Operating business55% entry signalMarket screen3 sourced figuresOne thing must be trueincumbent vulnerability

Electronics & Device Repair

SoftwareTypically runs on Shop management with parts catalogues and labour guides; field service for commercial equipment. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-11

The industry — Electronic and precision equipment repair and maintenance

Base industry report for 8112 →
Establishments · CanadaA
1,545
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
86%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
11,421
Employment · USA
105,752
9.3 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$6.8B
$64k per employee

Of 1,545 Canadian establishments with employees, 86% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDincumbent vulnerability — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA86% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 811, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Other Services (except Public Administration), US · opened 2020
85.2%
1 year
71.8%
3 years
60%
5 years
42.1%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 3

The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability

Manufacturers control parts, tools and diagnostic software, and authorised-repair programmes grant access on terms that cap what an independent can charge and do. Right-to-repair legislation is moving, slowly and unevenly, and until it lands the independent's supply of genuine parts is a permission rather than a purchase. The same structural fight is recorded at 811310 for industrial equipment.

Market scalelocalunit: one shop and its walk-in radius

Customers walk a device in and want it back the same day. Sized by walk-in traffic, which is a street-level variable.

California Right to Repair Act (SB 244)A Operative 1 July 2024. For electronic and appliance products first sold after 1 July 2021, manufacturers must make parts, tools and documentation available to independent repair providers and owners for at least 3 years after last manufacture where the product sold for $50–$99.99, and at least 7 years where it sold for $100 or more. Video game consoles and alarm and fire-protection systems are excluded
Canadian establishments with employeesA 1,545 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 1,090 of them employ one to four people and two employ 200 or more
US establishments, employment and payrollA 11,421 establishments; 105,752 employees; $6.78B payroll — about $64,100 per employee (US County Business Patterns, 2022)
What that pay level says about the codeB $64,100 a head is not a phone counter. The weight of NAICS 8112 sits in precision, medical and industrial instrument servicing, where technicians are credentialled; consumer device repair is the visible part and the smaller one
Boundary mechanismB Walk-in radius; mail-in repair competes on price with the manufacturer
The structural constraintB Manufacturer control of parts, tools and diagnostic software — a permission rather than a purchase until a right-to-repair statute converts it
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
The manufacturers, who are not in this industry at all — they control the parts, tools and diagnostic software that everyone in it depends on, and grant access through authorised-service programmes
Scale
Not measurable from the repair industry's own figures. What is measurable is the shape of the field they supply: 1,090 of 1,545 Canadian establishments employ one to four people
Concentration
Not published. No share series for authorised versus independent repair was found in Canada or the US
Others in the field
Authorised-service networks and branded chains — uBreakiFix by Asurion, Mobile Klinik, Best Buy's Geek Squad, Batteries Plus — plus, at the precision end of the code, the OEM service arms of the instrument makers themselves
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. Parts access is the lock, and it sits with the manufacturer rather than the customer
Price movement
Not assessed. The ceiling is the customer's alternative of replacing rather than repairing
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Consumer device repair has been consolidating into manufacturer-adjacent networks — Asurion's uBreakiFix operates as an authorised service provider for major handset makers — which means the acquirer of an independent shop is usually buying its lease and its technicians rather than a book of business.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

California SB 244 parts-availability windowA 3 years after last manufacture for products sold at $50–$99.99; 7 years at $100 or more
Canadian establishments at one to four employeesA 1,090 of 1,545
US payroll per employeeA about $64,100 (County Business Patterns, 2022)
V

The field

Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.

Competitor set · 4 named · 0 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
The independent single-shop majorityA not disclosed — 1,090 of 1,545 Canadian establishments employ one to four people. No revenue is published for any of them.
uBreakiFix by AsurionC not disclosed — Franchised repair network operating as an authorised service provider for major handset manufacturers. Asurion is privately held and publishes no revenue; store counts and franchise terms were not researched for this record.
Mobile KlinikC not disclosed — Canadian device-repair chain; owned by a listed telecom, and not separately disclosed. Ownership and store count were not re-verified for this record.
Manufacturers' authorised-service programmesC not disclosed — Apple, Samsung, LG and the instrument makers. They are not competitors for the customer so much as the gatekeeper on the input. No programme's terms were opened for this record.

Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.

Evidence

Evidence. No commercial anchor exists at this industry's scale and the record says so rather than padding. Nobody listed reports electronic and precision equipment repair as a segment, 1,090 of the 1,545 Canadian establishments employ one to four people, and the branded networks in the category — Asurion's uBreakiFix, Mobile Klinik — sit inside private or much larger companies that do not break them out. What was sourced instead is the constraint the screen actually turns on: the text of California's Right to Repair Act (SB 244) was read in the legislature's own bill text [A], which is where the 1 July 2024 operative date and the three- and seven-year parts-availability windows come from. Establishment, employment and payroll counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) [A]; the payroll-per-employee figure is arithmetic on the US table, and the inference drawn from it about the code's composition is reasoning, tiered B. No Canadian right-to-repair statute was opened, so nothing here describes Canadian law. The cut — that manufacturer control of parts leaves the independent operating on permission — is analyst judgment: UNVERIFIED.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
CanRepair (Canadian Repair Coalition)
canrepair.ca

Right-to-repair advocacy coalition; site lists a 2026 Canadian Repair Convention. Volunteer-run Google Sites page; no member count.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
The Repair Association (Repair.org)
repair.org

Digital Right to Repair Coalition, a 501(c)(6) of repair businesses and allies; tracks state right-to-repair laws. No member count published.

Checked 2026-09-22
ForumInternationalA
Badcaps forum
badcaps.net

Board-level laptop, TV and electronics repair forum with schematic/boardview file search; posts dated the day of check.

Checked 2026-09-22
ForumInternationalA
iFixit Answers forum
ifixit.com

Device repair Q&A community; dozens of questions per day, activity dated the day of check.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
Gadget Repair Expo (GRE)
gadgetrepairexpo.com

Annual show for independent device-repair shops: micro-soldering competition, demos, Shop Talk Live; 2026 in Atlantic City, 2027 dates pending.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
ETA International
etai.org

Electronics Technicians Association; vendor-neutral technician certifications. No member count published.

Checked 2026-09-22

forum.rossmanngroup.com did not resolve and is not listed; GSM-Forum (gsmhosting) blocks automated access; r/mobilerepair could not be verified from this network.