Operating business47% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresOne thing must be truegrowth quality

Catering & Mobile Food Services

SoftwareTypically runs on Restaurant point of sale, online ordering, delivery integration, scheduling and inventory — sold with payments attached. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-11

The industry — Special food services

Base industry report for 7223 →
Establishments · CanadaA
4,122
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
68%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
54,120
Employment · USA
730,273
13 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$21.2B
$29k per employee

Of 4,122 Canadian establishments with employees, 68% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDgrowth quality — Market shape — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA68% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 722, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Accommodation and Food Services, US · opened 2020
85.5%
1 year
72.1%
3 years
59.3%
5 years
41.6%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 3

The binding constraint — growth quality

The appeal is the low entry cost relative to a restaurant, and that is also the ceiling: a truck or a catering kitchen sells a fixed number of covers on a fixed number of days, and the good days are seasonal and weather-dependent. Commissary requirements and municipal vending rules limit where and when service is legal. Revenue scales by adding units, each of which needs its own operator — which is a staffing problem, not a growth engine.

Market scalelocalunit: one unit, and the days it can legally trade

Vending permits, commissary rules and event calendars are municipal, and a truck serves one crowd at a time. Sized by trading days × covers per unit.

National addressable figureUNVERIFIED Not stated — this market is a set of unconnected local ones
US special food services receipts, 2022A $66.84B, of which contract food service $50.86B (76%), caterers $12.97B and mobile food $3.02B (US Economic Census, NAICS 7223)
Receipts per US mobile food unitA $297K in 2022 against $226K in 2017, while the number of units nearly doubled from 5,211 to 10,155
Aramark revenue, FY2025A $18.51B, up 6.4%; FSS United States $13.21B — the scale the contract end of this group operates at
Canadian sites with paid employeesA 4,122 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 43% employ fewer than five
Revenue per mobile food unit, United States~$297,000 a yearB

$3.019B of 2022 US receipts divided by 10,155 establishments; the 2017 equivalent was $226,000 across 5,211. Units nearly doubled while revenue per unit rose 31% in nominal dollars across five years that included the pandemic — the segment grew by adding trucks, not by making a truck worth more. A caterer's equivalent was $1.03M and a contractor's site $1.69M.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Aramark (NYSE: ARMK), with Compass Group and Sodexo — contract food service, which takes three-quarters of this industry group's revenue
Scale
Aramark FY2025 revenue $18.51B, up 6.4%; its FSS United States segment alone was $13.21B, up 5.1%, spread across sports and corrections ($4.22B), education ($3.81B), business and industry ($1.92B), healthcare ($1.68B) and facilities ($1.58B).
Concentration
Food service contractors took $50.86B of the US group's $66.84B of 2022 receipts — 76%. Caterers took $12.97B and mobile food services $3.02B. The contract end is where the money is, and it is not where an entrant with a truck arrives.
Others in the field
Compass Group and Sodexo, the other two global contractors and the largest operators in Canada; regional contract caterers holding single-institution accounts; in-house catering at hotels and venues; and the independent majority — 1,777 of Canada's 4,122 sites with employees have fewer than five people, and 20 have 500 or more.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. Contract caterers hold multi-year institutional accounts; an independent holds a booking.
Price movement
Not assessed as a price series. Receipts per US mobile food site rose from $226K in 2017 to $297K in 2022 — 31% in nominal dollars over five years that included the pandemic.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — 4,080 US firms run 30,086 food-service-contractor sites — 7.4 sites per firm, against 1.02 for caterers and 1.01 for mobile food. The contract end of this industry is already rolled up. The truck end is not, and no acquirer of it was found: each unit needs its own operator, which is what makes it a staffing problem rather than a platform.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Aramark revenue, FY2025A $18,506.3M against FY2024's $17,400.7M, up 6.4% (10-K, 53 weeks to 3 October 2025)
Aramark FSS United States segment revenue, FY2025A $13,211.9M against $12,576.7M, up 5.1%
US food service contractor receipts, 2022A $50.86B from 4,080 firms across 30,086 sites (US Economic Census, NAICS 722310)
US caterer receipts, 2022A $12.97B across 12,579 sites — $1.03M each
US mobile food service receipts, 2022A $3.02B across 10,155 sites — $297K each, against $226K across 5,211 sites in 2017
Sites per firm, by segmentB 7.4 for contractors, 1.02 for caterers, 1.01 for mobile food (2022)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$18.5B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
AramarkNYSE: ARMKA $18.5B — FY2025 revenue, 53 weeks to 3 October 2025; FSS United States segment $13.21B
Compass GroupLSE: CPGC not disclosed — The largest contract caterer in Canada and globally; its accounts were not opened for this record, so no figure is carried
SodexoEPA: SWC not disclosed — The third global contractor, with a substantial Canadian institutional book; not opened for this record
Independent caterers and food trucksA not disclosed — 1,777 of Canada's 4,122 sites with employees have fewer than five. US mobile food averaged $297K of receipts per site in 2022 — that is the ceiling on one unit's year

Evidence

Evidence. Receipts, firm counts and site counts for NAICS 7223 and its three industries were read in the US Census Bureau's own 2022 and 2017 Economic Census data files (EC2272BASIC, EC1772BASIC) [A]; the per-unit and sites-per-firm figures are arithmetic on them. Aramark's FY2025 revenue and its FSS United States segment revenue were read in the segment and disaggregation-of-revenue tables of its 10-K for the 53 weeks ended 3 October 2025 [A], not from a headline or a summary; FY2023 appears restated there following the Vestis separation, so only FY2024 and FY2025 are used. The Canadian site count and size bands are Statistics Canada, December 2023 [A]. What was NOT sourced: Compass Group's and Sodexo's accounts were not opened, so no revenue is carried for either, and no Canadian revenue split for this group exists on this record — the US census is used as the shape of the industry, not as its Canadian size. No municipal vending by-law, commissary rule or event-permit schedule was read, and no seasonality or weather series was opened. The 2017-to-2022 comparison spans the pandemic, which closed venues and opened trucks, so the direction is reliable and the rate is not. The cut — that unit economics cap at one operator per unit — is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Restaurants Canada
restaurantscanada.org

National foodservice association (restaurants, caterers, contract foodservice); site says 'thousands of members' without a figure. Runs the RC Show.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Association for Catering and Events (NACE)
nace.net

US association of catering and event professionals founded 1958; 'more than 40 chapters', per its About page. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
International Caterers Association (ICA)
internationalcaterers.org

US-based association of caterers; runs the Art of Catering Food conference and CATIE awards. No member count found.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
RC Show
rcshow.restaurantscanada.org

Restaurants Canada's annual foodservice trade show in Toronto; RC Show 2027 site live (rcshow.com redirects here).

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Cater+Event (formerly Catersource)
cater-event.com

Informa trade publication for caterers and event professionals; articles dated the day checked. catersource.com redirects here.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
Cater+Event Conference & Trade Show
cater-event.com

The former Catersource conference; 2027 edition March 22-25 at the New Orleans convention center, per the events page.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Food Truck Operator
foodtruckoperator.com

US online trade publication for food truck and mobile catering operators, with podcast and webinars; current 2026 stories.

Checked 2026-09-22

The Food Trucks Association of Canada exists only as Facebook and LinkedIn pages that could not be opened, so it is not listed. mobile-cuisine.com returned a server error and Foodservice and Hospitality magazine blocks automated access.