Operating business65% entry signalMarket screen4 sourced figuresExecution decideswillingness to pay

Social Advocacy Organization

SoftwareTypically runs on Membership, donor and congregation management. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Social advocacy organizations

Base industry report for 8133 →
Establishments · CanadaA
2,688
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
67%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
20,255
Employment · USA
204,147
10 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$12.8B
$63k per employee

Of 2,688 Canadian establishments with employees, 67% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Execution decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.

What you would have to beat

Prove the value in money the buyer already counts. The need is real; what is unproven is that this buyer moves budget for it. That is a priced test with real customers, not a product problem.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDwillingness to pay — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA67% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDlow capital — The structural profile of subsector 813, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Other Services (except Public Administration), US · opened 2020
85.2%
1 year
71.8%
3 years
60%
5 years
42.1%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 5

The binding constraint — willingness to pay

An advocacy organisation exists to change a policy or a public attitude, and is funded by people who want that outcome — members, donors and foundations. There is no customer and no price: nobody buys advocacy, they give to it. That makes this a buyer of services rather than a market to enter, and the record exists to say so. The field is sizeable — 2,688 Canadian establishments, 67% with fewer than ten employees [A], and 20,255 in the US employing 204,147 on a payroll of about $62,500 each [A], noticeably higher than the civic and social clubs at 8134 because advocacy employs professional policy, legal and communications staff. What an entrant can sell to it is what those staff use: fundraising and donor software (8132), association management (8139), campaign and digital services. Both of those records found the same constraint from the other side — a budget set once a year by a board, out of money that was given rather than earned. An organisation funded by conviction is a loyal client and a poor one at the same time.

Market scalenational

Causes are organised around an issue, not a place; the larger bodies campaign nationally and raise money the same way, even where a chapter structure gives them local presence.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 2,688 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 67% have fewer than ten employees
US establishments and employmentA 20,255 establishments; 204,147 employees; $12.8B payroll (US County Business Patterns, 2022)
US payroll per employeeA about $62,500 — arithmetic on County Business Patterns; professional staff
Who paysUNVERIFIED Members, donors and foundations — no customer and no price. Definitional: no funding-mix series was opened.
US receipts in this group, 2022 against 2017A $48.40B against $35.09B — up 37.9% in five years, an average of $2.48M per organisation (US Economic Census, NAICS 8133, tax-exempt organisations)
What the largest niche inside it raisesA Human rights organisations took $14.50B of the $48.40B — 30% (NAICS 813311)
What the software side earns from itA Blackbaud, the largest listed fundraising-software vendor, had FY2025 revenue of $1,128.4M, down 2.3% on FY2024
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
The established cause brand and its donor list. There is no company to buy and no share to take; on the supply side, Blackbaud (NASDAQ: BLKB) sells the software that list lives in.
Scale
US social advocacy organisations reported $48.40B of receipts in 2022 against $35.09B in 2017 — up 37.9% in five years, an average of $2.48M per organisation. Blackbaud's FY2025 revenue was $1,128.4M, down 2.3%.
Concentration
Not published, and share is the wrong frame: these are contributions, not purchases. Human rights organisations alone accounted for $14.50B of the $48.40B — 30% of it.
Others in the field
Every other cause competing for the same donor's attention and the same foundation cycle; foundations that increasingly fund programmes directly rather than through an intermediary; and, for anyone selling into the sector rather than joining it, Blackbaud, Bonterra, Salesforce's non-profit products and the Canadian fundraising vendors — the 8132 and 8139 records cover that side from the other direction.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. A donor file is the asset, and it does not transfer.
Price movement
Not applicable — there is no price. Receipts per US organisation rose from $1.95M in 2017 to $2.48M in 2022, which is money given, not money charged.
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — Advocacy organisations are not bought. They merge, or they close, and the donor file goes with them. No acquisition series exists for this group and none was opened.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

US social advocacy receipts, 2022A $48.40B against $35.09B in 2017 — up 37.9% (US Economic Census, NAICS 8133, tax-exempt organisations)
Receipts per US organisationB $2.48M in 2022, from $1.95M in 2017
Human rights organisations' share of the groupA $14.50B of $48.40B — 30% (NAICS 813311)
Blackbaud revenue, FY2025A $1,128.4M against FY2024's $1,154.6M — down 2.3%
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$1.1B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
BlackbaudNASDAQ: BLKBA $1.1B — FY2025 revenue, year to 31 December 2025
Incumbent cause brands and their donor listsUNVERIFIED not disclosed — The real competitor for a new organisation is an existing one with a name and a mailing list. No share data exists for attention or for donor wallet
Bonterra / Salesforce non-profit / Canadian fundraising vendorsC not disclosed — The rest of the software field selling into these organisations; none of their figures were opened for this record
Foundations funding programmes directlyUNVERIFIED not disclosed — Where a funder runs the programme itself, the advocacy organisation is disintermediated. No series was opened on how often this happens

Evidence

Evidence. Counts and payroll are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) [A] and match the source tables; per-employee payroll is arithmetic on them. Receipts for NAICS 8133 and 813311 in 2022 and 2017 were read in the US Census Bureau's own Economic Census data files (EC2281BASIC, EC1781BASIC) [A], which report these as tax-exempt organisations' revenue; receipts per organisation are arithmetic on them. Blackbaud's FY2025 revenue was read in the XBRL company facts drawn from its 10-K for the year to 31 December 2025 [A], where the prior year appears restated to $1,154.6M. What receipts do NOT establish is the funding mix: the census reports total revenue, not the split between dues, individual gifts, foundation grants and government contracts, so the who-pays entry stays UNVERIFIED rather than B, and 'no customer and no price' remains a definitional claim rather than a measured one. The County Business Patterns and Economic Census counts differ slightly because they are different programmes; both are shown as they are published rather than reconciled. The 2017-to-2022 window spans the pandemic. The cut is definitional rather than researched: it follows from what an advocacy organisation is.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaC
Imagine Canada
imaginecanada.ca

National umbrella for charities and nonprofits, with a standards accreditation program; blocked automated access (403).

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Ontario Nonprofit Network
theonn.ca

Policy and advocacy network; describes itself as the network for Ontario's 64,000 nonprofits, a sector size rather than a member count.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Independent Sector
independentsector.org

National membership body for nonprofits and foundations; no member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
SubredditInternationalB
r/nonprofit
reddit.com · 83,655 subscribers (2026-09)

Subscribers per RedPulse (2026-09-19); Reddit blocked the direct lookup. Feed active September 22, 2026. Staff and volunteers on fundraising and management.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
The Philanthropist Journal
thephilanthropist.ca

Canadian nonprofit-sector news and analysis with a newsletter; articles dated September 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
CharityVillage
charityvillage.com

Job board and career resource for the Canadian nonprofit sector; says it serves over 170,000 organizations. Where advocacy staff are hired, not where they debate.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Nonprofit Quarterly
nonprofitquarterly.org

Nonprofit-sector magazine with a paid membership; sections on advocacy, governance and fundraising. Content dated September 22, 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
Nonprofit Technology Conference (NTC)
nten.org

NTEN's annual conference; next edition March 23-26, 2027, Portland, OR and virtual. Says 'thousands' attend; no exact figure.

Checked 2026-09-22

Advocacy organizations have no body of their own; they sit inside the general nonprofit networks (Imagine Canada, ONN) and their staff talk on r/nonprofit. Fundraising vendors gather at AFP events.