

Under the $10-a-day agreements the parent fee is set by policy and the operating margin is a function of a provincial funding formula that can be rewritten between budgets, while wages, rent and ratios are not negotiable. Expansion is gated by licensed space and by early-childhood educator supply, which no amount of capital fixes quickly. The software serving this industry is screened separately at the same code — that record and this one describe two different businesses at the same address.

Market scalelocalunit: one licensed centre, inside one province's funding formula

There is no national market here in any usable sense. Parent fees are set by provincial agreements, operating grants differ by province and sometimes by municipality, and licensed capacity is capped by physical space and educator supply in a specific catchment. A national spend figure would sum thirteen different funding regimes into a number no operator could act on. Sized per centre, per province.

Handle — KinderCare's centre count against its centre revenue. KinderCare publishes revenue, centre count and licensed capacity in the same 10-K, so the per-centre economics of the largest operator on the continent fall out of two figures — and so does the utilisation an owner would have to beat. The Canadian funding formula changes the revenue line but not the physics of a room with a ratio in it.

National addressable figureUNVERIFIED Deliberately not stated — see the note above
What actually sets revenueB The provincial funding formula and licensed capacity, not market demand
Canadian establishments with employeesA 14,811 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 6,792 have fewer than ten employees and 30 employ 100 or more; Ontario 4,162 and Quebec 4,023
US establishments, employment and payrollA 80,120 establishments; 966,107 employees; $27.5B payroll (US County Business Patterns, 2022) — about $28,500 per employee and 12 employees per establishment
KinderCare, fiscal 2025A Revenue $2,733.3M, of which $2,517.8M from 1,601 early-childhood centres; an operating loss of $20.1M after $204.1M of impairments, $178.0M of it goodwill
KinderCare capacity utilisationA 142,248 average weekly full-time enrolments against capacity for 214,803 children — about 66%, with same-centre occupancy down 200 basis points in the year
Bright Horizons, FY2025A Revenue $2,933.6M (+9.2%) and operating income $314.7M — a 10.7% operating margin across 1,010 centres
Revenue per centre, at the largest US operator~$1.57M a yearB

$2,517.8M of early-childhood centre revenue divided by 1,601 centres at 3 January 2026. Derived from two reported figures. It is a US number at US fee levels; a Canadian centre inside a capped-fee agreement is a different revenue line, and the comparison is useful for cost structure and utilisation, not for price.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Nobody leads in Canada — the single-site operator is the market. The scale benchmark is set by the two listed North American operators, KinderCare Learning Companies (NYSE: KLC) and Bright Horizons Family Solutions (NYSE: BFAM).
Scale
KinderCare, fiscal 2025 (53 weeks to 3 January 2026): revenue $2,733.3M, of which $2,517.8M from 1,601 early-childhood centres, plus 1,153 before- and after-school sites; an operating loss of $20.1M after $204.1M of impairment charges including $178.0M written off goodwill. Bright Horizons, year to 31 December 2025: revenue $2,933.6M (+9.2%), operating income $314.7M, 1,010 centres with capacity for about 115,000 children.
Concentration
No Canadian share is published, and the counts say why: of 14,811 Canadian centres with employees, 6,792 have fewer than ten people and only 30 employ 100 or more.
Others in the field
BrightPath Early Learning, which runs centres in Ontario, Alberta and British Columbia and buys existing ones; Kids & Company; municipal, YMCA and parent-board non-profits; Quebec's CPE network; and the independent single-centre majority that is most of the 14,811 counted establishments.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Set by policy, not by the operator. Under the federal–provincial agreements the parent fee is capped and the operating grant is the variable. Where fees are not capped, the demand side is still not obliging: KinderCare's average weekly full-time enrolment fell 2.0% in fiscal 2025 and same-centre occupancy fell 200 basis points.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Slowly, and on American terms. KinderCare added 46 centres in fiscal 2025 through acquisitions and greenfield openings and permanently closed 19 — a net 27 on a base of 1,601. That is the pace of the most acquisitive operator in the industry, and it is what sets the multiple a Canadian owner can sell a single licensed centre at.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

KinderCare revenue, fiscal 2025A $2,733.3M (53 weeks to 3 January 2026), from $2,663.0M in fiscal 2024
KinderCare early-childhood centre revenue and countA $2,517.8M across 1,601 centres at 3 January 2026
KinderCare operating result, fiscal 2025A Operating loss of $20.1M and a net loss of $112.9M, after $204.1M of asset impairments including $178.0M of goodwill
KinderCare capacity utilisationA Average weekly full-time enrolment 142,248 against licensed capacity for 214,803 children — about 66%
Bright Horizons revenue and operating income, FY2025A $2,933.6M (+9.2%) and $314.7M — a 10.7% operating margin
Bright Horizons centresA 1,010 centres, 597 of them in North America, capacity about 115,000 children
Who Bright Horizons says it competes withA "Our principal competitors for employer-sponsored centers include KinderCare Education in the United States and Busy Bees in the United Kingdom" — its own FY2025 10-K
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$5.7B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
KinderCare Learning CompaniesNYSE: KLCA $2.7B — Fiscal 2025, 53 weeks ended 3 January 2026
Bright Horizons Family SolutionsNYSE: BFAMA $2.9B — FY2025, year ended 31 December 2025
BrightPath Early Learning / Kids & CompanyC not disclosed — The two largest Canadian for-profit groups. Privately held; neither publishes revenue or a centre count that can be verified from a filing.
The independent and non-profit single-centre majorityA not disclosed — 14,811 Canadian establishments with employees, 6,792 of them under ten people and only 30 with 100 or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023). This is the competitive structure, not a residual.

Evidence

Evidence. The operator figures are read from the two 10-Ks themselves, not from coverage of them: KinderCare Learning Companies' fiscal 2025 10-K (filed 13 March 2026, 53 weeks to 3 January 2026) for revenue, the $2,517.8M centre line, 1,601 centres, capacity for 214,803 children, 142,248 average weekly full-time enrolments, the $20.1M operating loss and the $204.1M of impairments including $178.0M of goodwill; and Bright Horizons Family Solutions' FY2025 10-K (filed 26 February 2026) for $2,933.6M of revenue, $314.7M of operating income, 1,010 centres and the sentence naming KinderCare and Busy Bees as its principal competitors. Counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022); payroll and utilisation ratios are arithmetic on figures in those sources. What is NOT sourced: any Canadian operator's revenue, occupancy or margin — none publishes — and, more importantly, no provincial funding formula was opened for this record. The claim that the formula can be rewritten between budgets and that margin is a function of it is analyst judgment, as is the cut factor. Read the two American operators as a cost-structure benchmark, not as a read-across to a capped-fee Canadian centre.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Child Care Federation (CCCF)
cccf-fcsge.ca

National membership body for early childhood educators and child-care leaders; publishes Interaction magazine, runs provincial leaders' caucuses and a members' Facebook group. No count published.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Association of Day Care Operators of Ontario (ADCO)
adco-o.on.ca

Industry association for independent licensed child-care programs in Ontario, commercial and non-profit: centres, home child-care agencies, Montessori and nursery schools. New domain in 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Child Care Now
childcarenow.ca

National membership-based advocacy association (founded 1982 as the Child Care Advocacy Association of Canada) for a publicly funded, non-profit system; the policy voice operators deal with.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationBritish-ColumbiaA
Early Childhood Educators of BC (ECEBC)
ecebc.ca

Provincial professional association for ECEs with six regional branches, an annual conference and a benefits and insurance plan. No member count published.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioC
Association of Early Childhood Educators Ontario (AECEO)
aeceo.ca

Professional association for Ontario RECEs; publishes eceLINK and 2026 policy submissions on the CCEYA and the provincial budget. Blocked automated access (403).

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
childcarecanada.org (Childcare Resource and Research Unit)
childcarecanada.org

Toronto research unit's news and policy site: weekly newsletter, document catalogue and province-by-province ECEC data used across the sector.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSC
NAEYC (National Association for the Education of Young Children)
naeyc.org

The main US professional association and centre-accreditation body for early childhood education. Blocked automated access (Cloudflare).

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaC
Exchange (Child Care Exchange)
exchangepress.com

Long-running magazine for child-care centre directors and owners, with the ExchangeEveryDay newsletter. Blocked automated access (Cloudflare).

Checked 2026-09-22

The Alberta Association of Child Care Operators (aacco.ca) did not respond on any route and is not listed. Reddit's r/ECEProfessionals could not be reached (rate-limited).

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.