Performing Arts Company
The industry — Performing arts companies
Base industry report for 7111 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 1,152
- Under 10 employeesA
- 80%
- Establishments · USA
- 10,260
- Employment · USA
- 117,322
- Payroll · USA
- $5.3B
Of 1,152 Canadian establishments with employees, 80% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Execution decidesThe hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.
Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 7
The binding constraint — growth quality
The pre-screen expected a cut here and the evidence is worse than expected. SMU DataArts, analysing 6,498 arts nonprofits over 2019–2024, found 44% ran deficits — the highest rate in six years — with a median surplus of 1% of expenses; contributed revenue fell 25% between 2023 and 2024 alone; and median working capital fell from 6.75 months of operating expenses in 2021 to 4.25 months in 2024, with 42% holding three months or less [B]. Performing arts centres cover 69.5% of expenses from earned revenue, the best in the sector, and still need the other 30% from donors who are giving less. This is not a market with a bad year. It is a cost structure that has never been covered by ticket prices and is now losing the subsidy that covered the gap. *The same figures should be read by anyone selling to* these organisations: a customer with 4.25 months of cash does not sign a new annual subscription. Statistics Canada now measures the same industry at home, and the average conceals two businesses. In 2024 Canadian performing arts companies took C$3,185.5M of operating revenue at a 12.6% operating margin — but the for-profit half earned 20.9% on C$2,057.6M while the not-for-profit half ran at −2.4%** on C$1,128.0M, and covered only C$419.5M of its C$1,155.3M of expenses from selling anything [A]. A company, in the sense the word is used in this industry, is the second one.
A performing arts company sells a seat on a night in a room. Touring exists but is a separate, harder business; the base is subscribers and donors in one city, which is why national sector totals are misleading at the level of a single company.
Handle — Statistics Canada's split of the industry into its for-profit and not-for-profit halves. The survey behind table 21-10-0182-01 reports operating revenue, expenses and margin separately for the two halves of the same NAICS code. That single split does more work than any company's accounts would, because it shows that the commercial business is profitable and the subsidised one is not, and an entrant has to say which of the two it is joining before anything else on this page applies.
C$419.5M of sales of goods and services against C$1,155.3M of operating expenses, both Statistics Canada 2024. Derived from two reported figures. It is the Canadian version of the American 69.5% earned-revenue coverage quoted above, and it is far worse — because that figure was for performing arts centres, the best-covered category, and this is the whole not-for-profit industry.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| The for-profit half of the industryA | $2.1B | — | Total operating revenue of for-profit performing arts companies in Canada, 2024 (Statistics Canada) |
| The not-for-profit half of the industryA | $1.1B | — | Total operating revenue of not-for-profit performing arts companies in Canada, 2024 (Statistics Canada) |
| Cirque du Soleil Entertainment GroupC | not disclosed | — | Montreal; the largest Canadian commercial performing arts company. Private since the 2020 restructuring and publishes nothing; no financials were opened for this record. |
| Mirvish ProductionsC | not disclosed | — | Toronto commercial theatre; privately held, no published accounts. |
| Stratford Festival / Shaw Festival / National Arts Centre / Canadian Opera Company / National Ballet of CanadaC | not disclosed | — | Registered charities and one federal Crown corporation. They file public returns and annual reports, but none were opened for this record — they are named as the field an entrant meets, not as sourced figures. |
Evidence
Evidence. Added since the original screen, and it is now the spine of the record: Statistics Canada's Performing Arts Survey, tables 21-10-0182-01 (summary statistics) and 21-10-0185-01 (sources of revenue, not-for-profit), reference year 2024, released 22 January 2026 and read from the agency's own data tables rather than from any coverage of them [A]. Those give operating revenue, expenses and margin for the whole code and separately for its for-profit and not-for-profit halves, and the earned-versus-contributed split for the not-for-profit half. The three published revenue-source lines sum to C$1,013.8M against C$1,128.0M of not-for-profit operating revenue, so they are not an exhaustive split and are not presented as one. The SMU DataArts figures remain as they were: a large, consistently constructed American panel, reaching this record secondhand [B], and describing nonprofit organisations only. What is NOT sourced: any individual company's accounts — Cirque du Soleil, Mirvish, the festivals and the National Arts Centre are named as the competitive field, not measured. The honest weakness of this record: the for-profit half of the Canadian industry earned a 20.9% operating margin on C$2.06B in 2024, which is the strongest argument against the cut on this page. A full study would have to establish how much of that margin belongs to a handful of large touring and festival producers, because if it is concentrated there, the cut stands for everyone else; if it is broad, the cut is wrong. That question was not tested, and the read-across to vendors selling into these organisations remains inference. Formally: UNVERIFIED on the cut factor itself.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
'Over 170 member companies' of English-language professional theatre, per its About page; runs the annual PACTcon.
'140+ members & associates' (orchestras plus industry associates), per its homepage; member directory, discussion groups.
National service organisation for opera companies and artists; member directory, annual conference. No member count stated.
'Over 170' presenter organisations as members, per its About page; the touring and presenting side that companies sell to. Annual conference.
Online Canadian theatre magazine; reviews and features, posting as of September 2026.
'500+ member theatres' plus 250 affiliates, per its homepage; publishes American Theatre magazine.
US national orchestra service body; National Conference, League360 member forums. No member count stated.
Opera service organisation; its annual conference (May 2027, Milwaukee) is billed as the largest gathering of opera administrators.
Theatre Ontario's site (theatreontario.org) returns 404 and was left off. Reddit could not be checked from this network.