Service Club & Community Hall
The industry — Civic and social organizations
Base industry report for 8134 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 7,240
- Under 10 employeesA
- 71%
- Establishments · USA
- 24,832
- Employment · USA
- 203,796
- Payroll · USA
- $6.2B
Of 7,240 Canadian establishments with employees, 71% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Execution decidesThe hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.
Prove the value in money the buyer already counts. The need is real; what is unproven is that this buyer moves budget for it. That is a priced test with real customers, not a product problem.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 5
The binding constraint — willingness to pay
Legions, Rotary and Lions clubs, fraternal lodges, ethnic community centres and alumni associations: member-funded bodies that often own a hall and run a bar, bingo or rentals to pay for it. There are many — 7,240 Canadian establishments, 71% with fewer than ten employees [A] — which makes this one of the larger groups in the sector by count, and nearly all of them are non-profits an entrant cannot buy. The US figures show the economics: 24,832 establishments, 203,796 employees and a payroll of about $30,500 per employee [A], roughly half what advocacy organisations at 8133 pay. That is part-time bar, kitchen and caretaking work — hospitality run largely by volunteers on behalf of a membership. And that is the cut. The hall is funded at cost by the people who use it: dues are set by a membership that owns the building, and bar and rental prices are set to cover the roof rather than to earn a return. A commercial banquet hall or bar opening in the same town competes with a member-subsidised venue that is not trying to make money, and the members are not a customer base anyone can price to. The familiar story that these clubs are dying was not confirmed here: Royal Canadian Legion Dominion Command membership fee revenue rose to $6.21M in 2024 from $5.91M in 2023 [A], and the Legion said in November 2024 that overall membership is growing [B]. Neither is a member count, and no membership series was found.
A service club is its members, and they live near the hall. National federations exist, but each branch funds and runs itself locally.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.
Competitor set · 4 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royal Canadian Legion / Rotary / Lions / Knights of ColumbusB | not disclosed | — | The national federations supply the banner and collect per-member dues; branch finances are not consolidated or published. Dominion Command's own membership fee revenue was $6.21M in 2024 |
| Commercial banquet halls and event venuesUNVERIFIED | not disclosed | — | The paying competitor for the same booking — and the one that has to earn a return, against a hall priced to cover its roof |
| Municipal recreation centresUNVERIFIED | not disclosed | — | Subsidised from the same town's tax base and also not trying to make money; no municipal facility revenue series was opened for this record |
| The other clubs in townA | not disclosed | — | 7,240 Canadian halls, 71% with fewer than ten employees. They compete for volunteers and members rather than for customers, which is why none of them can price |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Evidence
Evidence. Counts and payroll are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) [A]; payroll per employee is arithmetic on them. The dues figure was read in the Royal Canadian Legion Dominion Command's audited financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2024 [A]; it is one federation's dues revenue, which moves with dues rates as readily as with members, so it does not measure membership either way. The common claim that service-club membership has fallen for decades is not used as the cut here: no membership series was found for any federation, and both sources that were opened point the other way — the Legion's own statement to reporters in November 2024 is press-reported [B]. The cut therefore rests on how a member-owned hall prices, which is analyst judgment and UNVERIFIED as a measurement. The competitive field added in the completion pass carries one further source: receipts, site counts and employment for NAICS 8134 in 2022 and 2017, read in the US Census Bureau's own Economic Census data files (EC2281BASIC, EC1781BASIC) [A], which report these as tax-exempt organisations' revenue. They show receipts up 3.8% in nominal dollars while sites fell 9.2% and employment fell 18.5%. That is NOT the membership series this record says it could not find — it measures paid staff and money passing through halls, over a window that includes pandemic closures — so it is reported in the competitive field and is not used to settle the decline question either way.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Its join page states '1,350 Branches'; no member total stated. The largest hall-owning federation in the group.
Blocked automated access (429). Search results cite 1.2 million members in 45,000+ clubs; not verified on the page.
Annual convention; next edition June 26-30, 2027, Barcelona. No attendance stated.
Blocked automated access (403). Search results cite 1.4 million members in 50,000 clubs; not verified on the page.
Catholic fraternal organization; no member or council count stated on its homepage.
Canvet Publications magazine for Legion members; articles dated September 2026. No circulation stated.
Policy network for Ontario nonprofits, including community halls and clubs; cites 64,000 nonprofits in the province, a sector size not a member count.
No association of community halls exists in Canada; halls are organized through their federation (Legion, Rotary, Lions) or their municipality. The Elks of Canada domain elks-canada.org now serves a Chinese gambling page and was left off.